DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Quiet Year
by Heath B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2021 15:32:35

This is a great GM-less party game for a group of friends interested in worldbuilding and community-level storytelling. The mechanics can be grasped in minutes, and flow beautifully during play.

During your game, all players cooperate to build a "map" of a community in a rebuilding year between hardships. The calamity could be raiders that periodically invade and loot all wealth in the community, or some other problem. Drawing ability can be anything from stick-figure Pictionary-level to detailed naturalism; the drawing all about communicating ideas to each other visually, and their relationship to each other spatially on the map page.

I'd be very interested to play this game through as a "Session Zero" for a longer story game in a different system, using the finished map and events of this game as the basis for adventuring in a world the playgroup all created together.

Beautiful work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Quiet Year
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monsterhearts
by John L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2020 11:07:52

I normally try not to review games I haven't actually played or run, but I had to say a few words about this one. The game itself, with its strings and stats and moves and agendas is amazingly elegant. Reading these rules actually changed how I GM other games, and how I think about game design. This would be a 5-star review if not for the subject matter, which is unabashedly all about horror, abuse, and underage sex.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monsterhearts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monsterhearts 2
by Brenden L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2020 16:48:29

I have used this system to run a 2-shot adventure and we had an absolute blast. The rules are fairly easy to pick up; as someone with no prior experience in the Apocalypse World Engine, I had no difficulty understanding the rules and explaining them to my players. The character sheets (Skins) were fantastically well-formatted, further adding to the ease for new players. If you are looking for a fun way to let of steam, I definitely recommend this easy-to-play game to channel your inner teen angst!

That said, the book itself often feels edgy just for the sake of being edgy, and the content is painted as unneccesarily dark. It takes itself too seriously; adopting a very politically-correct/trigger-warning tone while diving headfirst into abuse/trauma subjects that are at complete odds with that tone. Steer clear of the heavy stuff, know your table, and you will have fun.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monsterhearts 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monsterhearts 2
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2020 15:50:43

Monsterhearts 2 is an outlet for creative energy. Either for the MC (The Monsterhearts 2 equivalent of a DM) or the players. It's so nice to deal with petty high school drama and worrying about trying to remain hidden in a crazy world.

I fully recommend everyone to try out Monsterhearts 2 for the following reasons:

  • Be who you want to be. In Monsterhearts 2, everyone can be whatever monster or whoever they want to be, regardless of gender, sexuality, skin color, and things like that.
  • Tell a messy, beautifully chaotic story with your players. No need for big story lines. Make up a setting, choose characters, talk about boundaries and NPCs, and dive in! No other RPG system I played is that chaotic and prep-light.
  • An awesome community. I've never met a community that is that welcoming. Ask any question to, or have laughs with your new friends.
  • Inclusivity and consent. The topics of Monsterhearts 2 can be very raw and real, but with the consent guidelines in this book, as well as the proper understanding of what Monsterhearts 2 wants to be, You can have very fun RP without the nasty feeling of being left out or ignored, or worse.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsterhearts 2
by Clarity F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/25/2019 22:44:37

Easily the best-written RPG rulebook I've ever read. Also ranking among my all-time fav games to play! Absolutely worth your time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dream Askew / Dream Apart
by Lex P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2018 22:55:19

A pair of wonderfully elegant games that I wish could've been my first. The writing is clear, evocative, and wonderfully supportive, acting not just as a rules text but as a gentle guide as to how to not make mistakes and reminder that it's okay if you do. Please take a look at this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dream Askew / Dream Apart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monsterhearts
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/14/2018 06:13:30

Avery Alder's Monsterhearts has been one of those games I that I have wanted to review and play some more ever since I first encountered the First Edition all the way back when I was introduced to it at Gen Con.

Monsterhearts is a game on what it like to play teenage monsters. Monsters as metaphors for teenage life and feeling a little outside the norm. I think it is something everyone can relate too I think. The system is an easy one, based on the Apocalypse World Engine, something else I have wanted to delve into further. The base mechanic is simple; 2d6 + whatever mods (depending on the game), get higher than 10 for a success, or a 7-9 for something weird.

Characters have playbooks (much like many PBA games) but they also have a "Sex Move" they can use on other characters. They are teens afterall.

Don't expect a lot of combat here or a detailed combat system, this is not "Supernatural", this is Buffy in the early seasons, Twilight, or Carmillia the Web Series.

I am giving 1st Edition a nudge up in the ratings because that is the edition I played at Gen Con and the woman running it did a hell of job!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsterhearts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monsterhearts 2
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/14/2018 06:12:21

Avery Alder's Monsterhearts has been one of those games I that I have wanted to review and play some more ever since I first encountered the First Edition all the way back when I was introduced to it at Gen Con.

Monsterhearts is a game on what it like to play teenage monsters. Monsters as metaphors for teenage life and feeling a little outside the norm. I think it is something everyone can relate too I think. The system is an easy one, based on the Apocalypse World Engine, something else I have wanted to delve into further. The base mechanic is simple; 2d6 + whatever mods (depending on the game), get higher than 10 for a success, or a 7-9 for something weird.

Characters have playbooks (much like many PBA games) but they also have a "Sex Move" they can use on other characters. They are teens afterall.

Don't expect a lot of combat here or a detailed combat system, this is not "Supernatural", this is Buffy in the early seasons, Twilight, or Carmillia the Web Series.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monsterhearts 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monsterhearts 2
by Ben D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2018 15:32:30

Monsterhearts 2 is a game for sexy teen monsters to have melodramatic interactions, but, it goes out of its way to be “sexy” and “edgy”, which to me was actually a turn off.

Mechanically, the game is fine. It follows the standard Powered by the Apocalypse layout, with a few minor name changes to suit the game’s style. I think MOST of the skins were well thought out, each skin representing a different kind of monster, and the abilities therein. I do not like the Mortal aka the human. Its abilities lead me to believe that the “best” way to play this character is as the victim of abuse, and you have very few choices beyond that.

The art is so-so. The cover is the best art by far; with the interior art looking like someone used a marker to copy pictured of goths and punks. The vast majority of the monsters look like normal people. Maybe this is part of the game, that monsters have to “blend in”, but for a game that pronounces itself as out and proud, I’d like the monsters to look like monsters, at least in some of the art.

The ZIP file is actually great. You can get the book with each page as a single layout, or lay out side by side. The player skins are laid out to be printed and folded into little player books, which I think is a good touch. There’s also a PDF of towns you can set your sexy monster abusive relationship game in, with potential story seed. (I found the towns PDF to be the best part of the book.)

All in all, I’m going to give this game a solid “meh”. It’s not sexy. It is melodramatic. It does have monsters. It’s a different kind of game, and Buried Without Ceremony should be congratulated for being daring enough to try it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Quiet Year
by Michael L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2018 08:05:03

Great game! my group used it to define the village and its surroundings for our D&D campaign. Despite being novices to the more freeform story driven games everyone at the table loved playing The Quiet Year. They wanted to play on when the game finished, and immediately came up with cool alternative settings to try the game in, to play again. As a GM in our D&D game I got a map full of exciting locations to get inspired by, and a shared history of the area that all my players are invested in.

overall; excellent game that nudges players to be creative. Well worth its pricetag as multiple replays are sure to bring out new exciting stories.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Quiet Year
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monsterhearts 2
by Derek P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2018 12:36:56

Monsterhearts and Monsterhearts 2 are, in my opinion, the best written PBTA Games out there. Not a game for every table, but the perfect game to scratch your itch if you're looking for melodrama and the opportunity to explore characters in crisis. Genuinely give this book a read even if you're not interested in playing sexy teenage monsters, the insigns into playing people driven to make poor decisions will be worth your time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsterhearts 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monsterhearts
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2017 12:32:52

I'm of mixed feelings about this one. On the one hand, it is superbly well done. On the other, I feel a little like my social contract has been violated (joking a little).

I would guess that this is much closer to the horror sources listed than to Buffy or Twilight (even though it's clear where those inspirations come in in the mechanics, it's very nicely done). This is skewed towards true horror with a salacious, malicious bent. Which I can see is in the blurb, now that I'm looking for it and not blinkered by the word "Twilight". Firmly on the "these stories is a metaphor for the horrible things people do as adolescents" side. Much more complex and difficult than I expected. This is... a good thing? I think.

The mechanics are great and accomplish exactly what they promise. The "growing up" mechanics are brilliant. With the right group this would allow you to tell amazing, rich stories with emotional impact and sexy, disturbing things happening all the time.

Sadly, I don't have a group like that, but I'm still glad I purchased it and read it cover to cover.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsterhearts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Quiet Year
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2016 17:46:41

Played at PAX and loved it. Purchased because I would love to play it again. My only reason for not giving this a solid 5 stars is that the purchaseable product is formatted as a chart where you can lookup results using poker cards. I would have liked to have seen a printable deck that I could cut out for a more seamless play experience.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Quiet Year
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monsterhearts
by Harpal K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2016 14:17:53

It's a teen monster drama RPG. I figure most people can figure out whether that will appeal to them or not, so I'll just say that if you're into the genre or into exploring teen angst in an RPG format, you should get this. It also excels in its capacity for (and insistence on) exploration of queer identity. A really good implementation of Apocalypse World's engine IMHO, the strings mechanic works really well, and it's a super fun game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsterhearts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monsterhearts
by Patrick S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2016 07:29:41

After searching for a RPG that would allow stories like Beautiful creatures, Mortal instruments, RubyRed and such, I found Monsterhearts. I found funny the game mechanics where you either alter the mood of the opponent or get influence on him. But after studying it, it's sooooo narrativist, and will lead to only developing the characters' interactions and psychology and not develop a story, even less a campaign.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 23 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates