DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Delta Green: Handler's Guide
by Philip B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2017 16:05:39

Well-researched by a team of industry veterans, the Handler's Guide is the other half of the Delta Green RPG (the Agent's Handbook is the first), and man, is it complete. Between the amount of background on the world, mechanics for nearly every Lovecraftian ightmare you can concieve, and additional information that adds to the realism of the premier conspiracy-horror game, the Handler's Guide is a must have for any aspiring DG Handler.

The detailed research and dutiful conversion of no less than 33 monsters, 15 Great Old Ones-- as well as rules to create your own nightmares, along with the sheer amount of information on the world of Delta Green, means any Handler equipped with this book will have years of potential content at their fingertips. So challenge your agents to discover the truth, at the low cost of their sanity, their lives, and perhaps their souls.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Handler's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: Handler's Guide
by Tammy C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2017 19:44:50

Absolutely amazing. Backed on backerkit, well worth every cent.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Handler's Guide
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2017 19:10:47

Truly gorgeous book. The layout is engaging and stimulating, with story seeds in almost every paragraph. The artwork is high quality, as is the writing, and the setting is deeply disturbing, as a modern Lovecraftian horror game should be. I can't wait to run this for my players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Handler's Guide
by Brian C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2017 16:41:10

I purchased and downloaded the Handler's Guide last night. I've only skimmed it so far, but this, this is fantastic. Between it and the Agent's Handbook, well, Delta Green is slick, smart, and scary, with a design elegance and masterful rendering of the BRP mechanics that is refined, restrained, intelligent, and inspired. Hats off to Team Delta Green and Arc Dream Publishing. I'll be buying the hardback too when it releases in some months. Thank you Team Delta Green for this dark gem of a game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Handler's Guide
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2017 08:48:32

Most RPG books are a bit of a chore to read, but this book reads like a riveting horror novel. I get started on a section and I can't put it down. It's also jam packed with useful information and story hooks. Literally every page will give you story ideas. The Agent's Handbook and now the Handler's Guide are the best written RPG rulebooks I have ever read. I own a lot of Lovecraft RPG's, and in my opinion the Delta Green RPG is the best Lovecraft RPG you can buy. The rules are super streamlined, the setting is perfect, and horror oozes from every page. Every adventure I have run with these rules has worked flawlessly at the table. Also, a note about the layout. I wish every RPG was put together with this sort of atmosphere. This book is a treat to look at. Great art, great layout, pure atmosphere. I really can't give the game enough praise, it's just that good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Better Angels
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/01/2017 07:55:00

http://www.teilzeithelden.de

Was passiert, wenn man Konzepte von White Wolfs World of Darkness mit einem humorigen Superschurkenspiel mischt? Wenn Superschurken von Dämonen gepeinigte Seelen sind, die nach Macht und Menschlichkeit streben? Und was, wenn diese Dämonen auch noch von dem Spieler neben einem dargestellt werden?

Greg Stolze ist für Spieler der World of Darkness absolut kein unbeschriebenes Blatt. Er schrieb einige wichtige Quellenbücher für Vampire: The Requiem und Demon: The Fallen und verfasste auch einige Romane, die in White Wolfs düsteren urbanen Schattenwelten angesiedelt sind. Aber Stolze ist ein umtriebiger Geist, und so machte er sich daran, einige seiner Erfahrungen mit einem abenteuerlichen neuen Setting zu verknüpfen. Dabei lässt er die Dunkelheit hinter sich und präsentiert ein Szenario, das mehr an Kick-Ass erinnert als an Vampire.

Die Spielwelt

Wir befinden uns in einer knallig-bunten Variante unserer Welt, mit Superhelden und Superschurken, die sich zwischen Hochhäuserschluchten erbitterte Gefechte liefern. Dabei sind die Schurken sogenannte „Hellbound“, also von Dämonen mit unglaublichen Kräften ausgestattet und zum Bösen verführt. Sie kämpfen also nicht nur gegen die Helden, sondern auch gegen die Monster, die drohen, ihre Seele in die Hölle zu reissen. Zudem haben die Engel auch noch ihre eigene Agenda in der Welt und stellen sich den Spielercharakteren in den Weg. Es geht also um nicht mehr und nicht weniger als den schonungslosen Kampf des Guten gegen das absolute Böse. Und Böse heißt hier Superböse. Die Schurken lobpreisen ihre genialen, teuflischen Pläne und lachen ihr diabolisches Lachen, wie es sich sonst nur in völlig überzeichneten Comicwelten wie denen von Mark Millar vorkommt.

Und auch die Helden sind nicht ohne. Da ist der Pflasterer, der mit seiner Planiermaschine alles platt walzt, der mysteriöse Page, der zwischen den Türen jedes Verbechensschauplatzes auftaucht und viele andere skurrile Gestalten und schräge Vögel. Stolzes Spielwelt nimmt sich absolut nicht ernst. Sie ist die Nische in der Nische in der Nische. Kein Superheldenspiel, sondern eine Superschurkenspiel, noch dazu mit Dämonen und Engeln, das zudem auch noch auf Humor und Karikatur setzt – das ist harter Tobak und absolut trashig. Es braucht eine sehr spezielle Spielerschaft, um sich auf dieses absolut verrückte Spielabenteuer einzulassen.

Die Regeln

Der Trashfaktor wird durch das spielerische und regeltechnische Konzept des Spiels unterstützt. Zunächst weist der Charakterbogen eine gewisse Ähnlichkeit zu Demon: The Fallen auf. Da sind der brennende Schriftzug und die sehr charakteristischen Kreise, die jeder WoD-Spieler vom Ausfüllen seiner Attributpunkte kennt. Und tatsächlich funktioniert das Regelsystem sehr ähnlich wie das der WoD. Die Punkte in jedem Attribut stehen für eine Anzahl von Würfeln, die dem Spieler zur Verfügung stehen. Mit diesen zehnseitigen Würfeln wird gegen Zielzahlen gewürfelt, die es zu erreichen gilt. Das System ist also bekannt, es ist simpel und hat sich in der Vergangenheit bewährt. 

Doch wer genau hinschaut, der erkennt eine Besonderheit: Die Attribute, hier „Strategies“ genannt, sind unterteilt in drei Kategorien und jeder der Kategorien gehören jeweils zwei untergeordnete Attributpaare, hier „Tactics“ genannt, an. Dabei kommen diese Attribute jeweils in Paaren. Einem negativen, diabolischen Wert, steht ein tugendhafter Wert entgegen. So wiegen sich Geiz und Großzügigkeit, Spionage und Wissen, Grausamkeit und Mut, Feigheit und Ausdauer, Korruption und Sorge, Täuschung und Ehrlichkeit jeweils gegenseitig auf. Natürlich ist es gut, diese Werte weitestgehend im Gleichgewicht zu halten, aber das ist nahezu unmöglich. Werte können im Lauf des Spieles steigen, sinken oder rutschen.

Das Rutschen ist ein großartiges Konzept, um den ständigen Kampf um Balance in den Charakteren auszudrücken. Wird ein Charakter zum Beispiel verletzt, sinkt sein Mutwert. Gleichzeitig aber steigt sein Wert in Grausamkeit entsprechend an. Das Böse hält den Charakter fester in seinem unnachgiebigen Griff. Sehr schön!

Jedem Charakter steht eine große Liste an dämonischen Kräften, teuflischen Waffen und teuflischen Aspekten zur Verfügung. Kräfte werden durch einen Wurf auf die entsprechende Strategie zuzüglich der passenden Taktik aktiviert. Einfach, simpel und schnell. Genau so muss ein Spiel mit diesem Konzept funktionieren.

Das mutigste Element, dass Stolze aus der WoD importiert hat, ist das Element des Dämons. Denn jeder Spielercharakter hat so einen bösen kleinen Gefährten in sich, der ihn lockt, verführt und manipuliert, ihm Versprechungen macht, mit Kräften versorgt…und fallen lässt, wenn es ihm passt. Dieser Dämon wird, ähnlich wie erfahrene Spieler es von Wraith: The Oblivion kennen, von einem Mitspieler gespielt.

Das kann zu großartigen Spielsituationen führen. Meine Erfahrungen mit Wraith zeigen allerdings, dass das nur mit sehr wenigen Spielern funktioniert. Einige lieben es zu sehr, ihr Gegenüber durch den Dämon zu quälen und zu nerven. Andere entwickeln mehr Spaß an der Darstellung des Dämons als am eigenen Charakterspiel. Und einige sind in der Darstellung des Dämonen einfach zu überzeugend und lassen ihrem Menschen keine Chance. Es braucht also sehr erfahrene, sehr reife und tolerante Spieler, um eine solche Spielmechanik wirklich sinnvoll umzusetzen. Das nennt Stolze selbst „Sadismus light“. Damit wird das Spiel noch etwas mehr zum Nischenprodukt, wenn das noch möglich ist. 

Charaktererschaffung

Die Charaktererschaffung erfolgt über ein Punktekaufsystem und ist sehr einfach gehalten. Sie weist allerdings eine sehr spannende Besonderheit auf, denn man kauft nicht nur eigene Charakteristika, Kräfte und Dämonenaspekte, sondern kauft diese auch für den Charakter, dessen Dämon man übernimmt. Der arme Spieler muss sich dann überlegen, wie es zu diesen Kräften gekommen ist.

Das geht natürlich mit einem diebischen Vergnügen einher, weil man seinem Gegenüber ja nicht nur Positives aussucht. Macht man sich aber bewusst, dass man ein kooperatives Rollenspiel spielt, haut man seinen Menschen auch nicht völlig in die Pfanne, sondern wählt auch einige wirklich coole Kräfte für ihn. Es macht Freude, den Gesichtsausdruck seines Menschen zu beobachten, wenn man ihm die Liste präsentiert. Gleichzeitig weiß man, dass ihm selbst das gleiche Vergnügen bei einem anderen Spieler bevorsteht. Die Charaktererschaffung dauert nicht lang, nach wenigen Minuten ist man fertig.

Spielbarkeit aus Spielleitersicht

Dem Spielleiter kann es sehr helfen, wenn er über einige Comic-Erfahrung verfügt, sich selbst nicht zu wichtig nimmt und die Charaktere in den Mittelpunkt der Abenteuerplanung setzt. Da das Setting im Grundbuch nicht sehr ausführlich besprochen wird, benötigt er eine ganze Menge Kreativität. Schnell wird er feststellen, dass es zwar sehr einfach ist, einen Superheldenfilm zu genießen, aber wesentlich schwerer, einen solchen zu erzählen, vor allem, wenn der Humor dazukommen soll. Und ohne diesen Humor funktioniert Better Angels einfach nicht.

Es hilft, wenn der Spielleiter die Spieler bei der Charaktererschaffung begleitet und die Geschehnisse aus den Motivationen ihrer Charaktere gestaltet. Denn die Motivationen von Schurken sind nun einmal schwerer zu greifen und zu lenken als die von Helden. Spielleiter in diesem System kann ein Knochenjob sein. Zumal man auch darauf achten muss, dass die Spieler mit ihren Menschen und Dämonen fair umgehen. Läuft das aber erst einmal und die Spieler haben einen Sinn für die Figuren entwickelt, kann Better Angels gerade durch die Interaktion zwischen Menschen und Dämonen zu einem Selbstläufer werden, bei dem man Tränen lachen kann.

Spielbarkeit aus Spielersicht

Better Angels zu spielen, ist für den Spieler eine sehr ungewöhnliche Spielerfahrung, vor allem, wenn er noch keine Erfahrungen mit Wraith: The Oblivion gesammelt hat. Die Abenteuer, die das Spiel bietet, sind spritzig und frisch. Der Spieler wird also gut unterhalten. Ein Problem entsteht für all die Spielertypen, die aus verschiedenen Gründen gern die volle Kontrolle über ihre Spielfigur behalten, denn diese verliert man durch das Konzept des mitspielergeführten Dämonen schon bei der Charaktererschaffung. Das ist die Hölle für alle Method Actor, denn Immersion ist nur noch schwer herzustellen. Der Spieler betrachtet das Geschehen immer wieder von der Meta-Ebene, da er ja nicht nur den eigenen Charakter, sondern auch einen Aspekt einer weiteren Spielfigur verkörpert. Der Min-Maxer, also der Spieler, der seine Punktevergabe gerne buchhalterisch plant, um eine möglichst leistungsfähige Figur zu erhalten, erfährt sein Armageddon dadurch, dass ein Mitspieler Teile seines Charakters punktet.

Es braucht also reife, erfahrene Spieler mit einem ganz klaren, partnerschaftlichen Spielansatz, um erfolgreich spielen zu können. Auf weitere Probleme in der Darstellung des Dämonen wurde oben bereits eingegangen. Der Spieler muss mit einer großen Fairness und einem Sinn für Humor ausgestattet sein, der es zulässt, auch schon einmal durch einen Mitspieler zum Affen gemacht zu werden. Gleichzeitig muss er leichte Frotzeleien ertragen können und nicht nachtragend sein.

Ist das gegeben, ist Better Angels ein tolles Spiel, dass dem Spieler einen großen Einfluss auf das Gesamtgeschehen überlässt. Über den Dämon lassen sich ganze Handlungslinien forcieren oder überhaupt erst eröffnen. Die Spielwelt sorgt für eine angenehme, stimmige Atmosphäre. Das Regelsystem erlaubt ein schnelles und reibungsloses Spiel.

Erscheinungsbild

Das PDF ist gut konzipiert und stimmig gestaltet. Durch das klare Inhaltsverzeichnis und das Glossar am Ende des Buches ist die Orientierung leicht. Für zusätzliche Übersicht sorgt ein Cheat Sheet, das noch einmal die wichtigsten Mechanismen am Ende des Buches zusammenfasst. Das Werk ist geziert von wunderbaren und stimmungsvollen Comic-Zeichnungen, die schon beim ersten Lesen ein klares und lebendiges Bild der anvisierten Spielatmosphäre vermitteln. Extrem ausführlich ist das Spielbeispiel geraten, das ebenfalls hilft, diese Atmosphäre zu verstehen.

Fazit

Greg Stolze hat die Nische in der Nische der Nischen belegt mit seinem Superschurken-Dämonen-Humor-Rollenspiel. Irgendwo zwischen Kick-Ass, Marvel und Demon: The Fallen angesiedelt, bietet dieses Spiel ein Setting, das spezieller kaum sein könnte. Doch damit nicht genug, benötigt es durch den Ansatz, dass jeweils ein Spieler den Dämonen spielt, der den Charakter eines anderen Spielers antreibt, einen sehr reifen, aber nicht zu sehr auf Immersion konzentrierten Spielertyp. Denn Immersion wird schwierig, da der Spieler sich immer auch ein wenig auf der Meta-Ebene bewegt.

Spieler, die sich auf dieses Wagnis einlassen, werden mit einem erfrischend spritzigen Spielerlebnis belohnt, dass sie sehr stark zu treibenden Faktoren des Spielgeschehens werden lässt. Spielleiter können sich auf eine neue Erfahrung in der Beobachtung der Spielerinteraktion gefasst machen. Sehr gelungen ist die Tatsache, dass durch das Rutschen von Strategies und Tactics die Spielmechaniken bereits das Thema Balance aufgreifen, das für das Spiel so bedeutsam ist. Better Angels ist ein höllischer Superhelden-Trip. Leider ist die Spielwelt im Grundbuch nur angerissen. Aber in weiteren Publikationen darf man sich auf einiges gefasst machen. 



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Better Angels
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: Handler's Guide
by Trung B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2017 18:46:14

Very few times in your lifetime do you ever come across a group of talent that has committed so much to a property that brought something special to an already great product line. Originally a source book for Call of Cthulhu, Delta Green had the honor of being the Origin award winner of best game in 1997 and ten years later, I have very little doubt the team at Arc Dream will do it again with the Handler's Guide. This GM-oriented source book provides backstory, rituals, secret history, and much sought after continuity up to our present day in 2017 for what our secret government conspiracy has been up to since it's disbandment in the late 1960s and back to it's reactivation in the 2000s. There is a permeation of writing throughout the book that has you feel as if you are reading a declassified document that is written with such confidence in itself that it's hard not to get sucked in.

Simply put, this is an incredible book. The materials proffered to the Handler are significant. Details on important figures throughout the agency's storied history, rituals that agents may come across in the field being used against them (or, in a dire case, by them), history that allows you to plan your scenario or campaign, and tons more. If you had ever been a fan of the Delta Green property, you would do yourself a disservice by not having this in your collection for the materials within. Even if you are not a fan of the setting (though, how could you not be?), this is a well-written and well-presented book that has a place on anybody's shelf if you have any interested in running a conspiracy based game at all.

The art? There's absolutely everything to say about the art by Dennis Detwiller. Each piece providing thought prompt of what unnatural and unearthly phenomenon wracks the depicted. It's gorgeous, thoughtful, and can be terrifying to some. The best way to describe it is that it fits with the game and the setting.

In conclusion, great book, worth the price, and certainly worth the 1d10 SAN loss.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Handler's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: Handler's Guide
by Paul H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2017 15:37:11

I'll write a full review over the next couple of days. For now it must suffice to say that this is the sine qua non of modern horror roleplaying. Delta Green is a labour of love on behalf of its authors over the decades and ths release, combined with the Agents Handbook is the ultimate expression of that care and craft. its the most elegantly refined implementation of the classic d100 system that has powered Call of Cthulhu and many others for nigh on 40 years. But this is its own thing, a perfectly tailored beast designed for simulating and breaking, piece by piece those brave, desperate fools who confront the Unnatural and try to get a win, any win as humanity careens towards apocalypse. Its about the fight. Its about the mst terror inducing, fucking creepy thing I've ever run. There are things in this game that really unnerve me and i want to share them with my friends. I can think of little higher praise. i implore you to get this game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Agent's Handbook
by Bernardo E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2017 13:19:33

Had an opportunity to play Delta Green at Big Bad Con a few weeks ,ago. Get this game! If you like Tom Clancy and the Xfiles, then this is the game for you! It's got great mechanics where the focus is the story. I was fortunate that we had 6 players so it was a great dynamic. I'm looking forward to the upcoming Handler's Book!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Agent's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Sense of the Sleight-of-Hand Man: A Dreamlands Campaign for Call of Cthulhu
by Erik B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2017 14:26:26

This so called campaign, I'd say more of a grand private dimension of descriptive brainstorming about how both horrid and beautiful the Dreamlands can be, is made in a way as if David Lynch (the Twin Peaks director) would've suddenly decided to write a Call of Cthulhu setting and meandering story for the game of the same name. BUT. The really fantastic thing above all is how astonishing the photo-realistic drawings are! I cannot begin to emphasize enough how those drawings (or paintings?) add to the overall feeling of the book and its written contents. I am breathless. If the book had been made without the drawings/paintings it would still rank highly as an atmospheric text on the setting and general lands of dreams, and doubly so as it also conveys new and constructive ideas on how RPG rules on dreaming can be constructed to actually convey a true feeling of doing just that! But as the book also includes the pictures, it makes the weird and otherworldly feelings of the place bleed off onto - and under -the reader's skin, creating a crawling sensation of being there, confronted with things no sane mind was meant to see.

The one complaint I have against the overall product of this book is that there's not enough sense of investigative purpose for the player characters because of an endless string of survival tests. Atleast I don't think there is, I haven't run this with my Call of Cthulhu player friends. But what I mean is, even if you are in a nightmare dreaming and suffering in strange surroundings, you don't stop fighting against the forces of horror. You want to live! But because that becomes a central focus for the players during most of the campaign, the sense of wonder I dread will fast trickle off and be replaced with dull matters of defense. And matters of defense in that manner tends to be expressed in mucho talk of game mechanics, in other words: the death of roleplaying and general feel of weirdness. The weirdness that the author of this campaign so aptly has constructed rules for, for that exact purpose! In this way the campaign, I fear, will work against itself. So I wonder: how much was i play-tested before creation?

To conclude: I am steadfastly recommending all GMs of H.P. Lovecraft RPGs to go buy this book. It is a wonder. Something that actually grows its own 'static field of weirdness' on the shelf that it ends up on. Because it's that good. But to really reach the potential it could've had, it need one heck of a Keeper/gamemaster to make it just that, in spite of all the good things it holds.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sense of the Sleight-of-Hand Man: A Dreamlands Campaign for Call of Cthulhu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: Need to Know
by larry h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2017 19:11:25

The little book has all the basic info and an introductory adventure, thats a great deal! It has a short overview of Delta Green, a How to be a Player section, How to be a Handler section, characters and character creation, and a chunk of pages on the game system and how to apply it. There's combat, damage, death, sanity, insanity, bonds and then the last section of the book is the adventure "Last Things Last". I bought the print version and the handlers screen along with the Delta Green Agents Handbook and cant wait for the Delta Green Handlers book to be out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Need to Know
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: Briefing Documents
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2017 10:46:40

Great product with abbreviated rules needed to play the game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Briefing Documents
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: Extraordinary Renditions
by Mark K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2017 13:49:44

I have been hearing about Delta Green for a while now, listening to a few Roleplay podcasts and getting into the theme of the game. I am interested in running some Delta Green campaigns soon, and someone recommended this book if you were "Wanted to see the progression of the organization through the years." It is a collection of short stories that take place from shortly after the inception of Delta Green all the way up to present day. Each is set about 5~15 years apart. Being multiple short stories by different authors, the book didn't have time to slow down. While I found each one pleasurable in its own way, if one story isn't to your liking, a new one will pop up soon. If you're looking to get a nice, rounded picture of Delta Green, or want some inspiration when you run your own games, these are a fantastic introduction. My only recommendation would be to find a rough timeline of the history of Delta Green. It goes through several organizational changes from the 1920's to today and the stories, while remarking on these changes, do not lay them out explicitly. So having a rough idea of what shape the group is in during the time period each story is set in enhances the plot a bit, but is by no means necessary to enjoy the book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Extraordinary Renditions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: Agent's Handbook
by Edward K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2016 11:49:12

Ring Side Report- RPG Review of Delta Green

Originally posted at www.throatpunchgames.com, a new idea everyday!

Product- Delta Green System-Delta Green Producer-Arc Dream Price- $20.00 here http://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/181674/Delta-Green-Agents-Handbook?affiliate_id=239993 TL; DR-Great RPG with one big problem 87%

Basics- ia ia cthulhu fhtagn- BUT NOW WITH GUNS! Delta Green is Call of Cthulhu if run by the government as secret agencies vie for power and try to keep the horrors from beyond time and space from destroying the world or taking over the United States! Can you handle the truth?

Mechanics or Crunch-Let’s break the mechanics up and give the basics as well as my assessment.

Base Mechanics-Delta Green is a classic percentile based system. You have a skill or an ability rating, and you roll under that number to succeed. As I grow older, I like this no fuss/no muss methods of rolling dice to avoid overly math-y systems.

Difficulty-When a situation is harder or easier than normal, the GM might ask you to add or subtract 10% or 20% to or from your skill or ability total. Again, it’s a simple and easy way to modulate difficulty.

Combat- Combat is basically simple. Characters act in dexterity order from high to low. On your turn you do one action. These actions range from move, shoot, or aim among other things. For actions that require a roll, you roll under a skill as above. There is no given dodge roll if you are attacked. If you haven’t acted in a round, you can forgo your next action to try to dodge an attack by rolling under the attack roll. Damage is a single dice roll that subtracts from a hit point total. Go too low on the hit point total and you pass out. Also, some weapons have a lethality rating. If you roll in that range, the weapon just kills the target in one go!

Personal Life and Sanity- Just like other horror RPG, Delta Green has a sanity system. Characters lose sanity and gain mental illness as they go crazier and crazier dealing with horrors beyond time. This system throws in bonds as a serious component as men and women lose family members, friends, and loved ones. Think of the PTSD struck veteran, but now add the fact that he/she deals with monsters beyond human ken. Players may lose family members or whole families as they slowly go deeper and deeper into the world of Cthulhu slipping away from normal. That level of commitment to roleplaying in the mechanics is awesome.

Advancement-Advancement is a snap in this game as well. When a player attempts a roll in this game and they fail, they mark the skill with an X. At the end of the game session, any skill that you failed that you had at least 1% in, you gain an additional 1%. Also, between sessions, a character can gain 1 in an ability or they can gain 1d10 in a skill if they spend time working on it. If they do, they lose 1 level in a bond as they lose touch with someone they felt was important!

Summary- I really want to like this game more than I do. The addition of solid role-playing psychology makes this a great way to blend the theme and mechanics of a world where things just can’t be and can’t be dealt with rationally. However, combat just makes me irrationally angry. I don’t like systems where you can’t move and act. That’s a minor issue as if all the players and monsters abide by this rule, I can deal. However, the rules as written basically make it better to have a lower dexterity. You get to react to an attack, but people who go fast can’t. I can understand not being able to take your next action if you dodge, but this game penalizes people who go first. Sure, it can be a minor issue if you don’t fight much, and I can deal with not having a dodge roll at all. But, this irks me deeply to my core. Therefore, it’s an ok system with a serious flaw. 3.5/5

Theme or Fluff-I mentioned above how much I love the commitment to theme the game has in its mechanics. This game might even be darker than Call of Cthulhu as this game brings the role of sanity and psychology to the forefront in a very post-9/11 way as the psychology of the soldier is experienced first hand. The book is full of stories and fragments of people trying to handle the unhandable. It’s deep and immersive in a way I can really dig, safely and from afar. 5/5

Execution-This is a well put together book. It flows well, has great art, and the PDF is well done and hyperlinked. I like the index, the layout, and the whole book overall. Some things could use a bit more organization, but the book is an exhaustive reference on both the government and the paranormal for new players. 4.5/5

Summary-Delta Green is a great RPG with one serious flaw. Now, as a gaming group, you can play this however you see fit. It’s a flaw that you can fix by all deciding that this is how the game runs. It’s a flaw I will fix instantly in my tables, but the rules as written make me spitting mad. And it’s just that one part. The rest is amazing. I love the depth of little extra bits that the authors throw in about government jurisdiction and random trivia that are in the book. The art is great and the treatment of psychological factors in our veterans is phenomenal. Sure, this is a just a game, but the level of depth that game goes into to use these conditions as things a person would experience if they experienced Lovecraftian horrors is excellent. I like everything in this EXCEPT one thing. If you can get past that one thing, this is a great RPG that really updates Lovecraft to the post 9/11 world. And since it’s under $20, it’s well worth the look even if you just use it for a guidebook to government organizations in your horror games. 87%



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Agent's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: Agent's Handbook
by Anders H. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2016 13:48:21

The rule system The rules are presented in a clear and concise way and I think they are well adapted to the setting. For those anxious about leaving Call of Cthulhu, I can comfort you with the fact that the new DG rules stay in BRP-land as they are built from the Legend SRD (from Mongoose Publishing). This means that DG now has more in common with all the games derived from the first Mongoose RuneQuest SRD - Mongoose RuneQuest, Legend, RuneQuest 6/Mythras, OpenQuest 2, Renaissance etc. In fact, this game is closer to 6th edition CoC than the new 7th edition CoC rules. Over all, the game is vastly simplified (shorter skill lists, more generic weapon lists and so on) in comparison with the old DG books which had tons of new stuff for CoC. And this is a good thing in my book.

At the same time, some new mechanics get introduced: Critical successes are now 01 and doubles (11, 22, 33 etc) under your skill. So if you have a skill of 40% you will crit as in the example above. At the same, fumbles funcion the same - 00 and doubles over your skill are fumbles (in the example 44, 55, 66, 77, 88 and 00 would be fumbles. I like this system as it allows crits and fumbles to scale after actual skill level. Another new thing is the Luck roll that now is a flat 50% chance that things will go your way. Or not.

Opposed tests are resolved by both parties rolling and the highest success wins, which has been standard in the RuneQuest SRD line of games for many years. Willpower points are also new. They can be thought of as mental fuel or mental hit points. You don't want to run out of them. They are based on POW.

Combat is a bit different than both old DG and new CoC 7th ed. A combat turn is a few seconds long and a PC can make ONE action in that amount of time. If you choose to Parry or Dodge, your action is gone for the combat turn. There are a bunch of combat actions described, both offensive and defensive, allowing for a resonable amount of combat tactics. Another cool new thing is the Lethality Rating for more dangerous weapons. This is basically a % roll to determine if a target survives a hit by the big bad gun. If successful, the target (if human at least) immediately drops to 0 hp. This is to avoid the old rules where you had to roll separately to determine number of hits from autofire which could mean a lot of rolls. If you're not a fan of the Lethality rule, there are also optional rules more in the vein of the old autofire rules.

Good old Sanity has also gotten an overhaul. Basically, there are three conditions that might cause SAN loss - Violence, Helplessness and the Unnatural. This is cool, as now your sanity isn't threatened only by monsters and their kynde, but also by malign actions of other people or feelings of not being able to do something. Very much in the line of what DG is about. Otherwise thresholds are pretty the same: 5 or more SAN in a roll is temporary insanity and 0 SAN is permanent insanity. Sanity Points are POW x 5 as before. The concept of Breaking Point is however new. This is described as SAN minus POW and if your PCs loses SAN below the Breaking Point, they get a Disorder and must reset the Breaking Point to current SAN minus POW. The effects a PC suffer when being temporary insane or having a disorder are very good and designed to both realistic and playable. Another cool thing is that a PC can adapt to violence and helplessness (but never to the unnatural), meaning that being in those situations won't call for a SAN roll any more. However, the PC also loses Charisma and from his or her Bonds. Bonds are also a new concept - it can be the relation with a spouse or kids, or with other agents or groups. Bonds are what connects the PC to humanity. So, losing your Bonds will make you more inhumane and also more susceptible to psychological trauma. This feels realistic and might form a very good basis for role-playing. I must confess that I haven't grasped the concept of Bonds 100% yet, but I guess it will be clearer in actual play.

When it comes to PC wealth, expenses and bying of gear, DG introduces a fairly abstract system where you don't have to track every dollar for your PC. Some stuff are day to day cheap and the game just assume that the PC can afford it. Other things are more expensive or restricted and it's up to the GM to decide if the item is obtainable. I like it, but this is one of the things that must be tested in-game.

The concept Contrary to "standard" Call of Cthulhu, where most investigators are average Joe's and Jane's, DG assumes that the PCs are members of a monster-fighting organization and that most PCs (or Agents as they are called in DG) are employed by some Federal Agency. Consequently, most occupations in the book are just that. Examples are FBI, DEA, the military, CIA and so on. There are also a bunch of more civilian occupations in the book as well as advice on how to creat your own occupations. The old DG books had the US agencies in the core book and then lots of international agencies in the other books, supporting Agents from nearly all countries. The new DG book is focussed solely on US agencies, which I feel is resaonable but I still miss GRU-SV8 (Russian) or PISCES (British). Hopefully, they will be in the forthcoming books from Arc Dream. And I'm so planning to do the Swedish agencies, DG style :)

The verdict The new version of Delta Green promises to be an awesome game. The books released so far are pretty and sturdy, with well-written and appropriate rules for the setting/game concept. If you like old Delta Green I'm sure you'll gonna love new Delta Green. However, for players and GMs new to DG, the Agent's handbook is a bit thin on the DG "mythos". Hopefully, this will be remedied in future publications. And don't forget - the old DG books are now available in PDF form from DriveThruRPG, so they can be mined for ideas, adventures and background.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 106 to 120 (of 250 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates