DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Six Spells: Mythos
by Jonathan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2021 22:50:43

This little book is exactly what it claims to be: six spells inspired by the C'thulu mythos. It works great in that setting or in any other dealing with ancient evils and their cults.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Six Spells: Mythos
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

100 Oddities for a Wasteland
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2021 07:39:38

These 100 lists are great seeds for adventures and can lead to some great character choices and NPC flavor. Buy them all!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Wasteland
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vault of the Sea Goddess
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2021 15:49:15

Vault of the Sea Goddess is a great adventure, taking some cues from the real world and transforming the act of salvage for the world of Kos. I grew fond of the crew of the Kolios, especially Neeko and Zopee, and invested in their adventure so much I sped through their encounters, devouring the details and the action with fear and hope that they'd survive. Great descriptions of the sea and the life of a sailor, mixed with gnomish mechanics and magic, this is a great read. Yamas, ya'bas!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vault of the Sea Goddess
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

100 Oddities for a Dungeon
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2021 15:46:36

Being caught and locked up is one of the worst things to happen in a game. 100 Oddities for a Dungeon totally changes that. Now you can give your players a reason to go to jail and not feel like they are missing the action. Infiltrate and set everyone free, find the secret map tattooed on a prisoner, discover what the prison was before they started to lock up unlucky souls down here. So many cool hooks and items to use in your campaign when your PCs aren't the most lawful or when your party makes the wrong political enemies.

For a GM these 100 oddities series is a must own, some real fun artwork and extra charts for extra flavor



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Men & Monsters of Ethiopia: An RPG Sourcebook for 5th Edition
by Joe G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2020 02:37:52

While a couple of the monsters are a little finnicky to implement, I've worked with a bunch of the creatures in this book and they're great. Heways, debbis, waga and hippos all made their way into my Egyptian/Nubian inspired campaign and I've used the NPCs a lot. Like I said, some of it's a little finnicky, I'm thinking of the debbi who have the potential to really cause some chaos in a fight, becoming functionally unkillable if your party has a run of bad luck (like mine did(. That said, if you read them over and are careful in building encounters, they're a great way of expanding your world away from the standard Tolkeinian fantasy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Men & Monsters of Ethiopia: An RPG Sourcebook for 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

City Builder: A Guide to Designing Communities
by Derek B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2020 15:27:40

This book is meant to be a resource, and it does that job excellently. There is a wealth of information in this book about all aspects of the life and functioning of various sized settlements in the pre-industrial world, and most of this information is going to be applicable whether you are creating something in a fantasy setting or working on a historical fiction setting.

The primary function here is to help make realistic and seemingly alive settlements for a game setting. As such it details the kinds of things that adventurers are going to interact with, and it does so in a rules agnostic way so that the information is usable in most any game system. Found here are various adventure hooks, for those times that your party inevitably wanders off from the thing you were planning on them doing and finds themselves befriending the random shop keeper you had to name gen during the drink break.

This is the kind of resource for a GM that is not happy with their towns being an inn and a ‘general store’ that totally has whatever cross section of the item list they decide they want the party to have access to. Here you will find loads of material aimed at fleshing out everything from that hamlet that the party stumbles into on the way to the mountain dungeons that are their true goal, to making the capital city of your setting feel grand, and gritty all at the same time.

Don’t think that this is a resource soley useful for a GM though, if you are doing any sort of worldbuilding in a fantasy or pre-industrial setting this will be something that will be useful to you. With the wealth of information in this book it will take a lot of the guesswork away about what types of goods, services, and personnel should be present and available in a settlement of any given size.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City Builder: A Guide to Designing Communities
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

City Builder: A Guide to Designing Communities
by Xorn X. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2020 06:23:51

Well, if you have never read a book about how to flesh out a city, this book is for you. It has 238 pages that describe that a city has different quarters and that you will find several craftsmen, government-buildings and so on in a city. BUT it does not do more than describe each of these craftsmen/buildings on one or two pages. So if you need help by imagining how the shop of a blacksmith or a clothier or a brothel would look like, this book is for you. However, if that is not enough for you, you will find (like me) that this book could have been trimmed down to ten pages (at most), consisting of a list of craftsmen, government-buildings and so on. You will not find much on a cities economy, military, demographics, disease, sanitation, water supply, population size of at typical city in pre-modern times, the ruling classes or the role of a city in the middle-ages (or any other period of time). You also will not find much on typical city adventures or the like. In my opinion, this book is just a bloated list! I would not buy this again!



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Xorn, we are sad that you are having issues with “City Builder” and very much hope the following will help you to get the most out of it. This edition of the book was a labor of love for our team and we spared no effort to create something that would have immeasurable ongoing value to storytellers and game designers of all sorts. First, please ensure that you have downloaded the correct file for the most recent version of this book, titled “City_Builder(03-05-2020).pdf”. Around April 7-8 there was a file download problem with this title in which customers could not access the correct file and, even worse, were being prompted to download ones that were not even associated with this book. DriveThruRPG helped us to sort that out very quickly but we want to make sure this is not accounting for the problems you are experiencing. Second, we would like to direct you to the specific topics, as per your comments, for which you were unable to find information in “City Builder”: * We address the economies of communities throughout this book, to include a brief section on Availability of Goods & Services (p 23); an entire large chapter on Mercantile Places that looks at the role of 10 different sorts of institutions, including Banks, Brokerages, and Trade Fairs (pp 125-143); and entries on Guildhouses (pp 87-90) and Guilds (pp 95-99). Most of the 85 entries devoted to types of places also describe their roles in the local economy. * We address military matters throughout the book, a few notable examples being a discussion of military bases (pp 20-21), the section on Law & Order (pp 23-24), the section on Community Defenseworks (pp 26-28), and in entries devoted to Barracks (212-214) and Guardhouses (pp 215-216). * We address demographics in general on pages 13-15 and almost every one of the 85 entries devoted to types of places includes at least one paragraph that addresses how it might be used by members of various socioeconomic groups or be differentiated by members of specific races (e.g., Dwarves, Goblinoids). We explicitly use the word “demographic” five times throughout the book. * We address the topic of disease in the section on Disasters (pp 28-34) and several other places throughout the book, including in the entry on Hospitals (pp 90-92) and on pages 17, 106, 122, 178, and 205. * We address the population sizes of Small Communities, Towns, and Cities on pp 15-18. * We address sanitation and water supply extensively in this book, some notable examples being throughout the entirety of the Introduction and in entries devoted to Hospitals (pp 90-92), Bathhouses (pp 147-148), Laundries (157-160), and Watering Points (pp 170-172). * We address the ruling classes of communities throughout the book, notably throughout the Introduction and in an entire 10-entry chapter on Governmental Places (pp 209-227). * Finally, every one of the 85 types of places covered in this book includes two or three adventure hooks and most have a paragraph on activities characters might do at them, meaning about 20,000 words of this book are specifically devoted to the topic of adventures. Beyond that, of course, the entirety of this c. 120,000-word book is designed to show how communities and places within them can serve as venues for adventure.
In the Footsteps of Hercules
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2020 20:02:52

A Travelogue with adventure hooks, terrific detail and narration. I had never thought of a pilgrimage as a campaign, but this book puts it all there for you, as well as open ended to add your own, including, but nor limited to olympic level competition, mysteries, votive acts, and like any vacation, souvenirs. Reading this would make anyone want to travel the real life journey in present day Greece, but for the moment I'll just roll up my own demi-god.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In the Footsteps of Hercules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Skirmish!
by Penny S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2020 09:59:18

Very easy to follow, quick to learn and set up. All in all a good game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Skirmish!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Prop Room
by Ed M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2020 18:56:17

Nothing takes a roleplaying session from a system of numbers and dice rolls and brings it into the realm of high adventure like the willingness to believe, just for a moment, that you are the person described on your character sheet. And few things can assist in that process like a few well-placed props. This handy guide is a great way to get your feet wet into the wide world of propmaking. It is an easy to follow guide for making some common gaming props without spending a lot of money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Prop Room
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Göatter Dämmerung (Cardstock Characters™)
by Heretica A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2020 01:25:51

Well, for a dollar its definitely a five stars. I wish it had thick black borders allowing it to be cut out, rather than just as a standee. The goats themselves look good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Göatter Dämmerung (Cardstock Characters™)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mastering a Challenge (A Primer & Tips for Skills in 4th Edition D&D)
by Paul U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2020 11:05:39

I was excited to see a new article for 4th Edition D&D. Part of the reason for my purchase is to support the creation of further articles.I love skill challenges for some of the same reasons as the writers. The concept revolutionized my approach to non-combat situations in my games.

This is a decent summary of the rules, and of some of the common approaches to them. It also contains some advice I don't recall seeing elsewhere. I don't agree with all of it, but it seems clear that it works for the writers and could work for others.

The cover art is beautiful, but I believe it's just a public domain image. There are a few inside illustrations that are pretty good and have a clear 4th Edition influence; they're not just generic fantasy pictures.

There are also two example skill challenges.The actual text is about 3 and a half of the 10 pages.I hope these writers produce more and post them to DriveThruRPG. I'll be on the lookout.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mastering a Challenge (A Primer & Tips for Skills in 4th Edition D&D)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gebb 00 – Intro to Gebb
by Amanda K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2020 09:29:22

The expanded Gebb intro is great! It does a great job introducing the basic premise and characers; the concept and setting sketches of the base are a really fun addition. I always love to see the full, pulled back view of settings we normally only get glimpses of during the story.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gebb 00 – Intro to Gebb
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gebb 81 – Green is the Most Righteous Color
by Amanda K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2020 09:24:56

Oh, poor Steve! As usual KMO has made him the most endearing character with his misguided cheer.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gebb 81 – Green is the Most Righteous Color
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Jinshu Shu, the Metal Rat: A Monster for 5th Edition
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2020 00:31:23

Very clever, well defined. I like the Antipathy as Horses are the opposing or rival of the rat. Really want to use these as a red herring in a game, especially the swarm, coupled with the unexpected weight of metal rats. Great write up and stat blocks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Jinshu Shu, the Metal Rat: A Monster for 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 475 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates