DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
WFRP - Hell Rides to Hallt
by Maurice e. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2021 07:42:59

(for the TL:DR see bottom of review) I have been a WFRP player since 1995 and a gamemaster (GM) for WFRP since 1996. I've been a demonstration GM since 1998 and I visit local conventions and gaming groups when people want me to explain WFRP to them. To do so, I play short sessions up to 4 hours and use these sessions to let people have a peek in the grim and perilous world of Warhammer. I have played 2nd edition and still play 1st edition and 4th edition. I feel I must write this because when I play a demo game I usually do one of two things: I use the short scenario made by Anthony Ragan called "To love or die in Marienburg" or I create a small scenario myself.

Untill now.

Hell rides to Hallt is a short scenario that actually has it all. The Grim, old Folkore style atmosphere sucks the players right in. And it does not matter if they are hardcore WFRP players or people who take their first steps into roleplaying alltogether. The main plot is carefully laid out, but there are very interesting sub-plots that keep the players busy too. As a GM, you can easily switch between the plots, feeding the players information and setting a tense, chilling setting in the town of Hallt. The antagonist is very well written, with lots of mysteries and secrets that the players need to find out. The main characters of the story all have deep histories and are tied together by a dark secret that is just waiting for the player characters to find out. All this info is ready for the GM at a glance and the layout of the story is written in such a way that it is very easy to play the scenario without much planning or having to write things down. The images are suited for the story and add that extra detail to the horror that is being placed upon the player characters. And here, to my opinion, lies the only drawback of the scenario. I find this is not for the faint of heart or very young players. My belief is that this should be played on Halloween and this scenario just begs to be "Sleepy Hollow"-esque in setting. You can water it down and make it less scary, but to truly appreciate this scenario, one must have the stomach to see a few "heads roll". This is, ultimately, up to the GM and I have heard people playing this scenario with 8 year old players.

I have played this scenario 7 times, 2 times with my hardcore gaming group of 18 years. And people just love it. The immersion is instant and stays there untill the scenario finishes. My own group demanded we play Hell rides to Hallt again with different characters, as they wanted to make sure they got all the extra secrets and plot twists right.

TL:DR: pro:

  • short scenario, making it easy to play in one evening.
  • highly adaptable, plots are all linked and can be given more prio at will. this scenario can be instered into your campaign at any time.
  • dark, gritty setting with a whiff of old folklore
  • replayable
  • handy layout in the book with cool images

con:

  • not really suited for young players or the faint of heart. (can be watered down in level of scaryness though)

Hell rides to Hallt is a must have in the digital library of every GM. If this scenario would be double the price, I would STILL reccomend it.

Maurice



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP - Hell Rides to Hallt
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Starter Set
by Scott H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2021 15:18:31
I have enjoyed looking through the set, and the adventure is interesting and possibly quite entertaining to run . I like the feel and tone they have brought to Warhammer. Most of concern revoles around Editing and as many have said and a map would be nice. I am sure this will be fixed in the new year. I am happy with the purchase. The above problems have been fixed. Thank you

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Starter Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Maps are up now.
Warhammer Age of Sigmar Soulbound: Bestiary
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2021 16:53:14

A great bestiary full of a wide variety of creatures and antagonists with innovative, flavorful mechanics.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Age of Sigmar Soulbound: Bestiary
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wrath & Glory - Forsaken System Player's Guide
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2021 14:21:19

The majority of the book details the default system setting, the Gilead System. The planets all have several sidebars with adventure hooks, and the factions and patrons have lots of info such as relationships with other factions and sample mission types to help the GM use the lore information when planning an adventure. It all seems much more useful than just lore information, however if you aren't planning on running a game in the Gilead system you might not get as much out of these sections.

The character options are welcome additions. It is good to have lower tier options for techpriests and inquisitors, and the additional space marine options are necessisarry if you want to run a purely space marine game. However I'm still waiting on the Adeptus Arbites to make an appearance.

I always like to see games add downtime rules, and the Endevours rules seem simple enough that they won't get in the way or take too much game time to resolve.

The main thing keeping the Forsaken System Player's Guide from being a 5/5 for me is that it needs some more editing. After my first readthrough I noticed several errors or just confusingly worded paragraphs that need fixing. I'm going to give Cubicle 7 the benefit of the doubt that they will use their errata submission system to good effect and these issues will be fixed in the future.

Update: I am going to change my review from 4/5 to 5/5. After an update my initial issues with the editing seemed to all be corrected. I'm glad to see a quick update and the errata feedback system put to good use.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wrath & Glory - Forsaken System Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wrath & Glory: Litanies of The Lost
by Jacob S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2021 13:13:20

Overall now that the four adventures for litanies have been released I feel like it's a good time to give it a review.

The adventures are all solid stopping off points and introduce new bits and pieces into any Wrath & Glory game.

Below are some other reviews of just what is included in the various adventures (spoilers are included so be warned):

Duty Beyond Death: A horror adventure where you must discern the mysterious circumstances of a manufactorum shutting down and outrun the various threats therein.

https://old.reddit.com/r/40krpg/comments/kg67y3/duty_beyond_death_what_do_you_get/

Dark Bidding: A stasis coffin has gone missing on a forge world and the mysterious contents are paramount to be returned.

https://old.reddit.com/r/40krpg/comments/ldn5ry/wg_dark_bidding_what_do_you_get/

Vow of Silence: A lone cathedral to the creed has stopped contact (not that there was much when all the monks have a vow of silence) however when a holy relic needs to be retrieved from the place you are sent to find out what's going on.

https://old.reddit.com/r/40krpg/comments/lynlb3/vow_of_silence_what_do_you_get/

Grim Harvest: An agri-world is having strange disappearances and as tensions rise in the settlements between the various adeptus of the valley the pcs are tasked with sorting events out.

https://old.reddit.com/r/40krpg/comments/m3vask/grim_harvest_what_do_you_get_spoilers/

Personally, the bestiary entires alone make the adventure collection worth it, but all of the adventures are for low tiers, which makes this a 4 star for me.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wrath & Glory: Litanies of The Lost
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Age of Sigmar: Soulbound Champions of Order
by Jose d. p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2021 11:03:04

Lo compré y lo encontré fascinante. Mucha información y contenido. Excelente trabajo con los nuevos arquetipos y la nueva facción de Lumineth. El capítulo que más agradecieron mis jugadores es el de los Endeavours (empresas en español), da demasiadas opciones para rolear a gusto.

Excelente producto.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Age of Sigmar: Soulbound Champions of Order
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Age of Sigmar: Soulbound Champions of Order
by Christopher N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2021 23:50:57

This book is full of excellent player-facing material that will enhance play experience both on its own and by way of inspiration for homebrewed content. The additional guidance on constructing goals is helpful for new and old players alike, and the backgrounds and related mechanics add further depth to character origins and the mortal realms as a whole.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Age of Sigmar: Soulbound Champions of Order
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2021 12:58:25

This is a great supplement for both players and GMs. It is primarily for players, with lots of options for character creation, advancement, and ideas during play. However, the background on the world and rich thematic substance of the book makes it fertile soil for adventure ideas and other GMing tools. I am currently both GMing and playing Soulbound between two different groups, and am extremely excited about this book from both perspectives. The rest of the group has been extremely hyped by the release as well.

Overall, I would consider this part of my gold standard in player supplements, and eagerly await the rest of the line with this as an entry.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wrath & Glory - Forsaken System Player's Guide
by Philip C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2021 07:29:46

Book adds much more detail and expands on many of the source material presented in the Core Rulebook. It does concentrate on the Imperium and the core six planets of the system which is not a bad thing and I am looking forward to another expansion for the Xenos, Traitros and Heretics.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wrath & Glory - Forsaken System Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Age of Sigmar: Soulbound Starter Set
by Jay S. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/11/2021 06:59:03

Age of Sigmar is a setting full of potential, and the Starter Set manages to communicate it well to new play groups. There’s a boatload of support for a new GM, from reference sheets, to well designed character sheets, and a full guide to the city that can fuel an entire campaign.

The Faltering Light adventure is cinematic and full of interesting things that play up the mysterious nature of Brightspear, but might benefit from being the second thing you play, shortly after you’ve had a low-stakes adventure involving exploring the city, for example. With a better emotional investment in the city, the events in Faltering Light suddenly become much more interesting in play.

For it’s price, you’re getting a ton of value, and enough gameplay to inform you of whether or not you want to commit to the Soulbound RPG line by Cubicle7. My experience in running this adventure twice has convinced me that I’m going to have a lot of fun with it and I hope you’ll also give it a chance.

This is an exerpt from a longer review. To see the whole thing, please visit https://philgamer.wordpress.com/2021/02/11/review-warhammer-age-of-sigmar-soulbound-starter-set/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Age of Sigmar: Soulbound Starter Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wrath & Glory - Forsaken System Player's Guide
by delfino g. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2021 07:21:32

easily worth the money for 20 new Archetypes. the fluff they add to the Gilead System was super fun. would reccomend 10/10



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wrath & Glory - Forsaken System Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Age of Sigmar Soulbound Rulebook
by Jay S. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/04/2021 10:55:40

Warhammer Age of Sigmar Roleplay: Soulbound is a stellar product that gives me great hope for the Soulbound RPG line. Cubicle 7 has done a great job in bringing the setting to an RPG format, and in a manner that feels heroic, while keeping the desperate tone of the setting.

The rules are quite a bit for new GMs, but they draw inspiration from sources that are familiar to those who are used to systems like 2d20 and the World of Darkness and should be an easy transition to those who’ve played or run such games. Even the Doom mechanic feels like a similar element from Deadlands.

That said, a game is more than just it’s mechanics, and Soulbound offers a unique fantasy setting to explore that isn’t about just dungeon delving. And with so much more of the setting to explore past those options in the core book, Cubicle 7 has a lot more surprises in store.

If you’re interested in near-mythic heroes fighting against the tide of darkness, but without the tired tropes of D&D and the anime-inpired trappings of Exalted, then Age of Sigmar might just be up your alley.

Personally, it’s a purchase I do not regret at all, and I have a good feeling that Age of Sigmar will be one of the games I’ll be offering up for my home games very soon.

This is an excerpt of my full review, which you can find at: https://philgamer.wordpress.com/2021/01/16/review-warhammer-age-of-sigmar-roleplay-soulbound/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Age of Sigmar Soulbound Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP Monuments of the Reikland
by Jiri P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2021 09:49:02

I fail to see the appeal of a product like this. Each of the monuments gets a two-page writeup. Most of it us history and other background lore which you have no way of actually getting into play, unless you want to read bedtime stories to your players. Then you get two or so generic hooks on how to use it in your adventures - but these would require significant preparation and work. There are also a few mechanical elements (an item, a random table or two) - these are the only gameable elements but there's not many of them. There are no maps, despite the fact that some of the locations are essentially buildings or minidungeons.

I was hoping I would get a couple of playable locations, ready to be inserted into a game at any time. Something like Buildings of the Reikland, which are great. Instead I got a storybook with homework attached. Not my kind of RPG product, I'm afraid.

It would be an OK product for a free blogpost but unfortunatelly I spent money on this.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP Monuments of the Reikland
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP Monuments of the Reikland
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2021 17:16:10

The secrets are fun and potentially dramatic, tying in to various campaign lore, with two to three adventure hooks each, some more immediate than others.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in Middle-earth - Bree-land Region Guide
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2021 16:43:50

I initially thought that this would be a good supplement but my least favourite of AIME. After reading and using it, however, I rate as much better. There is some information on the Bree area (not a lot) but it also provides information on important NPCs that you can use in your own adventures. There are local enemies and journey events. About half the book is three long and enjoyable adventures. This book made me enjoy greatly a region that I never found particularly appealing for adventures. I think it provides a better starting point for new players than the Mirkwood campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in Middle-earth - Bree-land Region Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 760 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates