DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Tomb of the Twilight Queen 5E
by Steven C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2021 09:01:30

This was an excellent dungeon at an excellent price. It blends many different classical elements of the dungeon in an interesting way and it gives you a hook that can be easily used, though you can just as easily design your own. In my campaign, we used the hook as written, and that went pretty well with my group. A personal favorite of mine was having one member of the group describe an obstacle and another help solve that obstacle during the lead-up to the adventure. That particular aspect was brilliant for our group and one we will definitely be using again.

The art is servicable, especially given the price, and easy to take from the PDF and import into a virtual tabletop for use as handouts when appropriate. The map is easy to copy and hand-draw in, but I couldn't import the image directly due to the secrets being noticable in the player version, though I consider that a relatively minor issue.

For the price, this is a fantastic deal and the formatting is top notch so the prep work is very easy and gives you more time to think about what will be the most fun for your group!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of the Twilight Queen 5E
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tomb of the Twilight Queen 5E
by Bianca B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2021 16:32:56

M.T. Black is a veteran D&D writer with many successful adventures and supplements — and for good reason. M.T. consistently produces quality content and The Tomb of the Twilight Queen doesn’t disappoint.

This treasure-filled adventure is for an average party level of 3. The hook opens with a wealthy benefactor hiring the party to accompany him to find the Book of the New Sky that is buried with an ancient queen in a desert tomb. He promises a hefty payment for the party once the rare book is retrieved.

The world setting is within M.T.’s “World of Iskandar” campaign, but can be easily placed in any setting. The adventure is a pure dungeon crawl, designed to get your party to the tomb quickly and start exploring. “I've emphasized tricks and traps when populating the dungeon, but there are plenty of opportunities for characters to draw their swords,” writes M.T. in his design notes.

The most notable feature of this adventure for me is the design and layout. First, M.T. has clearly designed for tablet or phone reading, with a single column format with large, readable fonts. He also provides excerpts from the rules to help a new DM, such as calculating falling damage or jumping distance, to keep the adventure moving. The readability of this adventure sets it apart from standard D&D 5E design and requires little preparation to run. My only request would be a two-column format for folks like me who print adventures!

There’s also room to improvise encounters and fights, depending on what the DM and the party wants to focus on. “For the more significant battles, I've supplied round-by-round guidance to make the combat experience fluid and exciting,” M.T. notes. This makes the adventure customizable to the DM’s preferences.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of the Twilight Queen 5E
by Walter S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2021 16:03:01

I played this adventure multiple times and each group of players have found it enjoyable and challenging. With an easy-to-read layout and great encounters, this adventure has found a place within my library that will be referred to for future one-shots or inspiration.

Breaking down what I liked or disliked into 3 parts: Layout, Maps and Encounters

  • Layout (4 stars): The layout for it is GM friendly and organizes key information in a simplified fashion, making it easy and quick to gather needed information. The style is a mixture of Old School meets D&D Adventure League. The artwork is basic but matches the black and white theme of the layout.
  • Maps (3 stars): Since I have moved 80% of my gaming over to VTT, having a detailed map is critical for my style of gameplay. You do get a digital map, but it misses out on the details and flavor that a full-color map can deliver.
  • Encounters (5 stars) : Many of the combat encounters can be challenging for the players, but easy enough to alter with recommended adjustments within the adventure. The traps in the adventure seemed to have been fully thought out and can make interesting gameplay.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of the Twilight Queen 5E
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2021 00:08:24

a fully fleshed out 20 -30 page dungeon for $2 - 3! What are you waiting for? You know it's a great deal!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of the Twilight Queen 5E
by Gabriel K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2021 12:53:14

Great adventure, very classic feel to it. Design is really easy to follow, I feel like I could run it with zero prep at all. Hope this gets to set new standards in adventure design, specially for Guild products.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Anatomy of Adventure
by Alex F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2021 14:59:40

Solid, practical advice. Definitely a helpful book for freelancers and hobbyists alike.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Anatomy of Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Anatomy of Adventure
by Eike Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2021 02:53:22

While it was an entertaining (and short) read, I wouldn't be able to answer the question "what is the anatomy of adventure" after reading it. The title is a misnomer - this is not a book about "the anatomy of adventure", it is a collection of essays in which the author talks about how and why he thinks adventures that he published was a success. Most tips are about how to successfully publish adventures. There are no "these are the learning points in this chapter" summaries either. Parts of it feel like advertisement for the authors published work.

Since I don't intend to publish adventures but was looking for tips on how to prepare scenarios and possible storylines (adventures?) for my own sessions, this book wasn't of much use to me.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Anatomy of Adventure
by Ryan J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2020 05:53:30

Solid gold. I just finished this book (pretty much in one go it was so engaging). The author does a great job at walking you through his creative process with plenty of examples, honesty, and bits of wisdom. About 20 pages in I realized I needed to be taking notes and ended up with a full page gems.

Even if you don't intend to publish adventures, this book will help you homebrew your own worlds for your table. It will even help you spice up published adventures. Again, solid gold. If you DM regularly, read this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Anatomy of Adventure
by Jeffrey L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2020 12:07:33

M.T. Black offers a masterclass in adventure design, showing through examples of his own work how to take a single conceit and spin it into a published module. Each chapter offers its own lesson on design, but the overarching lesson is how the author learned these principles through the work of writing his adventures. Newly fledged GMs and established writers alike will benefit from the examples and inspiration herein.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Anatomy of Adventure
by Jonathan G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2020 10:59:07

This book is filled with good advice, not just for those who wish to publish, but also for those who simply want to up their adventure design skills. Using smooth but succinct to-the-point prose, the author provides a series of examples from his personal experience, peppered generously with excellent advice for the experienced and novice game master alike, and everyone in-between.

A quick, enjoyable, and inspirational read. I highly recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Anatomy of Adventure
by Sinan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2020 11:53:39

This is a fantastic and inspiring read. It's great to see the author assess what worked and what didn't work in their adventure writing career, lessons learned along the way. The quote that I wrote down for future reference: "I prefer the image of shuffling forward: we might be moving slowly, but to move at all is the thing.”



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Anatomy of Adventure
by Peter M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2020 15:24:36

If you want to share your adventures with the community, this is a must read. It is a true insight into the development process, with open and honest assessments, shared experiences and suggestions for ‘how-to’ publish on the TTRPG syndicate. This work is a dissection of the intricate workings in the craft M.T.Black has spent countless hours perfecting, and his quest continues. A very uplifting piece of literature that inspires a ‘can-do’ attitude that anything is possible with hard work, and desire.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Anatomy of Adventure
by Derek G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/12/2020 09:48:19

Tons of great advice for an aspiring adventure writer. Chapter 10 completely changed how I felt about dungeon design.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Investigator's Companion 5e
by Jeremy E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/28/2020 09:36:09

This supplement is an excellent addition to the Whispers in the Dark campaign/rule set. Because Whispers is a class-less system the additional backgrounds and feats in this supplement add much more variety and options to the setting. The rules for magic add this component to the setting while keeping balance and the feeling of the setting in mind. If you have Whispers and enjoy it consider the Investigator's Companion an almost essential piece of the world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Investigator's Companion 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Investigator's Companion 5e
by Russ B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2020 07:59:25

I am a huge fan of Whispers in the Dark. This book is a awesome collection of player options for that system, or any other 5e game. the magic system is a wonderful blend of risk/reward and the lack of firebolt and other combat heavy spells is a welcome change in pace. I like that spells are expensive and not guaranteed to work. The occupations are also a great addition. There are a total of 28 now and I know my group will enjoy playing them all.

My only hope is that we will see a core book that includes all of these rules/options at some point. With the quick start rules, this book, Lamp Light Sanitarium, and the soon to be released Chicago campaign - I can imagine new fans of the game struggling to know where all the material is.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates