DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
by [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2021 09:26:27

It is just warhammer fantasy but with none of the quicky lore me and my group are accustomed to poke fun at. Warhammer fantasy is good, zweihander is probably good, i am personally not a big fan.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2021 16:46:14

Yes, it could be called a shameless rip-off of the WH setting. A better way to describe it would be to call it War Hammer Managable, with a much better system. I'm currently using Zwei to run a Roll20 campaign, using a tweaked Harn as the setting, and it rocks, my players (none of whom had heard of Zwei before joining) absolutely love the game.

Now we need a Roll20 bestiary or monster manual to make the GM's life easier.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FLAMES OF FREEDOM Grim & Perilous RPG: Core Rulebook – Powered by Zweihander RPG
by Roslyn J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2021 16:25:16

I am honestly struggling to express how much I enjoy Flames of Freedom. I find the setting and the time period immensely engaging. I appreciate the new mechanic for the use of coin as well as the streamlined process for character creation. I feel that I can relate to these professions more readily than those found in Zweihander. The section on Playstyles highlights different approaches to playing and expriencing the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FLAMES OF FREEDOM Grim & Perilous RPG: Core Rulebook – Powered by Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

FLAMES OF FREEDOM Grim & Perilous RPG: Core Rulebook – Powered by Zweihander RPG
by john m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2021 13:09:34

Great Product. Love Zweihander. Love Flames. Only critique: really big books/lotsta read.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
FLAMES OF FREEDOM Grim & Perilous RPG: Core Rulebook – Powered by Zweihander RPG
by Lilith G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2021 12:38:52

A vast improvement on the Zweihander RPG system, Flames of Freedom does an amazing job of presenting its setting and ideas through both flavor text and game mechanics. Additionally, despite being a historical setting and the habits of some RPGs to glorify that time, Flames of Freedom does an excellent job of not ignoring the horrors of the time and being clear to build a setting where anyone can be themselves at your table.

If you're looking for a Revolutionary War TTRPG with good mechanics, and a focus on the idea of the setting above complete dedication at the expense of player for or inclusivity, I reccomend Flames of Freedom.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
by Michael P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2021 09:41:44

Shameless rip off of WHFRP, filed off some serial numbers and sanitized it for "modern audiences." Just play what you really want to play and go get WHFRP 2e, and if youre looking for a spiritual successor check out shadows of the demon lord. Don't support an author whose claim to fame is dangerously close to plagiarism, while with the other hand goes around crusading against anyone he believes has plagiarized his products.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
by Drew U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2021 13:21:56

In the genre of D100 dark fantasy systems (kicked off by WHFRP) this one cannot be matched. Clean mechanics, great GM tools, two books nets you a massive experience, and fun as hell to play. My only cons are the rate at which offical content is released (abysmally slow) and that this is not setting agnostic as it could be. If you want dark low fantasy, get this game and never look back. If you want warhammer this is superior to the four editions of WHFRP. If you have a created setting that is rennaisance or late post-classical, this is the game for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Gamemaster Screen
by Thomas L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2021 10:03:26

I ordered the Zweihander GM screen and got some type of modern day CoC inserts. Completely useless to me, and the process of returns is unclear



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Gamemaster Screen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ZWEIHANDER RPG: Player's Handbook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
by Nikki Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2021 06:04:02

Beautiful game, and very diverse! Absoutely loved playing it for the first time, and the people who run the Twitter/Twitch are also gems! The character creation is simple and once you build one, easy to grasp!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHANDER RPG: Player's Handbook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DARK ASTRAL: Chapbook for Zweihander RPG (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
by Lilith G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2021 14:37:24

Not perfect by any means, and could have had a few more professions or more lore information. Is a great basis though for a setting, especially if a Game Master is willing to put in the leg work and write up a lot of that sort of thing. Overall as is though it doesn't provide a lot of options for running a diverse group of players, or for higher tiers, and Game Masters wanting to use it will need to come up with a lot on their own.

Worth it if you're willing to do so or need inspiration, but if you're looking something you can get and run out the box without input it might not be what you're looking for.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DARK ASTRAL: Chapbook for Zweihander RPG (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
by Dawid J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2020 13:47:57

ZWEIHANDER is an amazing RPG system which is a spiritual successor of Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd edition (WFRP 2). If you liked WFRP 2e, and found 3e or 4e not as satisfying - then this system is the one to go with.

As an additional bonus, this RPG engine is independent from any setting/universe, so you could just as easily fit it into any world you wish - whether Warhammer, Witcher, or even your own!

The overall feel is gritty in a satisfying, fantasy-realistic way and characters do not feel like boring superheroes - instead they're actual people who can find themselves in danger by regular guards, soldiers or bandits. ZWEIHANDER is not all about combat (which it does in a fantastic way), but also about meaningful choices, as well as intrigue paired with creative use of character skills.

You can easily make this into a really fun RPG sandbox if you wish. You can also drive excellent stories and create in any setting you wish. A clear recommendation from me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

FLAMES OF FREEDOM Grim & Perilous RPG: Quickstart – Powered by Zweihander RPG
by Charlie S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2020 08:59:02

I love this, if this is truly indicitive of the finished product then (as a backer) this is money well spent! I majored in military history in college and have followed the Colonial Gothic RPG since 2E, and from all I've seen there and here, I truly can't say enough good things about this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FLAMES OF FREEDOM Grim & Perilous RPG: Quickstart – Powered by Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

FLAMES OF FREEDOM Grim & Perilous RPG: Quickstart – Powered by Zweihander RPG
by Joe C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2020 18:47:34

What a shame had alot of high hopes unfortunately by the preaching Seriously this is up there on the games not to get list. Needed a sick bag after reading this heap of rubbish. If I was a backer. I would want my cash back. Its the gaming equivalent of damp squibs and wet blankets. Please do. yourselves a favour just ignore it.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
FLAMES OF FREEDOM Grim & Perilous RPG: Quickstart – Powered by Zweihander RPG
by John D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2020 23:33:02

This RPG combines two under represented gems - a non D&D low fantasy game and the founding of the United States.

This game is not a historical simulation, which is fine because that is not the goal. The goal is to have fun playing an RPG with your friends. Historical simulations tend to make bad RPGs unless you're the kind of player who enjoys PC death during character creation as Susan lives to the ripe old age of "Died in Childbirth", or James who died of the pox at age 2.

The system is the Zweihander base system (which is the Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Game with the serial numbers filed off). It doesn't have any fantasy races, but the game system tries to make up for that by encouraging differing viewpoints - so your fantasy colonial period winds up looking a lot more like the modern US, ethnically speaking.

As this is a Quickstart set, it has a sample adventure, with sample characters and the basic rules. Given that the product is free, I'd consider this a good addition to any gamer's library. It makes for a good single adventure to either to demo to your group or at a convention (when those start back up).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FLAMES OF FREEDOM Grim & Perilous RPG: Quickstart – Powered by Zweihander RPG
by Edward M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2020 15:06:04

This is a game about folklore, magic, and superstition with Colonial America as the setting. We can safely assume this was never intended to be considered an accurate historical portrayal.

On the reframing of American history. America is still a country of insurrection. I may also believe that America is racist, built on oppression, the genocide of indigenous peoples, and chock full of class/gender warfare.

However, in "a game" America can be just about anything. It can be as "politically correct" as it wants to.

Just like in the movies (National Treasure, Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter, etc.) and other games (Deadlands, etc.) creative liberties are/were taken. I am in agreement if "a game" writer(s) and/or a gaming group choose not to curate a part of history. They just request for it to be labeled or identified as Flames of Freedom, the writers demand that it adhere to what they endorse for the game. That to me seems fair.

I do agree with the choices they have made and look forward to playing the full game when it come out.

Pros: Colonial Gothic, Pregens are interesting thematically and diverse, Grim & Perilous mechanics: AP simplicity and variety of results add a tactical element to combat, Zweihander compatible (Injury Cards, etc.), Coin mechanic, Alternate History (Supernatural America)

Cons: Game will be subjected to historical analysis and shenanigans. Sensitive material for some players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 88 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates