DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
Post-Apocalypse Sale













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Adventures from the Potbellied Kobold: 15 Adventures for 5E
by Collier G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2021 16:41:45

This is an excellent book! There are lots of well-written and interesting adventures each with gorgeous art and maps. The stories can be run individually, dropped into your existaing campaign, or tied all together using an optional framing narrative laid out at the start of the book. These adventures have helpful sections on plot hooks to tie into a campaign as well as suggustions for what may happen afterwards. The adventures cover a range of levels and each has sections on scaling the encounters up or down depending on the strength of the party.

The book uses creatures from Kobold Press' Tome of Beasts and Creature Codex. If you're not familiar with them, they are very useful monster books with stat blocks that are often a little more interesting than the standard Monster Manual baddies. It's doubly nice when you're DMing for folks who are very familiar with the standard D&D monsters since you'll have a few surprises for them in the way of creatures they've never seen before. Thankfully, you don't need to own those other books since the relevant stat blocks are contained in this book of adventures.

Overall, I am very pleased with this purchase and looking forward to seeing what comes next.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures from the Potbellied Kobold: 15 Adventures for 5E
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventures from the Potbellied Kobold: 15 Adventures for 5E
by Jack H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2021 21:24:21

I have been very impressed by this product. It is well written and I like how it also uses monsters from Kobold Press. Very much worth owning.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures from the Potbellied Kobold: 15 Adventures for 5E
by Jeffrey G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2021 12:33:57

This book has good maps and interesting and challenging adventures. I especially like the use of nonstandard monsters where the full stat blocks are included right in the adventure - no hunting down the info you need as a DM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures from the Potbellied Kobold: 15 Adventures for 5E
by Leons P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2021 08:59:45

I'm very happy with Adventures from the Potbellied Kobold. I've been following the author, and I've been delighted by the kickstarter for it.

First of all, I love the framing character -- the potbellied kobold -- as a group patron. I'm planning a new campaign tying together this book and Tales of the Old Margreve. Having the potbellied kobold with the art, character, background, and plot hooks in place immediately answers the question of why the adventuring party comes together, why they are going on a bunch of small missions, and what the light framing plot of the whole campaign is going to be. It gives me the freedom to add more missions onto the existing very solid structure.

The missions themselves read as fun and engaging. I'm looking forward to running them. The art is gorgeous, and the book has clearly been edited with skill and experience.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures from the Potbellied Kobold: 15 Adventures for 5E
by Orey C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2021 08:52:47

A very solid offering. Each one-shot adventure has enough detail to run as is but offers enough flexability to be adjusted for your party's specific needs. Backgrounds provided are interesting and engaging without bogging the narative down. Experienced DM's could easily have one of these adventures up and running in no time but there's enough info for newbies who might want to revel in the immersive possibilites of the new world. The maps could be printed but also work well with VTTs (I use Roll20) and the monster stat blocks can easily be used as is or be transfered to custom VTT tokens. Adventures range from 2nd to 9th level and there are several NPCs fleshed out along the way. All in all I am very happy with the purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures from the Potbellied Kobold: 15 Adventures for 5E
by Craig S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2021 09:15:58

I backed this and with the release couldn't hope for a better product. The art and editing are top-notch and there are so many fun short adventures in here. Highly recommended if you want to have fun at the gaming table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Slime Cave of Norwal - 5E Adventure
by Curse o. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2020 16:54:40

Slime Cave of Norwal by James Introcaso (@JamesIntrocaso)

Content Warning: Threatened Violence to a Helpless Homunculus

“The farm village Norwal attracts a few tourists annually with the ruins of Orthive’s tower and the famous Slime Cave. The ruins are just the foundation of the semi-famous conjurer’s tower that blew up in a mysterious accident...”

So there’s the explodified ruins of a kinda well-known conjurer and a slime cave with a river of glowing ooze running through it, can you think of a better place for the “Cult of Slugidor, the ancient deity of oozes” to visit and try to succeed in summoning their sludgy master with the advice of the spirit of the guy who spectacularly blew themself and their tower up trying to do the same thing. If at first you blow yourself up become a ghost and advise a cult to find a “worthy sacrifice” and try again, oh and terrorise the town with minor oozes to get said worthy sacrifices to come running, as the famous saying goes.

The hooks range from witnessing gooey carnage in person, seeing the melty remains of an ooze attack, to the classic escapee from the viscous violence begging for help.

Introcaso favours Descriptive Bullet Points, a method of adventure writing becoming popular “ to help DMs parse information the first time the characters enter a new area” or generally give an overview of a place, person, information they may have, things they might say and so on. It is a style I personally favour for the reasons above because it really does make prepping and parsing in the moment easier as everything is easier to see at first glance, and I also find that this layout makes it easier for me to take in and/ or use the information in my own way, through my own words, rather than feeling beholden to the exact phrasing of boxtext (not to write off boxtext, as I do love a great bit of descriptive or narrative boxtext too – personally, I think they can be successfully used together).

The village of Norwal is Introcasoduced beautifully with an overview of the notable premises, their proprietors, and their goods and/ or services, such as “Orthive’s Tower of Pancakes, Extra Oozy Eggs, and Slime Pea Soup” available at The Oozing Inn and Tavern or Wizardly Gifts, which sells “small pots of slime for 1 sp each”. The village really lean into the slime tourism market, and who can blame them?

Once hired by the constable, it’s a case of tracking the oozes down the “astringent trail back to the entrance of the Slime Cave” (which is a gorgeous phrase) and getting gooey for their troubles as they head towards “the sound of bubbling and an eerie glow come from the gaping mouth of a cave”.

Everything you could want to know or express to your players about the cave and its denizens are broken down in handy bullet points. The cave is a small dungeon filled with tricksy cultists, all manner of aggressive slimes, secret treasures, dangers, an imprisoned ghost, a slime pool forge, and a meditation room, repurposed as a temple of Slugidor, complete with this glorious feature, “green slime bubbles from four stone gargoyle heads, creating a grotesque fountain”.

This is one of those situations when violence appears to be the only answer, as the cultists will attempt to sacrifice the party to their oozy demonic overlord. I mean I’m sure there are many different ways folx could come up with, but as written and as most players will do, if the cultists aren’t killed or at least sent packing then ole slimey is a-coming and the very least they’re going to do is make everything sticky. Honestly, it’s quite tacky (badum tish).

While this adventure is written for a 4th level party, scaling advice is included throughout to cover levels 1-3 and 5, which is a nifty touch. As is the multitude of suggestions for continuing the adventure, including cleansing the caves, more cultish crudeness and even turning the caves into a zoo...

This is simply one of those really fun and rather silly adventures that everyone is going to have a great time with. There’s a bit of everything, slime, an amusingly named village, slime, a gorgeous map, slime, unbelievably beautiful art of said slime, slime again, cultists, good times and slime. Did I mention there is slime? Like a lot of it! Oozes and jelly too!

Credits Writing: James Introcaso Cartography: Toby Lancaster (Dark Realm Maps) Artists: Dante Ezio Cifaldi Layout: Alan Tucker Editing: Christopher Walz

My Affiliate link: https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/328631/Slime-Cave-of-Norwal?affiliate_id=1507682

You can find my review of a larger preview of the adventures from Adventures from the Potbellied Kobold Kickstarter here:https://ko-fi.com/post/SebsPreview-Adventures-from-the-Potbellied-Kobold-R5R22DACW

You can find the Adventures from the Potbellied Kobold Kickstarter here: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/587512440/adventures-from-the-potbellied-kobold-for-5e/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Slime Cave of Norwal - 5E Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Slime Cave of Norwal - 5E Adventure
by Justin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2020 17:13:50

If the adventures in the up coming kickstarter are this good, wooooowwweeee look out! What a fun romp. Can't wait to see what else comes from this amazing project. Well done Jeff and James. Keep up the inspirational work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Slime Cave of Norwal - 5E Adventure
by Ben J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2020 07:27:57

Super professional looking. I'm crazy impressed and legit shocked this was pwyw. Def gonna run this with my group when i next get a chance.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates