DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Castle Falkenstein
by CD F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2021 09:45:49

It is fitting that a steampunk inspired game by the writer of Cyberpunk can be both ahead of its time literally and figuratively. Buy this if you want to see how a game and its lore can be raised to the level of art.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Castle Falkenstein
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Witcher: Easy Mode
by Kristi H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2021 04:46:45

A handy little introduction to the game, logically presented with some gorgeous illustrations to whet the appetite for the main book. It does leave you wanting more, though. I only lasted a week before caving in and shelling out the extra cash for the full version.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Witcher: Easy Mode
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cyberpunk RED
by Julian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2020 09:49:30

There are some great ideas in here and some improvements on older system, there are also some really dumb things in here.

Been playing cyberpunk since I picked up a copy of the original in 1989.

I love the new cyberspace rules.

The combat system is a joke compared to the previous systems.

2 examples:

It seems the crit system is the fudge that makes the combat system more dangerous.

Pros:

Cyberspace rules

Item Creation

Cons:

Combat system

Information repeated too many times, including a couple of pages just after it has been written.

50/50:

Generic economy and items.

Rest of system has some small tweaks if any to previous versions.

Overall:

it moves the timeline on, handy for the 2077 tie in.

Seems like 5th Edition A&D but for cyberpunk.

Bland.

Get it for ideas and home-brew and Frankenstein onto your 2013/2020 games.

Bit disappointed to be honest, as cyberpunk has been one of my favorite game systems for a longtime now.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk RED
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Night City Map (Circa 2020)
by Lee S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2020 16:44:42

Great map. Wonderful quality. Can be used with any cyberpunk/near-future/sci-fi setting or system.

I also recommend the Night City Sourcebook, Sprawl Sites (from Shadowrun) and Augmented Reality for a good collection of cyberpunk essentials.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Night City Map (Circa 2020)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cyberpunk RED
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2020 06:05:48

This does a great job of stripping away a lot of the crunch of a fairly advanced system to make is still very deep and meaningful but easy to follow for new player's and referee's alike.

For people new to both TTRPG's and Cyberpunk this is an axcellent game to have. There is plenty of foundation for veterans to add their own stuff in too.

I think this is a great balance, especially for all the new players who are getting this book as it is streamlined from previous editions and easier to run. Which is great for the hobby as it helps ensure new players enjoy the game and stick around to play!

The overall quality is excellent and it was definitely worth the wait.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk RED
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cyberpunk RED
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2020 04:01:27

I ran Cyberpunk 2020, and this is what a new edition is supposed to look like. The new Netrunning rules are easy and fun. No more overly complicated mini game. You hack right alongside your fellow edgerunners, and it has chunk, but it's fun. Combat is simplified, BUT there is strategy involved. I prefer the old Lifepath system, but it's easily adaptable. Creating a character is quick and easy, and the new Role Abilities are more elaborate and useful across the board. I can't wait to run an Exec. Don't throw away your old CP material, because it's easy to translate to RED. Cyberpunk RED was worth the wait, and I highly recommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk RED
by Daniel E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2020 18:25:34

I discovered Cyberpunk 2020 in 1995 and played it until 2017. Unfortunately, Cyberpunk 2013/2020 is almost unknown in Germany. I have to say, I was incredibly disappointed with Cyberpunk 3.0 (but who isn't ...) So I'm all the more pleased that Cyberpunk Red is now such a great book. The artwork is insanely good. The rules streamlined and work very good as far as I can judge at the moment. I especially like the new net running rules. What I don't like are the character roles. I've never liked that, in my opinion it doesn't fit into such a setting and I find roles generally out of date in the case of modern rpgs. But that's certainly a matter of taste. Nonetheless, a great book !! I'll bring my old group back together :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk RED
by William B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2020 15:25:26

Cyberpunk Red is now one of my favorite RPG's !!! I always liked 2020 but alas it did not age well :-(

Cberpunk Red is everything we have been waiting for and more !!

An easy an intuitive rulesystem ( opposed test or roll against Target number ...DONE !!), intelligent worldbuilding ( a good explaination why you have high tech and low life at the same time...and no it's not just plot armour) and finally so much flair !!

In most RPG's you just generate stats, in cyberpunk Red you generate a backround for your character, their dreams, their nightmares, friends, enemies, even (ex)lovers.

With shadowrun I would often struggle to GM, here I have more plot ideas than I can use simultaniously !!!

It is also much, much more rules lite and WAY EASIER to GM than Shadowrun.

5 stars and 2 thumbs up !!

Keep up the great work !!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk RED
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2020 10:13:06

Beautiful illustrations, great lore, mechanics were easy to pick up for our first-time-rpg-players but still deep enough that old timers are having a blast. Honestly can't reccomend this enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk RED
by Joris F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2020 19:57:09

The first time I regret that drivethru is not offering refunds. I hope you like unhelpful lore, frequent repetitions and infos on a single topic scattered accross a hundred pages.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hello! We're sorry you didn't enjoy the book. DriveThruRPG does have a refund policy. Please contact them for further information and we hope you find a game more to your liking!
Cyberpunk RED
by Daniel S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2020 16:16:15

First product I am reviewing on here, because I felt like this was probably the first book (PDF, tbc) I got here that deserves 5 stars. I have not played any of the previous editions and can't say I was a fan of the genre beforehand. But heck, I sure am now, at least of this specific universe and setting. I did not care much about the videogame that is coming soon, but now I actually want to know how the -official- story continues and am looking forward to telling my own in CPR.

  • The first PDF that actually is helpful when navigating through it, beyond just a linked index (which most rulebooks don't even support).
  • A reasonable structure (not perfect, but I guess that's impossible because it depends on personal taste) for the different categories and parts of the book.
  • Well written rules. I haven't found a lot that was confusing or unintuitive. The whole thing just seems very well thought out. Wish I could say that for more games I played (or at least read) in the past.
  • Great artwork.
  • A captivating world/setting with an interesting story as framework for the things to come.

As mentioned, I can't compare the rules to previous editions. From what I am reading, Red is supposed to make the system more beginner-friendly. If that was indeed the goal, I guess I am a good example that it worked. I would recommend this any time, even to people who have not dabbled in this genre before. Great job, R.Talsorian Games!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk RED
by Jeffrey K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2020 10:14:55

The wait is over and so well worth it! This text is streamlined, solid and perfect. You will be reading something, think to yourself "I would like to read more about this", and then you will read, "If you want to read more about this, turn to page XXX." You click on the page number, and boom, you are then reading more. Instant gratification! When you look at the old scanned materials, then at this, you will wonder how we went so long without a new edition. My hope is that this line will continue for a long time to come.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk RED
by Steve T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2020 09:09:27

Absolutely Phenominal!!! I didn't think I would lve it more than 2020 but you've done it again Mike (and the rest of R Talsorian)!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk RED
by Phillip G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2020 01:17:05

A cyberpunk game with hacking rules that work, that alone should sell you. This is the best cyberpunk game available.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk RED
by Will T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2020 00:19:27

It has been years in the making and waiting and it has been well worth it.

In a game where heartless corporations are one of it's antagonists, Cyberpunk Red arrives with it's heart fully intact and beating stronger than ever.

From the beginning, way back in 1988 when Cyberpunk 2013 hit the scene to today's Cyberpunk Red this has always been the creation of Mike Pondsmith. Yes, there is a small group who helped write Red but the heart and soul will always be that of Mike Pondsmith. Many games who survive that long usually end up in other hands and sometimes that can work, sometimes not. Sometimes when it seems to work what you really get is a workable system that is clearly the product of a corporation that (no matter what smiling face they paste on it) just want your money. What struck me immediately when reading Red was the complete opposite of corporate coldness. First thing, even before you realize that it's an amazing RPG, is that it's an amazing read on it's own. And it's a fun read as well. Immersive and detailed but never boring. I've been with this game from the beginning but if I were completely new I would feel comfortably up to speed even before reaching any of the rules sections.

The rules themselves make this one of the best RPG's ever written. Just the character creation section alone gives you three distinct styles to choose from which range from no crunch to full crunch. Each method gives you a fully fleshed out character depending on what you want.

The rest of the basic rules such as fighting, hacking and the like all have just the right amount of crunch without leaving new and old players alike with a raging headache. Tons of detail but written in an accessible way. I haven't even touched on the rest of it (including the fantastic art throughout) that helps you as a player or game master immerse yourself into this fully realized game.

I have also ordered a physical copy and look forward to it's arrival.

For further comments please see mine in the discussions section.

Bravo to all involved.

An easy 10/10.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 215 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates