DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Amazing Heroes
by Tim K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2021 05:11:17

To give you a quick summation of my feelings about Amazing Heroes, consider the fact that I'm on record (probably many times) moaning about my inability to cope with reading large PDF files, being an old geezer who thinks books should be printed on paper.

Then consider the fact that I made the effort to read - and make notes about - the 131-page PDF file of Martin Lloyd's new Amazing Heroes superhero roleplaying game; quite possibly the largest PDF file I have read from cover-to-cover.

Recently Kickstarted into existence, this is Martin's reimagining of his original kid-friendly, introductory, roleplaying system, Amazing Tales, but targeting a slightly older demographic.

Geared towards playing superhero characters (although the freeform nature of the game allows for a great deal of flexibility. For instance, I recenly realised it would be great for a Doctor Who game), the style of play encouraged takes its inspiration from superhero TV shows (particularly The CW ones), such as Flash, Arrow, Supergirl etc, while still drawing on the lore and tropes of comic books, of course.

Expanding on the very simple rules at the heart of Amazing Tales, Amazing Heroes is - in a nutshell - the perfect distillation of the core elements you need for a rules-lite, narrative-led superhero campaign.

Rather than explaining, and cataloguing, every possible superpower, such aspects of the game are left to a combination of player creativity and gamesmaster fiat.

Characters have a handful of attributes, and powers, each allocated a die type.

All checks in the game are player-facing, however if a player fluffs his roll in, say, a combat situation, he doesn't automatically get hurt, rather the situation "escalates", meaning it gets worse for the hero and his colleagues.

Straight off I will say that while I absolutely love this approach, as it addresses a lot of the problems I've had, personally, with overly mechanical superhero roleplaying systems in the past, it's not going to appeal to everyone.

Power gamers, people who talk about "optimum builds", and those who welcome characters that need spreadsheets to keep track of, will be scratching their heads at the bare bones nature of Amazing Heroes.

It's about as far from my own traditional, old school, comfort zone as you can imagine, and yet I can see myself finally getting my own campaign running how I envisage it with these simple little rules.

Their primary function is to encourage interesting story creation at a fast-pace, without the necessity of constant rules-referencing, and that, to me, seems perfect for a game seeking to emulate the bif-bam-pow of superhero comics, TV shows, and movies.

The freeform, storygame, approach of Amazing Heroes means the gamesmaster will often be flying by the seat of their pants, but with creative players the story is also very unlikely to run afoul of a crunchy ruling.

It does require the players to buy in to the superheroic world that they and the gamesmaster are creating, but with the right ensemble, of any age, I believe great things are possible.

The whole book is gorgeously illustrated in full-colour, with the player's section of the rules taking up the first 23 pages, followed by about 22 pages of GM advice (ranging from pacing and villain creation to guidelines on awarding experience so that player-characters can grow through the campaign).

The rest of the book covers the default setting of Storm City, on America's west coast, a plentiful array of example villains, a collection of story hooks (tied to different areas of Storm City), and then two adventures.

When you read through Martin's sample setting and the fully-fleshed out adventures, you can immediately grok the fact that you don't need pages and pages of stats and description to run an exciting and inspirational scenario.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Amazing Heroes
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2021 18:55:53

I was a big fan of Amazing Tales, so of course I had to get this game. It did not disapoint! As it says in the decription it is for an older audience, and has more rules than his family game, but it's still very "indie" and narative types of rules (YAY!).

It's nice to not have to read a big book, and I love the default setting to the game as it has a lot of info packed into 49 pages, including the iconic pre-gens, and adventure ideas. And there are two really good adventures included too.

Of the things I love about this game the most:

• There is no list os super powers, the players come up with what each of their powers does (which means you don't have to look up stuff during the game).

• The game uses conditions instead of hit points. The conditions rules are more story friendly as they are made up for the situation that caused them.

• The GM does not roll dice. Now this might sound lame, as who does not want to roll dice? But here me out: the GM not having to roll dice keeps the heat off of you when the players roll poorly. It also helps get rid of the adversary habit that has still stuck around in gaming tradtions from back in the dark ages of D&D.

• Not only does the players section and gm sections have a page dedicated to better practices in being a player and gm, but the book has more great modern gaming advice spread throughout.

The game is easy. It's fun. It starts you with things if you don't have ideas at first, and because it is the same writer as Amazing Tales, it has advice on playing with your kids. It also breaks the mold on how supers rpg books are written and designed. $10 is a bargan for this game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Travelling Temple of Moo
by Xtian X. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2021 12:34:13

The text as it is, is not meant for little childrens. I had to change the story to play it with my 5 year old daughter, because it would be too heavy to say to her that the people was being sacrificed to the great beast at the temple.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Travelling Temple of Moo
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Quest for the Dragon Crown
by DANIEL S. D. A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2020 21:39:40

I love this adventure! Just went though with my two daughters (5 and a half year old) and they are loving it so much. They just solved the puzzle (with help of Mommy, that loved it too). Cannot recommend it enought.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Quest for the Dragon Crown
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Amazing Tales, complete kids' RPG
by Alexander M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2020 20:58:59

My son uses this so much, he started at 3 and he is now 5. It's incredible and has helped with reading writing and mathmatics.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Tales, complete kids' RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Amazing Tales, complete kids' RPG
by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2020 14:42:10

Wonderfuly easy system. I was able to get my soon to be 7 and 5 yo to play just the other day, and they aee begging for more!

They wanted modern day super heroes, so I rolled with it and we had a blast.

I have a board gaming background, but not so much with RPG's, so I was very glad for the simplicity of this system, not just for my young ones, but for me running it.

The character sheet print outs were awesome as well. The kids loved drawing their characters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Tales: The Charity Adventure Compilation
by Scott S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2020 10:13:21

My middle-shool son and kindergarten neice had a wonderful time playing out an adventure! Highly recommended. https://www.reddit.com/r/rpg/comments/hl4tph/gaming_fun_with_kids_in_quarantine_and_supporting/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Tales: The Charity Adventure Compilation
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Of Dragons and Dwarves
by JOHN R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2020 19:02:05

This is a really fun adventure - easy to set-up - we really enjoyed using a RPG white board game tiles - fliping them over when it was time to go underground Easy to play without fighting - good NPCs - good set-up for fun dialog Overall a great time was had by all While it has a good ending my son did request that the adventure continue in another game where we find the dragon that flew away.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Of Dragons and Dwarves
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Amazing Tales Character Sheets
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2020 19:00:38

So good. There is so much story-telling power in these unbelievably simplistic rules. I "scoffed" at the childish simplicity at first, then I played the game with my youngins. Seeing how the simpleness of the rules gave them so much incredible freedom to truly flesh out their characters was amazing. This is the perfect first step to setting your children on an RPG path, and especially a path that embraces heavy-storytelling RPGS. Bravo!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Tales Character Sheets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Station Obscura
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2020 04:18:33

We had a lot of fun with this adventure. The puzzles were tricky to solve so I added a "number of tries" set of lights to each puzzle so I could help the kids and make it more exciting. They loved the whole thing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Station Obscura
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Amazing Tales, complete kids' RPG
by Patrick B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2020 12:33:44

I finally got to run this w my 7 yo the other day (we did a space adventure). We've played a streamlined version of the FFG Star Wars beginner boxes and a few adventures spun out of there. He REALLY liked the simplicity of the dice here and ability to focus on the storytelling instead of trying to work out the peculiarities of the more complex system. He also (brilliantly) pointed out that we could use the Amazing Tales system for any story we wanted to do in any world SO I think thats going to mean some Star Wars Amazing Tales (and probably The Hobbit, too). It also means it will be easier to bring in his almost 5 yo brother.

I really appreciated the simplicity of the system, it's utterly sandbox, do whatever you want attitude, the sample adventure and settings, and tips for first timers. I think the formatting/pagination could be cleaned up a bit (some awkward blank areas but that's for keeping different entries on separate pages I suppose), shortening the page count. The art is fun and inspiring for stories (and the coloring book is great).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Tales, complete kids' RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Amazing Tales Coloring Book
by Patrick B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2020 12:32:16

What a great companion to the RPG! My almost 5 yo has really liked being able to color his own versions of the pictures in the rule book (and it's a neat way to preview the other titles in the series).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Tales Coloring Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Amazing Tales Quickstart
by Geoffrey S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2020 04:57:54

Best. RPG system. For Kids. Ever. Period.

As it is a free product, made so during lockdown time, just download and check it. Oh, and there is more than a handful of free scenarios too, for all kind of settings described in the paid version, but you can play with them with only the Quickstart.

Detailled : all PC has 4 skills with a dice size (from D12 to D6) and roll when attempting things. 1 or 2 is a fail, other are a pass. I played with my kids on a 3 players party, from 10 to 4 and half. The paid version (which I bought month ago) has plenty of advice on how to actually run RPGs with kids, like adventures design, not to get them too afraid when very young... The quickstart has only a summary of them, still useful.

My only wish here is it could exist in other language (mine being French), to allow kids who can actually read to do so...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Tales Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Amazing Tales, complete kids' RPG
by Ciaran O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2019 06:26:53

This is a wonderful rpg with clear to follow and intuitive rules. Best of all are the plot hools and character suggestions - there is always somehting in the book that can get the story going again when gettng a bit stuck. I play regularly wiht my four and seven year old and love seeing their inventiveness let loos - they have enough knowledge of how each ofnthe core settings is 'supposed' to work to really bring their own ideas to life. Best of all has seen them learn how a 'failed'check can become a great storytelling moment in its own right!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Tales, complete kids' RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Amazing Tales, complete kids' RPG
by Trevor K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2018 11:45:34

I will first admit that we haven't played an "actual" game yet, but my 3 year old daughter loves helping to tell bedtime stories (with lots of advice from this book) so I feel like I have gotten my money's worth before we even roll for an outcome. This is an outstanding first RPG/story-telling resource for young kids and I'm glad that I bought a physical copy to put on our shelf (even though you wont 'need' it physically to play) I will be recommending this to my friends with little ones.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 25 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates