DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Majestic Fantasy RPG, Basic Rules
by Rom E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2021 09:25:31

After 950+ purchases, I believe this is the first time I've written a review for any product. It is my hope that this fact alone will inspire you to pick up a copy of this sublime title. While the author readily admits that TMFRPG was originally derived from the original version of D&D, and later updated to Swords & Wizardry, the content is fresh. Mr. Conley does an exquiste job of taking the rules we know and tweaking them just enough that the reader invariably will nod along and say "That's cool". At least I did.

While it is not my style to go into great detail about why I love this book so much, I will say the hidden gem within the pages has got to be the section entitled "Scraps from the Attic". As Rob explains at the beginning of the section:

"This chapter is a basic overview of how I designed these mechanics to remain consistent with Swords & Wizardy and the classic editions, along with the tools I used to come up with new rulings".

This short (8 pages) section is simply choke-full of 'behind the scenes' explanations describing the 'whys' of Rob's rule modifications. It is evident that Rob not only has the pragmatic experience needed to successfully integrate house-rules into a well-defined rule system, but also an artist's deft touch. At no point do his house-rules seem excessive or overbearing (with respect to the S&W ruleset).

As I read through the book, cover to cover, I felt compelled to grab a highlighter and mark up the passages of text that I wanted to share with my players. By the time I started the section "Character Backgrounds" on page 20, a campaign seed began to grow in my head. I started taking notes and by the end I had three full pages of 'my takes' on the lore of the associated setting "Majestic Wilderlands". Can there be any better endorsement for a book, that it kicks open the door to your imagination and inspires you to worldbuild during your initial reading?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Majestic Fantasy RPG, Basic Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Appreciate you taking the time to write a detailed and insightful review as well as the compliments.
Wilderlands of High Fantasy, Color Maps
by Fren K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2021 17:28:24

Lovely quality maps that bring out the best of the Wilderlands!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderlands of High Fantasy, Color Maps
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Appreciate the compliment and the business. Thanks Rob Conley Bat in the Attic Games.
The Majestic Fantasy RPG, Basic Rules
by Jon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2021 10:43:12

Taking a lead from earlier starter editions such the Black Box edition of D&D, which takes characters up through levels 1 to 5, The Majestic Fantasy Basic Rules, gives a full rules set to enable the players and referee to run complete and detailed campaigns whilst leaving room for higher level play later. The rules are ultimately based on Original Dungeons and Dragons and are compatible with most, if not all, clones thereof. Matt Finch's Swords and Wizardry is mentioned specifically on the cover and indeed the book describes itself as a supplement to S&W. But make no mistake, this is a complete game on it's own. But thus is not just another clone. Here, there are refinements and differences which show how Rob has modernised his rules as time and fashions tend to do. For instance, the classic six ability scores (here called Attributes) range from 3 to 23 although the normal human range is still 3-18. First level PCs get max hit points and starting cash is modified by Charisma (nice touch). In this volume we have the classic four main classes but with hints that in the Advanced(?) rules or in campaign supplements, there are more to come. For instance, although Rogue is a class, we are only presented here with the "Burglar" variant and the Cleric here is a "Cleric of Delaquain": presumably there are more cleric sects out there, each with their own specialisms and possibly, spells? (Indeed in his notes for the Kick Starter, Robert has more than hinted at this and there is another 'sect' detailed in the NPC section of the book). We have the four classic races plus Half-Elves. Here is a nod to more modern versions of the game: players of any background (race) can play any class. However, not all professions will be the best choice for each background. Hints at extra backgrounds can be found later in the book by looking at the notes on the cultures of non-human npcs. Look out for orcs, goblins and lizardmen backgrounds in future at least! Old school roots show themselves here- the backgrounds are not balanced, and are not intended to be. Elves in particular are designed to be somethin' else: "created as the shining examples of the potential of life" they are immortal beings, immune to disease and healing twice as fast as other humanoids. And now we come to more modern twists on the old school warhorse rules: abilities. In this game abilities are not your rolled attributes but a skill system used alongside attribute tests, using a d20 roll. This version of the skill system has but twenty two abilities (although several of these are multi-faceted) ranging from Athletics to Intimidation, Survival to Haggling. These abilities help define or sharpen your character's chosen class. The system is simple and straightforward with one target number. Advantage and disadvantage are handled much like in D&D5e, and there are simple rules on levels or degrees of success/failure. The whole abilities section is only nine pages and feels light and streamlined (so OSR stick-in-the-muds like me don't need to get the heebie-geebies!) Similarly lightweight, but nevertheless there, if you want them, are the combat stunts and tricksie moves that are common in the modern game. Rules for grappling, swapping weapons, dual wielding etc are also present and concisely written. Character's attribute scores can affect surprise, initiative, ranged fire, melee efficiency and more. This has the effect of giving the classes more options which might otherwise 'belong' to different classes. This also means for example the Fighters in this game are beefed up compared with the original game, gaining extra attacks and with more hit points. Being a human fighter in these rules is not a default if your attribute rolls didn't come out too well. Players will actively choose to play one! The spell casting system has a few extra twists too. Although spells are divided into Arcane and Divine magic, both Magic Users and Clerics need to have spell books to revise from. Both types of spell caster can also perform Ritual magic using their spell/prayer books and the right components etc. This enables spells to be cast without memorising them first. Scrolls therefore take on an extra dimension in the Majestic Fantasy RPG as they can take the place of spell books too precious to take adventuring. Be warned... some creatures in these lands have levels of magical immunity. This extra level of defense is used alongside a standard saving throw. This ability combined with the need to know how many hit dice your enemies might have (for fighters multi targetting purposes) means that players will need to get to know their monstrous enemies in a bit more detail than in other games. Rob justifies this by pointing out that hunters or warriors get a feel for the relative strengths and skills of their opponents as they gain experience with/of them. The final twist I want to mention is one which readers/users of the Blackmarsh setting will have come across before. The mysterious substance called "Viz". This is best described as an element of pure magic. A little like The Force in Star Wars, it suffuses everything, or perhaps more accurately- might suffuse anything. In the Blackmarsh setting it is suggested that Viz came to the world via a meteor or comet strike and became spread around the land and buried deep within it. You can actually dig it up or mine it I suppose. That isn't discussed here. But it's effects are. Viz essentially boosts magic in certain ways the most obvious is that a magic user can physically use up Viz whilst casting a spell and in doing so, the spell is not wiped from his memory. Very handy. Very expensive. Many of you will have seen the author's Bat in the Attic website and blog. A place stuffed with excellent advice on running campaigns. Rob has cherry picked some choice morsels from there and included them here in the Basic Rules. It's worth saying here something about Rob's philosophy when putting these rules together. He describes the rules as a toolbox for 'kitbashing'. Customisation to you and me. Yes, that's right, the author of the game explicitly states he wants you tear his game up and use it how you will. I can see how lots of things in the book, and especially the advice sections, can be used this way. I could easily swipe the entire Abilities section and stitch it seemlessly into Epées & Sorcellerie for example. However, I'm not sure how well you could run the rules without, say, Viz. But I'm saying that without having played it. All of the classic monsters are here, lots of treasure (including treasure assortment tables) and magical items. There are some excellent sections on NPCs and information on demi-human and goblinoid types etc which gives you scope to put together detailed tribes of goblins for example, complete with their warrior bosses, sages, shamans and so on. There ready made guards, NPC parties, the local witch, all sorts of good stuff. The book is rounded off with helpful collections of tables and quick reference guides, combat tables and so forth. Lots of which are also available as free downloads. The artwork is plentiful without getting in the way. All of it good to excellent. The cover work by Richard Luschek is especially good. There are lots more lovely little touches I could tell you about- such as rules for using your trusty staff as a vaulting pole! Rob really has done an amazing job fitting all of this into one book. I went for the hardback because that's what I like but it's available in paperback and as a pdf... so what are you waiting for?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Majestic Fantasy RPG, Basic Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Appreciate that you took the time to right this and thanks for the compliments.
Blackmarsh
by Alessandro V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2020 10:18:36

This sandbox setting is clearly inspired by the super-classic Blackmoor, but it stands very well also on its own and it can provide plenty of excellent game time!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blackmarsh
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wilderlands of High Fantasy, Color Maps
by Wayne G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2019 11:14:26

The maps are gorgeous, and a bargain. Very gameable!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderlands of High Fantasy, Color Maps
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wilderlands of High Fantasy, Revised Guidebook
by Wayne G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2019 10:59:31

A worthy successor to the original Judges Guild Wilderlands. The maps are beautiful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderlands of High Fantasy, Revised Guidebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Majestic Wilderlands
by zack m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2019 14:05:35

The product description doesn't ackowledge that there are no hexmaps in this product despite being known to be a hexcrawl. I appreciate the rules and character information, but I bought this on the presumption that I'd have have several hex maps with quest seeds I could use with my campaigns. Instead, I got a S&W supplement with no seeds or hexes. The product description needs to be updated to reflect what is actually in the product. I'm disappointed.

*Edited star rating to reflect change in product description.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Majestic Wilderlands
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
I updated the product description to clarify what it is about and how it fits with the rest of the product I offer as Bat in the Attic Games.
Blackmarsh
by David O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2018 06:38:02

I like the Greyhawk style cover and the Blackmoor inspired content. I'm very impressed with the crispness of the printing. The maps and the text are very clear and easy to read. The Points of Light supplement (from the same author, but different publisher) is fuzzy by comparison and the maps are functional but not nearly as legible. I woud recommend getting the print and pdf bundle as the pdfs include information about linking the Blackmarsh area to the Southlands area in Points of Light and the Wild North area described in the zine Fight On! #3 which, when combined, creates a sizable area to run a sandbox. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blackmarsh
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blackmarsh
by kristiaan l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2018 01:49:45

I've been an on again off again rpg player for nearly 40 years, and in all that time i have never found exactly what I've been looking for in a "basic fantasy" setting until i discovered Robert Conley's books. I hate to sound like a gushing fan-boy, but these books, Blackmarsh especially, tread that line of "too much-too little" perfectly. You can slip this material in perfectly into your existing campaign or just run it staight off the pages. Love the old school feel and look, love the content, love LOVE the maps love the price. Keep em coming Robert, old grognard's like me cant get enough of this stuff :D

10/10 Would pull an Oceans 11 type heist on the Viz Club again!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderlands of High Fantasy, Color Maps
by kristiaan l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2018 00:21:11

I love everything about these maps. Very well presented nice clean maps. Get ready to be inspired.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderlands of High Fantasy, Color Maps
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wilderlands of High Fantasy, Revised Guidebook
by Scott A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2018 12:46:52

What a great rejuvenation of a loved venerable product! Highly recommend it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderlands of High Fantasy, Revised Guidebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

City State of the Invincible Overlord, Color Map
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2017 08:23:11

I have the original hardcopy of this product. Picked it up in the mid-80's, NOS. What a difference color makes!!! This map is gorgeous! I bought the printed poster copy. It is amazing. Looking forward to mounting it on some 3mm cardboard, and then mounting that to some 1/4" plywood.

The details on the maps are superb. It is clear, sharp, and amazing in color... Would love to see Judges Guild produce their other magnificent city maps in full color... I'd buy every one.

This poster map comes in pieces, which is fine. They come folded, not in a tube. You will get a smaller version, on a single page, which is nice. I am tempted to take my other maps into a shop with a large format photocopier, so I can get busy with colored pencils, as I seriously doubt JG will produce the other maps in full color (Tarantis... Hint! Hint!)

The color really brings this map alive. It was inspiring on the brown paper maps, but in color, it takes on new life. Amazing difference. Looking forward to more!... Would love to see the Castle Books, Villages Books, Island Books, and the Temples Book, all done up in color. A lot of work, but I bet they would sell plenty of copies! Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City State of the Invincible Overlord, Color Map
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Scourge of the Demon Wolf
by Raymond W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2017 02:08:43

A great example of an open-ended sandbox-oriented adventure. Scourge is well-grounded in standard fantasy tropes, and I was worried this would make it generic, but it just ended up making it portable to a wider array of campaign settings. It's not hard for a GM to manage all the different plot elements, but there are enough hooks and background events that the players can go a lot of ways with this. Conley helpfully provides notes about his experiences running the adventure as well as an entire sandbox mini-setting for the adventure to take place in. This is great material that empowers a GM to empower his or her players in an old-school way.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scourge of the Demon Wolf
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for taking the time to write this and for the kind words.
Blackmarsh
by Neil R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2017 07:32:06

Fantastic setting; love it!

I am enjoying setting very much and have added another setting around Blackmarsh to a game called Astonishing Swordsmen and Sorcerers which is a great game also (in fact my second most favourite setting after Conan D20 Mongoose).

Thought you might enjoy seeing how I have advanced your maps Robert S. Conley (if you are there?).

https://www.flickr.com/photos/nialldubh/albums/72157660656424710/with/22541166509/

Hope this link works

Thanks again...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blackmarsh
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Scourge of the Demon Wolf
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/26/2016 06:12:06

Excellent, non-linear adventure! The relationships between the main factions are clear, and it requires thinking more than charging in head-first (though if you want to resolve it by charging in head-first...feel free to). I would have liked a bit more description of the various locales, but that's not a big enough ommission to take away a whole star from an otherwise superb adventure...so 5 stars it is!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scourge of the Demon Wolf
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 27 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates