DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
WFRP Monuments of the Reikland
by Jiri P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2021 04:21:41

I fail to see the appeal of a product like this. Each of the monuments gets a two-page writeup. Most of it us history and other background lore which you have no way of actually getting into play, unless you want to read bedtime stories to your players. Then you get two or so generic hooks on how to use it in your adventures - but these would require significant preparation and work. There are also a few mechanical elements (an item, a random table or two) - these are the only gameable elements but there's not many of them. There are no maps, despite the fact that some of the locations are essentially buildings or minidungeons.

I was hoping I would get a couple of playable locations, ready to be inserted into a game at any time. Something like Buildings of the Reikland, which are great. Instead I got a storybook with homework attached. Not my kind of RPG product, I'm afraid.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP Monuments of the Reikland
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP Shrines of Sigmar
by Kenneth D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2021 11:32:28

It is hard to fault this kind of product from Cubicle 7. Short and sweet but also cost effective; ‘Shrines of Sigmar’ is an invaluable pick up for GM’s who want to add a little extra to an ongoing campaign. Each could be plugged to enlighten the drabbest of journeys between adventures. Each shrine has a section describing how it is understood and perceived by the general local inhabitants and also a section on the secrets they hold. In typical Warhammer fashion, these secrets veer from the ill-understood, the undead, to cultic conspiracies and of course to outright charlatanry. I am pleased they made the decision to include some rarer Old World critters such as Dryads which add to the overall flavour.

The art and quality is great, even if some of the art is repeated from other books. ‘Shrines of Sigmar’ is a fantastic compliment to any WFRP collection and it serves as a nice morsal until their next big release.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP Shrines of Sigmar
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wrath & Glory: Litanies of The Lost
by James P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2021 10:20:18

The first misson "Death beyond duty" has had my players gripped from the word go. Wow, it's perfectly captured the 40k grimdark feeling and the overall plot premise is great. I'd say my players only have a single session before we complete, but they have already asked for me to start homebrewing a follow on adventure (which depending on the choices the player take in this supplement, there's loads of avenues to go off and explore).

The first mission is a bit "on-rails" to start, as it see's players exploring a Manufacotrum. But it's a perfect introduction to the game and the 40k setting in general. Could not recommend enough!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wrath & Glory: Litanies of The Lost
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wrath & Glory: Core Rules
by James P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2021 10:17:07

The Cubicle 7 version of this system is amazing fun. For those who have a really deep understanding of the 40k universe and want a full on "GrimDark" adventure I can honestly say this is the best RPG you could pick up. The handling of power levels is really well done and although it does require your players to form a party that makes sense within the lore, if you are all on the same page it works great. My players have been loving it. We're playing the first mission of the new Litanies of The Lost campaign book - Damn it's dark and god Damn it's an amazing 40k experience!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wrath & Glory: Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP Gamemaster's Screen
by Eric B. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2020 16:57:35

It's one of the most beautiful screen I ever see. Seriously, it look great. It's a masterpiece. Unfortunaly, the screen is a four-panel portrait-style instead of a landscape one, wich is more pratical because it help keeping contact with the rest of your players. The panel are sturdy and of great quality. The GM Booklet is a gem and a nice addition.

Why I only give two stars now? Well, the function of a GM screen is to help the GM to run his game, to keep the flow. And this screen do it pretty poorly because it don't include the Combat Difficulty Table, wich is the number one reason to use a GM screen in the first place. Instead, you got a bunch of table that you use only between game session.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP Gamemaster's Screen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wrath & Glory: Core Rules
by Th G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2020 05:26:12

As a veteran 40k -er and 40k RPG GM, If I had to describe my experience of Wrath and Glory with a single word, that word would be; Disappointing

My first impression was not particularly positive - Starships slower than aircraft, and with shorter ranges than artillery was an interesting choice - that flew in the face of all lore.

They have reworked it substantially, and removed starships. So here are my thoughts on the second release.

First: Much content, barring the new setting content, is verbatim from the other 40k rpgs - psychic powers, perils of the warp, descriptions, etc.

Second: It covers pretty much everything, very thinly. It also, in my opinion, sacrifices much of the quintessential 40k character in the process.

Third: The rules. It is not a bad ruleset. It is slightly more complex than the base d100 ruleset used in the other RPG’s - featuring dicepools, and is d6 based. This makes the probabilities harder to estimate, than the other system. Overall impression of the rules and running the game, is that if you told me this was a reskinned FATE/Shadowrun with a few 40k tables, I would believe you. The biggest problem for me is that it is NOT compatible with the previous 90+ books of 40k RPG content. Suffice to say I have little reason - or way - to incorporate this into my ongoing campaign.

So, Pros:

  • Good if you have a lot of d6’s
  • Covers a lot in a small space
  • Good for quick, simple campaigns
  • Has some new setting content

Cons:

  • incompatible with the other 40k RPG systems (why???)
  • ...despite reusing much of the content, verbatim in some cases, bringing little new to the table
  • Shallow: would not recommend for extended campaigns

Final comments: I purchased this so you do not have to. The other 40k RPG’s are far more atmospheric and content rich, even comparing Rulebook for Rulebook - rather than comparing the entire series, which would be unfair. W&G brings little new to the table barring a new rulesystem, and does not really build on previous 40k RPG success by dint of incompatibility. If this was published in a world with no 40k rpgs, and purely in comparison to other RPG systems, I would award this a solid 4 stars. In light of the existence of the other 40k RPG’s, it is not favourably comparible. Supporters may point to community content for W&G, but more often than not, this is simply converted content from the other RPG’s. Some others may suggest that W&G is also more flexible and adaptible, and simpler than the other system, but this is simply not the case - the core rules are of similar complexity. As such, W&G is deserving of 2 stars at the moment.

Should there be a substantial offering vis compatibility, and a greater focus on setting, atmosphere, and so on, this has the potential to be a decent addition.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Wrath & Glory: Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP Gamemaster's Screen
by Dmitrii T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2020 23:30:03

A useful guide to the rules and the world in a very convenient form.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP Gamemaster's Screen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP: Middenheim: City of the White Wolf
by Randford B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2020 23:13:33

A useful setting book. Excellent production values. Any book that lets you know what restaurants are the best ones in the setting is one that shares my priorities.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP: Middenheim: City of the White Wolf
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP Ubersreik Adventures - If Looks Could Kill
by Jiri P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2020 02:26:49

The author has no actual idea how to write an adventure. To read this is pain. The adventure is presented as a blatant railroad and written as a series of cutscenes, which drag on and give no opportunity for actually doing anything but listen to the NPCs and enjoy the scenery. The text is unusable, presented as wall-of-text paragraphs that haphazardly combine a place description here, an NPC and its goals there, interspersed by some events, quotes, then another location... just horrible. Unusable unless the players follow the scripted sequence exactly.

So: A young trader and his business partner are building a mill in a supposedly haunted swamp. They hire the adventurers to do exciting adventurous work, eg. "guard these crates and dig up some standing stones" because their Strigany labourers refuse to touch them. This brings us to about the half of the adventure, and finally something starts happening. Things take turn to the worse... in a different way than you might expect. There's scheming, a conflict with the "beast", possibly even a moral dilemma.

Overall, there's some talking and two fights.

There's a solid encounter buried underneath all this dredge. The work camp contains several colourful NPCs with various conflicts and secrets which may be used in play. There are couple of nice treasures, and a nice idea including the usage of success levels to "fail forward" while digging up the stones. And the actual finale, when things go bad, seems enjoyable. I can see myself using this as a complex encounter while travelling or as a random hook inside a larger sandbox – but I will have to hack the thing apart mercilessly and destroy the dreadful railroaded structure. You can hardly call this an "adventure", and it has no right to have 26 pages. God!

At least it's free. (Unfortunately, I actually paid for is as part of the hardcover collection.)



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP Ubersreik Adventures - If Looks Could Kill
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP Monuments of the Reikland
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2020 11:53:17

[Note: Recieved as a gift and so five-starred as a courtesy] Monuments is exactly what is says on the label, no more or less. five landmarks you can use in your own adventures to drive adventures or simpyl ad flavor to your campagns in the old world. Each comes with a pre-written adventure idea and some details to push it, but are not by themselves enough to run as adventures without signifigant GM addition. this is probably the weakest part of the document as well, as the adventure hooks are designed to ply into the story and not to draw in the party so they are often things that will resolve themselves if the adventurers ignore them or decide to "deal with it later. The art is on par with the rest of modern WFRP's standards. Good if you find yourself needing a few sessions to handle the fallout of the party's nonsense during their regular campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP Monuments of the Reikland
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Starter Set
by Gervasio L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2020 15:26:25

The Starter Set is the most worthy product Cubicle 7 has released for Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay so far. In it, on top of having an intro designed both for new roleplayers and people new to Warhammer or this system, it includes a massive ammount of source material fleshing out the City of Ubersreik, and most of them work as nodes for intertwining with other material that has been released too. Add a couple of astonishing looking d100 dice, and you just can't avoid this product.

PS: The box doubles down as a mini GM Screen, and once you get the actual GM Screen product, it fits perfectly in the Starter Set box.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Starter Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
by Gervasio L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2020 15:22:59

I haven't played the previous editions of this game, but I do come from Blood Bowl and Warhammer Fantasy Battles, and I have 18 years experience as a Game Master, and I must say that this is the best RPG I've ever play. If you love the Warhammer Fantasy World, or grim dark fantasy in general (be it Dark Sun, Ravenloft or Cthulhu), you will love this game. It has just the ammount of comedy that grim dark needs, like when you add a sprinkle of salt over a good bitter chocolate.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP Ubersreik Adventures - Guilty Party
by Gervasio L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2020 15:19:53

I found this module to be kind of lacking. It was announced as a perfect segway between your Ubersreik action (be it Starter Set, UAs or Rough Nights) and Enemy in Shadows, but in order to use it in this way and actually having fun on the way, it requires a lot of tweaking. If you're buying it bundled with the other modules in UAs2, go ahead, but if you plan to get it just to link your Ubersreik campaign with Enemy in Shadows, use the hooks suggested in the Companion instead. It does flesh out the region between Ubersreik and Altdorf a bit though, which is nice.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP Ubersreik Adventures - Guilty Party
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP Ubersreik Adventures
by Gervasio L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2020 15:16:11

I've already made reviews for the modules contained in this bundle individually, but let me just tell you that this is great content which has a huge synergy with the Starter Set. The actual book also includes ways to intertwine each adventure with other releases, which I don't think is included if you buy the modules separately or bundled (but I can't confirm this).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP Ubersreik Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP Ubersreik Adventures [BUNDLE]
by Gervasio L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2020 15:15:27

I've already made reviews for the modules contained in this bundle individually, but let me just tell you that this is great content which has a huge synergy with the Starter Set. The actual book also includes ways to intertwine each adventure with other releases, which I don't think is included if you buy the modules separately or bundled (but I can't confirm this).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP Ubersreik Adventures [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 746 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates