DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
by Bruno C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2022 12:48:18

This is the best Sci-Fi RPG system available! It's worth to check out the extra content from the publisher.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
by Skuuf S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2022 22:27:47

I've been running games every week for 14 years and this is my favorite System/Setting by far. The tools that Kevin Crawford gives to the GM are powerful and freeing. This product is worth the purchase for the Faction system alone. If you want a game that enables you to be creative, and then gets out of the way, this is the one for you. It can also be modded for a fantasy setting without much difficulty and I currently perfer it to D&D.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Worlds Without Number
by [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2021 10:11:29

I had a chance to sit down with a couple of lads that had no idea what a TTRPG was and had started to express some interest in playing one. I had two ideas on what i could start them off with, one was WoD because all they would have to do is fill in dots on a sheet and roll d10s and the other was this. After a bit of deliberation we decided to stick with WWN and that game while rather short, was an absolute blast. Thanks to all the GM tools that are included in this book i was able to slap a few hexes together in a rather short period of time, (hexes that the players proceeded to burn down as soon as their faction made a move on their neibours). I cooked up the governance, demographics, millitary strength, religion and local monster populations of said hexes in a couple of hours an was ready to rock. Combat was rather interesting when we figured out what instant actions are and how they work, makes a bunch of level 1 peasants with pikes something you should really not be getting close to. Overall great stuff, would recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Worlds Without Number
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Starvation Cheap: Military Campaigns for Stars Without Number
by Fredrik S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2021 05:44:31

The Tables in this book is absolutely amazing, I recommend it for any Sci-fi games - mission generation is the biggest I've seen yet in any book and I always have this book open when I plan before a session.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Starvation Cheap: Military Campaigns for Stars Without Number
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Worlds Without Number
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2021 22:37:12

TLDR : Kevin Cwarford is a game design genius and he did it again

Worlds Without Number is a very well designed game. It uses the system Kevin Crawford created in Stars Without Number and revised in the Revised edition of Stars Without Number. The system is a mix of B/X Dungeons and Dragons and Traveller with the best elemets of later edditions thrown in for good messure (Feats and Acsending Armour class being the primary example).

The Highlight of the Game is it's increadible set of random tables that act as great inspiration for game masters. Random tables are and most likely will always be Kevin Crawford's greatest strength.

In terms of the game's weaknesses... I don't really see any. It's lethal, but that can be changed, it can be easily modified and that is awesome.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Worlds Without Number
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
by Ben N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/26/2021 18:25:16

Nice idea but it felt incomplete. Given its free take a look feels like the OSR that it is but it carries the warts of that with it, if you love OSR then might be just what you need my advice is run it and see how it goes as it reads well.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dead Names: Lost Races and Forgotten Ruins
by Charles F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2021 15:38:16

An excellent resource for building weird and interesting things to discover in your sci-fi AND fantasy worlds. Tons of fun to just read and let your imagination run, too! Well worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dead Names: Lost Races and Forgotten Ruins
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Scarlet Heroes
by Joshua V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2021 12:20:02

Great system! Running a solo hexcrawl with it and it works fantastically.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scarlet Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stars Without Number: Revised Edition Art Pack
by Simon B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2021 15:44:26

This is an excellent product full of incredible professional standard Science Fiction art made freely available for small press creators to use in their products. A wide range of highly usable and beautiful pieces.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition Art Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Silent Legions
by CD F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2021 00:52:01

Kevin Crawford uses the Open Gaming License so that the Ability Scores of Strength, Intelligence, Wisdom, Dexterity, Constitution and Charisma are used to make a character and that a D20 is used for skill checks and combat rolls.

But he uses these familiar mechanics in a very flexible and open horror role-playing game that lets the GM create a world out of well researched random tables. This game not take the now Public Domain literature of Lovecraft as the shorthand for the supernatural. Instead it draws from many different Pulp and Sci-Fi sources so that you the GM can build your own mythos from the common tropes of their practitoners in a mix and match fashion.

I would recommend this its own game or for use with other horror RPGs to flesh out adventures from the tables within.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Silent Legions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Worlds Without Number
by Zachary K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2021 15:43:02

This book... it is... *chef kiss*!

From an RPG standpoint: This is the only version of a fantasy D20 that interests me. I'm not a fan of hitdice, armor class, spells-per-day or levelling mechanics, but this game has got me excited to try them again. It takes lessons and mechanics that Crawford has learned across his previous works (e.g. Godbound, Stars Without Number) and incorportated them into something flexible and meaty without getting bogged down in complexity. While it may look at first that there are only 4 classes (which I call "skill-monkey", "casty", "stabby" and "undecided") the use of skills, foci and arts are what really let you make a character so much more interesting and different than appears at first glance.

Foci and arts give you lots of ways to change your character up, and really change the rules and abilities for them. Want to make an agile fighter that dances across the battlefield and avoids every attack on their path? The "Close Combatant" foci has you covered. Want your little animal companion - a pet hamster - to become the most feared beast in the world? Take the "Shared Vitality" art as a beastmaster and watch little Hammy take on wolves as you level up. Want to learn how to toss bad guys into walls like a pro? The Vowed class's "Hurling Throw" art will teach you how to toss COWS!!!!

These change up the abilities of your characters so much it's a thing of beauty for me to read! And you get access to them readily and easily - so you can pretty much make any character you want!

And from a combat side? The rules are quite simple and surprisingly tight. Shock damage means that you and your enemies will very often be doing at least some harm to each other, which combines with the relatively low HP of everything to keep combats fast, fluid and wonderfully lethal. No one wants to be in a fight, and just because your armor can take a hit doesn't mean you don't still feel that warhammer smacking into you. Snap attacks give advanced warriors and desparate defenders a method to retaliate against their foes, and the requirement for a mage to not take damage so they can finish casting a spell results in "gank the mage" being a far more viable option than I initially expected.

From a GM/Toolbox Standpoint: Okay, if the RPG part didn't convince you - either because you despise OSR games or something I said above just didn't click - then I would still recommend this book as a source for fantasy inspiration and worldbuilding. ~3/4 of this book is just for helping the GM create adversaries, create adventure seeds, populate the world with interesting and attention-grabbing locations, people, societies and conflicts. Factions can be statted out and their mechanics allow them to actively fight and compete over your world (with the PC's actions able to directly modify their capabilities).

And thanks to tools like the Azgaar fantasy map generator, you can generate a world in no time (just turn on a 6-mile hex grid and your players can start exploring!)

And the best part - it's system neutrual!!! While factions and creatures will definitely follow the OSR-style mechanics, the settings details are there for fluff and world building so you can import all of this to any other game or story you want.

As a final point, the OSR-style rules also make it easy to port other creatures, mechanics and ideas from OSR games with little effort - with Crawford's other games (e.g. Stars Without Number, Spears of the Dawn, Other Dust, etc.) being very easy to port over.

Conclusion: For the pricepoint of this deluxe PDF alone, I whole-heartedly recommend this book. The fact that there is a FREE version as well which contains everything I said above means that you can also try it out before you put your money down - which makes this one of the safest purchases and consumer experiences you can make!

Seriously, this is one of the best RPGs I own. This gets me excited to both play and run a game. This gets me stoked for fantasy worldbuilding in a way that nothing else nowadays does. And if this is what the heart of the OSR movement is, I can 100% see why it's coming back.

I think this game is absolutely amazing, and I want to encourage everyone who is on the fence to give this one a shot!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Worlds Without Number
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Worlds Without Number
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2021 21:06:09

Best worldbuilding tool I've found. Fantastic advice on anything you wwould want to do in a game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
by Charles F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2021 06:52:39

I really love this RPG. It is fast in play, it offers a traditional character-immersive experience, it provides good variety in characters, it encourages characters who have a wide variety of useful skills ( not just combat as in dnd), and it works with a huge variety of different settings from stone age to modern to sci fi. It is fun to play and fun to run. Better than D&D, well worth it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Scarlet Heroes
by HL W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2021 04:25:00

I'm late to this party, but wanted to contribute to what I think is an excellent OSR role playing game, and setting.

I picked this up as an aid to Solo roleplaying before GMing my own group, and the final 16 pages are invaluable to that end. The penultimate 21 pages of adventure design are also packed with goodness. It crawled a little for me in the middle, reading the spells (more on that later), but other than that it's a very enjoyable read.

You can read the description for an idea of the setting, but I sell it as Conan the Barbarian + Big Trouble in Little China + Pirates of Dark Waters (the 90s cartoon). Crawford writes with wit and elegance, and explains the rules easily. His setting is such an interesting one (of course there's another source book), that in another time, another world, could have grown to rival the Forgotten Realm or Dark Sun.

So why 3/5? Two reasons but the first of them a bit silly.

I don't like the Spell Names. I said it would be silly.

But just as some people don't like Tunnels & Trolls spells because they sound too 'meta' or glib (e.g 'Knock, knock', 'Take That, You Fiend!'), I really don't like the verbose spell names here. I feel many of them are named so grandious, play would stop to explain what they do, and whilst that could be true of any spell the first time it's called upon, you could probably figure out what 'Magic Missile' does. What on earth does 'Assuming the Flesh of Mist', or 'Crimson Rain of Deliquescence' mean? I don't even know what a deliquescence is, let alone how it affects a crimson rain. EDIT: I broke down and looked it up. I still wouldn't be able to guess what this spell does other than getting people wet on a sunny day.

So, again, it's a silly point, but searching for a new spell to gain takes longer than it needs to ('I want to cause damage to somebody within 30 feet, which one is that?'), and I feel players will eventually shorten or given them nick names.

The second reason, and my biggest gripe, is for the description and pictorial depiction of child corruption and mutilation (I may have buried the lead on this one). One is a child after being consumed by the Red Tide (a corrupting fog that may act as an antagonist or natural barrier), another is a demon pieced together with body parts of aborted or miscarried foetuses.

In a book filled with glorious illustrations, not every monster is depcited, and I think it's in poor taste that these two were chosen. If these 'monsters' had to be in the game, I think the text would have sufficed. Crawford is a very good writer, and his words can be creepy enough.

Now I thought I was a fan of cosmic and body horror, loving films like Society, The Thing, Videodrome, but I guess involving kids is where I draw the line. And I know "It's all just make believe, you were more than happy to hack through 100's of soldiers", but it's not the same, and if either of these were revealed during a game, I would be slapping that X in the middle of the table hard. Yes, it's fantasy, but it's meant to be enjoyable, not some grim slice of the realism of evil and fantasy pestilence might cause, and takes an otherwise mature game in a more twisted direction.

I ordered this in soft cover in the UK, and is one of the few physical books I've ordered from DriveThru POD that arrived in peftect condition with no printing QA issues or mis-aligned covers. The paper is good, thick, and smooth, the text clear, and lineart detailed.

So do check out this wonderful book, It's a good price if you're going to use all of it, but quite pricey if you're only interested in adapting Solo play for another game. There is a Black Streams: Solo Heroes supplement available, and is free, but at half the length of the Solo play chapter in this book, you're only getting 'How to play a duet or solo with existing OSR modules', not crafting the interesting adventures this book offers. Mythic GM Emulator or DM Yourself may be more up your street, but I think the author's written a very clever Duet and Solo system here.

If depictions of child mutilation and silly spell names don't bother you, consider this a 5* review.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Scarlet Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Worlds Without Number
by istvan g. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2021 09:26:17

Ideal mid-complexity game for Dying Earth or generic fantasy Again, top quality from Mr. Crawford

GOOD

  • the magic system is the best in the market, if you like Jack Vance/Gene Wolfe novels. More Vancian than regular D&D, works wonders.
  • athmosphere is unique (again Vance/Wolfe)
  • top quality GM material to lessen the workload of the GM
  • the system works for generic fantasy after minimal work
  • neatly trimmed, no meaningless filler text, but a good read
  • more player character awesome abilites (adds complexity though)

BAD

  • more complex than most previous works (ie. Silent Legions or Scarlet Heroes)
  • the GM section seems less focused than usual, harder to find things. The upside is that it covers everything
  • some archetypes (ie. cleric or druid) needs to be created from two half class templates. Character creation takes up too much time
  • an alternative rule (shock damage) changes the natural flow of d20 combats

ROOM FOR IMPROVEMENT

  • some trimming of the GM material. All are good, but some should have gone into supplements for ease of use
  • this game really, really needs single class writeups for archetypes (cleric, druid, monk, etc.)
  • longer explanation and advice on removing shock damage from the system would be great. For those who prefer "swingy" d20 combats.

OVERALL Unfortunately while this game is top quality, for me it is a nice read which I will never GM, just like Stars Without Number 2E. Luckily I can use Crawford's earlier fantasy games (Exemplars&Eidolons, Scarlet Heroes), which are perfect for simple system guys like me. While I recommend this game, I have to add that it is a better fit for groups who like medium complexity rulesets.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Worlds Without Number
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 347 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates