DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Austin P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2019 10:10:55

This book should be the cornerstone of any Game Master's collection, I don't think I've run games better than the ones I only need to spend 30 minutes prepping. Do yourself a favor and buy it NOW.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Dave P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2019 13:35:39

This book has a lot of useful advice, but it's also espousing a philosophy that I think is poisonous to the game, and that's an attitude that prioritizes heroic fiction over player agency. From Chapter 24:

Tweaking combat is one way to change a beat from fear to hope, or vice versa. You can do so by adding monsters to make the fight harder, or removing monsters to make it easier. If the characters have been having an easy time of it, they might walk into a room full of armored ogres training and sparring. If they’ve been having a hard go of it, maybe they stumble across a lone ogre, face down and asleep in her plate of raw meat.

This is the sort of thing that saps player agency and devalues player skill. If they've been having an easy time of it, it's because they've been using lateral thinking and clever tactics to efficiently defeat obstacles. Why would you punish that by throwing extra obstacles at them? If they've been having a hard time of it because they tried to Leroy Jenkins their way through the dungeon, why would you reward that behavior by smoothing the path for them?

In fiction the hero always barely wins the last battle, bloodied and exhausted and depleted, because that's all scripted and the author is the only one with agency. Trying to recreate that in a role-playing game sacrifices all the strengths and freedom of RPGs to turn them into a mediocre imitation of a book or movie.

There are a lot of good suggestions here-- I'd encourage anyone to read chapters 8, 15, 21, and 22. Just tear chapter 24 out of your copy of the book entirely and forget it ever existed, and the remaining chapters comprise a 4-star resource.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2019 15:23:02

If I ran a school on gaming this would be textbook I would hand students on Day 1!

An essential purchase for a new or experienced DM or GM as the ideas within it are system agnostic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sly Flourish's Fantastic Adventures
by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2019 18:21:14

I recently ran an adventure from this book for a weekly drop in group, and I have to say it was extremely well received. The locations and encounters flowed seamlessly and everyone at the table (myself included!) had an amazing time. I think I may have even earned some return players out of it! True to brand there is minimal prep required, yet the structure allows for as much depth and complexity as you want. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sly Flourish's Fantastic Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Lazy DM's Workbook
by Megan I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2019 21:41:30

Really useful supplement book for DMing. It's full of practical info that's great to have during a game, like combat information, DCs - all those fiddly bits of info that are scattered throughout the big rulebooks. Plus there's a ton of random tables that really speed up the game when a player does something unexpected. And the lairs! Honestly, if you don't have this book on-hand every time you DM, you're making life harder for yourself.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lazy DM's Workbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Lazy DM's Workbook
by Justin R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2019 12:02:33

The random tables provide quick help when you need a bit of inspiration! I Love how it partners with the "Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master" book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Brian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2018 07:52:50

This is an exceptional book. Ostensibly for "lazy" dungoen masters, in fact the book presents distilled wisdom about how to be a great DM whether you are lazy or not. And like true wisdom, this book shows that there are practical habits and tricks to do that will make you a great DM. Prep your game wisely, in other words, by spending time on what will make the game enjoyable and memorable for you and your players. The book is also a pleasure to read--it is organized into chapters that target specific aspects of the game; Shea is a clear and engaging writing and the artwork is great.

A word about the hardback I purchased--it is a high quality printed product. The cover has a nice gloss finish and the binding seems quite durable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Steve B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2018 06:34:11

Fantastic guide for new and old gm's alike. Mike's advice is perfect for getting the most value out of your limited prep time. The wide range of topics includes adventures, NPCs, rewards, campaigns and many other areas all covered in a thoughtful and concise manner.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2018 11:02:08

I really love this system. This book and the workbork are well worth the small investment. They both effectively lay out an effecient way to think about gamemastering and create encounters that build upon each other naturally to help you keeo your players engaged and focused! Great work Sly. Happy I backed your KS.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Justin R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2018 12:13:10

This book has been a game changer for me in my game preperation. I love the advice and the worksheet. The most helpful peices are the 10 secrets and the advice on running NPC's. Thanks for the wonderful work Mike.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Megan I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2018 18:55:18

Reading this book improved my DM skills immediately. It gives you a new way to think about your campaigns and a new way to plan and run games. It encourages you to spend more time on the important stuff, and waste less time prepping stuff you don't need and won't use. Definitely a great addition to any DM's library.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Robert L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2018 17:58:54

Going to keep this short; this is a very helpful product and teaches you great methods.

The only con would be that it doesnt offer much in the way of useful advice for prepping an entire campaig. This is due to the approach it presents requires much improvisation session to session making it impossible to prep an entire campaign.

i also would have liked to seen some sort of approach to quickly prepping dungeons.

There is a companion product that really should have been integrated within this as a single book. That product contains fillable sheets for the methods taught in this book, which is odd that they werent included here.

All in all if you want to run games with little planning on a session by session basis, this product is a great read.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for the review! As you mention, the style of game prep discussed in this book focuses heavily on improvisation. There is a section on campaign building that focuses on the main themes of the campaign and the major influencers of the campaign (be they villains or some other force) called "fronts". It doesn't go into planning out an entire campaign because, in the experiences of many DMs, campaigns never really end up where we think they are going to go. Instead, a focus on the next adventure often offers the most benefit. The companion product you mention, the Lazy DM's Workbook, contains 48 pages of material that we couldn't pack into this book without increasing the price. It is also 5e specific where the rest of this book can be used with any fantasy RPG. The Lazy DM's Workbook is available for a reasonable price separately, however. You can also download the blank preparation pages for free at https://slyflourish_content.s3.amazonaws.com/lazy_dm_workbook_fill-in_pages.pdf Thank you again!
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Capn R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2018 12:55:38

I think this book is one of those "must reads" for anyone considering being a game master, almost no matter what system you plan to play on. For full disclosure, I've heard great reviews of the original Lazy Dungeon master, but never actually read it, so while I don't know how much the the Lazy DM checklist has changed since the previous book, I know it has helped hone my preparations towards the things that helped improve my game in a way no other product ever has.

The chapter on secrets has helped me conceptualize the idea of introducing story hooks and beats in a way that nothing else I've read has. It provides a simple, yet incredibly robust method for drip-feeding pertinent information and interesting secrets to the players, while making sure you don't ever have to run the risk of railroading the players by tying the information to a single NPC.

I will admit, though, that your mileage may vary for the chapters outside the core checklist, as they contain more fuzzy advice on running the game and thinking about it. They do provide a nice rounding out of the books advice, though I do feel that they could use more polish than simply "these are other things that DMs like doing for their games that can help improve it".

However, I still find that this book lays out the info in a concise, easy to read and use format, that doesn't try and waste the reader's time with unnecessary bloat. I couldn't recommend this book higher.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sly Flourish's Fantastic Adventures
by finlay l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2018 16:57:58

I ran four of these adventures at my FLGS to rave reviews. There really is something for everyone, new and experienced players alike! As promised, they are very easy to run with minimal prep and include everything you need- even pregenerated character sheets that are easy to level up if people return for more than one game. The adventures range from simple linear stories (clear out this mine) to more branching plots (figure out what's up with these goblins), and the tone varies from adventure to adventure. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sly Flourish's Fantastic Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Tom B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2018 15:20:52

Mike's excellent advice for focussing D&D prep down to the essentials has made a huge positive impact on my DMing. I highly recommend that anyone running D&D, or any RPG game, who wants to improve their improvisational DMing skills picks this book up and embraces the way of the Lazy Dungeon Master. Especially if you're juggling multiple games and groups! Prep less and play better.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 57 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates