DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Hard Wired Island
by Kai T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2021 05:07:58

Hard Wired Island is cyberpunk that actually examines what it means to be a cyberpunk game beyond lots of neon, robot arms, and doing corporate espionage for money. During the Kickstarter for the game, the creators laid out their vision of what makes good cyberpunk, which includes things like the consequences of technology without ethics, perspectives focused on marginalized people fighting back against a status quo with nothing but disregard for them, and relevance to the issues that people face today in our own cyberpunk present.

Some people seem to think that a cyberpunk game that draws pointed attentions to issues like disability advocacy, corporate overreach, marginalization, and gentrification is being "too preachy" about things, but I'm posting this review about a day after the US Supreme Court ruled in favor of several corporations facing charges of using child slavery, so I find it kind of difficult to agree with the idea that a cyberpunk game can actually overstate just how badly capitalism wants nothing more than to grind people between its gears to extract the slightest bit of increased value it can out of their blood and suffering.

Hard Wired Island's examination of the miseries capitalism loves to inflict for profit comes through the lens of a near future retro-anime inspired tomorrow that never was. In the aftermath of a devastating asteroid strike against the earth, the world's nations briefly banded together to create an off-world habitat capable of sustaining a sizable human population in order to prevent further such disasters from threatening the extinction of humanity as a whole. This habitat, Grand Cross Station, is now at the center of a struggle between the station and its residents and a consortium of corporate interests who want nothing more than to export and entrench the worst capitalism has to offer, privatizing infrastructure, buying politicians, pushing out locally owned businesses, and widening the wealth gap.

In Hard Wired Island, players won't be taking on the role of hardened cyber-mercenaries doing assassinations for nameless middlemen on behalf of corporations. Instead, HWI puts you in the role of characters who are fighting back against corporate encroachment upon your home. You have a familiar array of archetypes at your disposal, including hackers, social (media) butterflies, street fighters, soldiers, and technical experts, but the emphasis of the game is placed squarely on fighting The Man rather than working for him. Hacking and social engineering are recommended over resorting to violence, though there are also rules for combat, and characters can employ a variety of abilities, equipment, and cybernetic enhancements (which don't erode their soul, but can make dealing with periodic "economic shocks" more difficult as you have more bills to pay for maintenance and repairs) to accomplish their goals.

One of HWI's biggest draws is the setting, giving a richly detailed breakdown of Grand Cross Station's many districts and points of interest. There's enough information here for you to run a dozen games and never run out of places, people, or plot hooks. Attention is given to places that players are likely to want to explore during games, so in addition to universities, museums, and corporate offices there are also hole in the wall restaurants, cafes (with or without maids), arcades, game stores, underground doctors, fast food places, nightlife spots, and various fronts for organized crime. The game also comes with a scenario framework you can structure a campaign around, dealing with a corporate conspiracy surrounding the alien-minded Dreamers, next-generation artificial intelligences which have escaped into the station.

I'm skipping over a lot of details both in terms of mechanics and setting because HWI is a dense 400 page game, there's too much to hope to comprehensively cover in a review and frankly the game's own writers are better at covering those points than I am, but if you're a fan of cyberpunk gaming and the usual suspects have grown stale, then this game is well worth the asking price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hard Wired Island
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hard Wired Island
by Sebastian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2021 16:42:05

This rpg is sacrificing its sci fi world building for its shallow political message. (big corporations are bad. cyberpunk has been around for decades, we know!)
I tried to ignore it as best as i could, but sadly its just too obnoxius. when i read how uncaring corporations dont care about rules for desabled accessibility in buildings i could not continue reading. its a space station with androids and full body cybernetic replacements covered by health insurance. as if anybody would care about accessibility.

3 stars because the rules are not bad, and the scenario is intresting



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Hard Wired Island
by Seamus C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2021 19:40:54

"With firm pillars grounding it in the genre it wants to embody, easy to understand rules, and a vibrant setting, Hard Wired Island is worth any cyberpunk’s time to check out." - Seamus Conneely

Read the full CHG review here: https://cannibalhalflinggaming.com/2021/06/04/hard-wired-island-review-hard-luck-cyberpunks-at-lagrange-5/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hard Wired Island
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2021 09:22:33

The best cyberpunk rpg I've ever seen when it comes to nailing the street level ethics of the genre. HWI wears its politics on its sleaves and is about people fighting for a better future against impossible odds. An excellent book all around!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hard Wired Island
by Joshua W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2021 08:20:26

Angel's Citadel just reviewed this 400 pages of gritty cyberpunk goodness here: https://angelscitadel.com/2021/05/14/review-hard-wired-island/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hard Wired Island
by Zachary K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2021 12:37:44

I'm rating this 5 stars, but consider this more of an impressions after skimming through the book than a super-thorough review.

Pros

  • Abstracts wealth and focusing on the socio-economic impact of cybernetics rather than losing your soul or sanity (THANK YOU!!!!)
  • Socializing and sneaking are just as mechanically interesting as fighting
  • Amazing artwork and cool setting
  • If Apocalypse World is Light Crunch and Pathfinder 2e is Heavy Crunch, I'd say that this is a comfortable Medium-Light Crunch. Some healthy mechanical depth to it but remains accessible and doesn't drown you in math

Cons

  • Artwork is sparse
  • Some of the rules could be more clearly stated/laid out to make referencing easier (I'm still a bit confused as to how many dice I roll on tests, but I'd bet I just overlooked something)

So super good stuff, and a great take on a more hopeful cyberpunk future. Give it a look - I haven't regretted spending any money on this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hard Wired Island
by Arnd K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2021 10:06:22

one of several 'new (synth)wave' cyberpunk games, hard wired island offers a clever, insightful alternative to the traditional neon-lit guns and trenchcoat game. It should provide ample inspiration for anyone looking to play a game about people trying to exist on the margins of a dystopian society, emphasising the human element over the technological.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hard Wired Island
by Hector C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2021 12:44:43

Simply Amazing and unlike the vast majorities of other Cyberpunk RPGS, Playable!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Edgy Designer - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Taryn F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/01/2015 16:47:26

Finally, an RPG supplement which understands that fedora-wearing white guys are the REAL oppressed minority! It even lets them bring their Ren Faire sword and armour into the World of Dungeons, and strike away at their Social Justice Warrior foes with either steel or cutting words before retreating to their Google+ safe space.

The only real downside is that, as we all know, Dungeon World is Not A Real RPG. And so the people that this was made for will never know the joke, I mean joy, of True Old School Gaming with a character made just for them.

Fortunately, it's Creative Commons licensed! So a True Old School GM can easily pick up the material and concepts in this PDF, and create an Old School class based on it, with gender- and racial- based prime requisites instead of ability scores. I recommend a d20 Hit Die, double the normal starting gear, and an EXP progression which is faster than any other class', but with class features that stop working if the Edgy Designer realizes that he has an unfair advantage.

Multiclassing with Paladin would be optional, but recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Edgy Designer - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Edgy Designer - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2014 05:28:56

This is the #5 hottest today(26th May 2014)?

If it was actually turned into satire and made to fit into most DW games without making focus on the character force discussion in a certain direction, it'd be pretty cool. Coulda been used to portray veterans turned bards from a time of major racial war or a , but nope has to be google minus, blogging, true gaming bingo bongo what's immersion.

It's too unsubtle for satire and is only like 10 moves long, and the mechanics are kinda misordered. You need at least level 2 to use the class beyond set games, and like level 6 to avoid being That Guy nearly automatically by using this playbook (and why would you that). If someone does manage to take and play this with what can be considered and average DW group without either killing or pissing off the group, in a game not tailored around this playbook, then good on you.

On the other hand, FATE core or accelerated are pay-what-you-want, as is Beyond by Zero Point Information (no association), Always/Never/Now by Will Hindmarch(no association), or even a ponyfinder expansion or two (no association, again). Each of these can be easily used to explore the themes this is trying to, but better and cheaper. Do yourself a favour and celebrate terrible designers by picking up work by good designers and enjoying a good game while laughing at the bad ones.

2/5, some of the moves are kinda cool and I laughed, but so much wasted potential. Keeping the review short to avoid grog.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Edgy Designer - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Darren H M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2014 15:23:01

It makes my half of the FATAL review look like a wet bag of marbles.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Edgy Designer - A Dungeon World Playbook
by John V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2014 11:08:26

A one-off joke based on the stupidity of certain designers, but a hilarious one. Even better, this it is even slightly playable for a more goofy game of Dungeon World.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Edgy Designer - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Tyler B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2014 10:26:19

I give this a single star on principle, as this entire fiasco is essentially a pay-per-view slap fight.

I will never use any of this content in a Dungeon World game because it's so ludicrously topical and trite it may as well be a glorified Facebook post. That they asked for money at all is in insult - professionalism is absent from this.

I am ashamed as a tabletop hobbyist and saddened to see such pettiness and rank immaturity between publishers.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Edgy Designer - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Dennis S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/22/2014 13:06:43

Absolutely worth the dollar for the laughs. If you've been in the hobby for any amount of time you've seen people like this; and if like me you roll your eyes right up into orbit whenever they appear, this is a thing of beauty.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates