DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Hirelings Toolkit
by Ian D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2021 18:19:48

It doesn't add much to a GM's workload, and I find it very useful for keeping hirelings simple but still memorable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hirelings Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mass Battle Toolkit
by Ian D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2021 18:17:14

The description for Mass Battle Toolkit is very accurate as to what it's for, providing tables for generating situations, an easy-to-use system for unit combat, and how players can affect the battle in a quantifiable way.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mass Battle Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lowlife 2090
by Wayne R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2021 07:02:09

I got interested in this product after watching a YouTube page through by Mr Mean Speaks. Anyway, I liked the look of the art and layout, so did a little more research. The idea of Cyberpunk (and Sorcery) system/setting that allowed quick character generation (but still had a lot of depth) was very appealing, and the setting gives you just enough "spark" to inspire but enough room to make it your own.

The rules are clear and fantastic, the art is great, the tone of the writing is just right and there is simply just a lot to love about this game! I am very happy with my purchase and it has already seen table time, which is the biggest praise I can give it really.

The only negative I think I can really say is, I think the layout of the cyberpunk enhancements and modifications is a little confusing, but it's nothing that you don't get used to after a few look ups.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lowlife 2090
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lowlife 2090
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2021 04:35:05

Lowlife 2090 is the "sleeper hit" of 2021. It takes the best parts of D&D 5e and converts it into a gritty, fast and stylish cyberpunk ttrpg. Your characters aren't going to be OP superheroes here. Weapons will kill you... and fast, if you're not smart and quick. Yes, there's magic, but it's not that benevolent. Fail a casting check and you could open a rift and release an unexpected monster, grow a beard of tentacles, or drive yourself mad among other maladies. Hacking is not a mini-game. It's quick and simple, and you can actually do those things that you do in those video games. You know, those things that you can't do in the other cyberpunk ttrpgs of the same names.

I purchased both the pdf and hardback. The book is only 322 pages, but none of it is wasted space. There's little fluff here. You get your money's worth with charts, a decent armory and collection of named weapons and cybernetics, vehicles, drones, drugs, weapon customizations, gear, and spells. You get a full bestiary, along with rules on how to customize and create your own adversaries. Did I mention vehicles? This game actually has detailed vehicle combat that's fast and easy (like your mom). There are even rules for what characters do between missions and on their downtime.

Charcter creation can be done in minutes - armed, armored, and cyber-up'd - ready to take on the man. There is a fleshed-out city, but one of the best parts of this game is that it's not bound to any meta-plot. In fact, if you wanted to use these rules to substitute another cyberpunk game (maybe the one that has elves and dragons, or maybe the one that doesn't) it's completely adaptable. You don't like magic? Toss everything supernatural out you still have a solid cyberpunk game.

I can go on and on, but for $20 you're getting a lot for that price. IMO, it's one of the better cyberpunk games out there, and if you're into this genre it definitely should be in your library.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lowlife 2090
by Joshua W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2021 08:19:10

Angel's Citadel just reviewed this product. Check it out here: https://angelscitadel.com/2021/07/09/review-lowlife-2090/

TL;DR: If you need a shot of Cyberpunk in your veins and don't mind fairly lethal doses of violence, you should probably check out LowLife 2090.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lowlife 2090
by John-Paul S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2021 20:38:07

This is one of the first cyberpunk RPG's where I've seen "gritty" without excessive levels of complexity. Characters are made quickly, but still are characterful. Skills are simple, but provide a LOT of flexibility in their use. And the setting is concise, but enough to start whole campaigns. Balancing all these things that would normally be mutually exclusive was a rather masterful act.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Low Fantasy Gaming (Original)
by Marco R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2021 20:55:34

For the studend surpasses the teacher series, Low Fantasy Gaming (now available in a superb revised edition!) is what the (once beloved) 5e should have been. LFG takes the best out of the modern WotC discoveries and makes them work a lot, lot better. Not only it is more hackable and modular: this game feels a lot more entertaining and better explained. While 5e completely fails (to me at least!) to provide actual modularity (adding it "closed box options" which add starting features, but is actually limited in scope), this game is all about good old school feel with a lot of modern touches we all love. Rests are perfectly managed, the unified Luck Roll is a lovely reference to the original game and the amount of available customisation options (like the 3-6-9-12 feature) are actually helpful, funny and easy to grasp. Combat can be as crunchy as you need, going from "tell and roll" maneuvering to actual grid based tactics, with effortless transition. What I love the most about this 1e is the complete absence of hybrids: Magic-Users handle magic. That's it. You can add stuff through the above mentioned optional features, but that's all you get and it requires some actual effort. Magic feels powerful and dangerous while keeping it consistent with the other parts of the system, obviously "Mundane centered" in terms of flavor. Anything magical feels... magical and that's 4 stars alone. I would have completely removed any "meter-feet" reference for a fluid zone based system, but that's a minor complaint and it's easily hackable. I understand the need of keeping things consistent with other iteractions of the game. I NEVER review games I don't like, so it's not a mystery I only give high votes. 5 stars and thanks for writing games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Low Fantasy Gaming (Original)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Low Fantasy Gaming Companion
by Joshua W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2021 09:40:37

Angel's Citadel reviewed this title. You can see that review here: https://angelscitadel.com/2021/02/12/review-low-fantasy-gaming-companion/

TL;DR: If you're playing Low Fantasy Gaming, you want this book. Some amazing additions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Low Fantasy Gaming Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Low Fantasy Gaming (Original)
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2021 12:42:19

Excellent bare-bones mechanism for old school sword and sorcery role play gaming without the world overlay present in other available systems. Allows you to build your world and tell your story without having to bring in ectraneous elements.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Low Fantasy Gaming (Original)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Low Fantasy Gaming Deluxe Edition
by Joshua W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2021 08:14:27

Angel's Citadel just reviewed Low Fantasy Gaming - Deluxe Edition by Steven Grodzicki of Pickpocket Press. You can read about it here:

https://angelscitadel.com/2021/01/08/review-low-fantasy-gaming-deluxe-edition/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Low Fantasy Gaming Deluxe Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Low Fantasy Gaming (Original)
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2020 14:37:52

For the past few days, I have soloed my way through Little Trouble in Big Absalom (Pathfinder 2.0). It is a fun 18 page English fantasy kobold adventure available at Paizo.com for free. It is designed for a Dungeon Master and several players. There are two maps and five characters to use (and I did use them). I used a solo engine so that I could solo my way through this adventure. For my first attempt I did use the Pathfinder 2.0 rules. What a disaster. My characters made it 27% into the module and then four of the five got poisoned with persistent damage. They retreated but only two of them made it back to their base alive. So, my solution was to try a different game system. I picked out Low Fantasy Gaming Original (the free version). This worked out much better. The bard did catch a nasty disease. Damage was healed by the druid and magic user. After Part 1, they were able to retreat a bit and have the bard cured of his disease. It was during Part 2 that they met Jacques the frogman. He was speaking with a French accent. The kobolds only understood half of what he was saying. They called him "Socks". Jacques did not like that. All five kobolds did survive and they are considered heroes by their tribe members. Give Low Fantasy Gaming a try. There are good times to be had , , ,



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Low Fantasy Gaming (Original)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Low Fantasy Gaming Deluxe Edition
by mark h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2020 11:29:42

I strongly recomend this game. The designers have added a number of unique features that make this more than a retro clone. My favorite is the D20 re-roll pool.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Low Fantasy Gaming Deluxe Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Low Fantasy Gaming Deluxe Edition
by John C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2020 21:54:06

Best D&D varient out their in my opinion. The low magic, gritty combat system is just what I was looking for. The minor and major exploits simplifies complicated special circumstance rules and with sacrificing any of the options. the party rescue mechanic should incorparted in all games. Chase mechanic, mass combat, all excellent rules... Spells with flavour and mystery cant praise it enough...

Beutiful well made book (I got the print and PDF)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Low Fantasy Gaming Deluxe Edition
by Chad K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2020 22:09:36

Great game all around. A great combo of 5E and "Old school" . Very nice art in both black & white and color art editions- I know- I have both. Some really fun and interesting things in Low Fantasy Gaming. THE ARTIFICER- The Artificer is a lot of fun with his weird, wacky deadly inventions- think the Warhammer Engineer kind of. Black powder weapons, breathing masks, corroding spray....more. THE CULTIST- The Cultist is the LFG Cleric- he gets abilities based on the God he worships- as it should be. A priestess of the Argona the Starmaiden is different than Graxus the Iron God. Also gives icons/symbols of the diety, tenets, benefits, etc. Asking for your Diety's blessings (spells ) too often could cause you some uncomfortable effects with Divine Rebuke, like aging, pain, or a mark of shame until you atone. MAGIC-USERS- Arcane magic also has a chance to go wrong or be miscast with The Dark and Dangerous Magic chart. Spells are renamed- Magic Missile is the Lash of Unerring Pain. Sleep is Insidious Slumber. Web is Strands of Ensnarement. It really gets your imagination going. ROGUE(Thief)- gets to choose from some low down dirty tricks like hidden blade, choking dust, or unseen whip, as well as his usual backstab and sneaky skills. The Barbarian, Bard, Fighter, Monk and Ranger are also there with some twists. Thats just a small part of LFG. I highly recommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Low Fantasy Gaming Companion
by Chad K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2020 13:54:23

An absolute MUST have for Low Fantasy Gaming. More monsters, magic items, domains, and much much more. The artwork is great. Packed full of good stuff for any fantasy RPG, but made for the LFG system. If you dont have the Low Fantasy Gaming core book- go get it now! (and get this too)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Low Fantasy Gaming Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 38 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates