DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rough Nights and Hard Days
by Lance A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2019 09:42:29

I am very pleased with the way this turned out. I'm a huge WFRP fan, so there was no doubt I was ever going to get this, but the end product really blew me away. The 5 adventures are all fun reads and have a great underlying story. They just look fun to play!

The book also includes amazing art and maps! Oh the building maps! Including an opera house and a castle! They will be heavily used!

In addition, the book includes notes on how to fit these adventures into the upcoming Enemy Within campaign as well as how to use it as a mini-campaign or just simple one-shots.

Lastly, Gnome rules and a history that MAKES SENSE in the Warhammer world. And over a dozen pub games that look like lots of fun to have in your taverns while you are also making your players do Consume Alcohol tests!

This is well worth the cost even if you don't plan to run all of the Adventures!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rough Nights and Hard Days
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rough Nights and Hard Days
by Eoin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2019 08:32:48

As the first full adventure collection for the 4th edition of WHFRP, Rough Nights and Hard Days has a demanding legacy to live up to. WHFRP has had many excellent campaigns and adventures over the years and the original Rough Night at the Three Feathers adventure is deservedly much beloved having been printed in both 1st and 2nd edition. This new version may be the definitive production. Rough Nights innovative approach is to have the characters embroiled in a series of plots enacted over one night in the eponymous Three Feather pub. These plotlines intertwine across a strict timeline of events with the players able to interfere and throw matters out of kilter. It results in a madcap romp of murder, mischief and mayhem. It rewards careful GM preparation and possibly a literal timer on the adventure. The other four llnked adventures then expand on this formula with the players optionally becoming a retinue to one NPC who takes them through the next adventures which are all set to a similar tempo. A single location, in which multiple plots advance along a timeline. Run as a campaign it would make a great little narrative, however the locational focus means each one can be dropped into an existing campaign as palate cleansing interlude. It's a very satisying product to read, the presentation and editing are all tight, the illustrations evocative, funny and high quality, and the colourful NPCs furnished with short roleplaying notes and known intolerances for the GM to reference on the fly. Enhancing the value of the product to the GM and players are two appendixes. The first adds Gnome npcs to the WHFRP universe for the first time since first edition and these shadowy figures are quite distinct from the jolly Halflings, the second is a series of pub games and their mechanics. Given how much time WHFRP characters spend in inns, this is handy for a GM wanting a short interlude for players to arm wrestle or cheat at cards. A joy to read and well worth it for any GM looking for a cool adventure or even ideas for one. Highly reccomended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring - Laughter of Dragons
by Marcus M. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/02/2019 07:47:46

Then Smaug really did laugh… “Revenge!” he snorted, and the light of his eyes lit the hall from floor to ceiling like scarlet lightning. “Revenge! The King under the Mountain is dead and where are his kin that dare seek revenge? Girion Lord of Dale is dead… where are his sons’ sons that dare approach me?”

The Laughter of Dragons is a new book of adventures from Cubicle 7 for The One Ring RPG. In the same vein as Ruins of the North, Tales from the Wilderland, and Oaths of the Riddermark, The Laughter of Dragons is a collection of adventures, in this case focused on the region around Erebor and Dale. These adventures allow the players to stick around near the Lonely Mountain. The book recommends picking up Erebor – The Lonely Mountain supplement to get more information about the area, but it’s not essential; It really just depends on how much you want to improvise and add more content as a Loremaster. The adventures can be played together, or used as you pass through the region. Smaug’s death has brought calm and peace to the region, as it now bustles with business and intrigue, the perfect place for a little adventure.

Sauron, despite having been driven from Dol Gulder, still seeks to gain a foothold in the area, and has sent a Nazgül to stir up trouble. This Nazgül is known by the Elves as Morlach, the Black Flame, but is known in the area as the Sorcerer of Forod, which is how the players will first encounter rumors of him. He sits behind the plots of each of the adventures in the book. Let’s dive in.

The Silver Needle begins outside the gates of Dale, as the players are introduced to a few different NPCs and rumors of a group of bandits led by a mysterious figure known as Longo. When the enchanted needle of Dale’s most talented seamstress is stolen, the players must piece together clues and try not to get decieved by the words of not-so-suspicious folks in the city. I really don’t want to spoil the surprise the players will encounter in this adventure, so I don’t want to go into too many details. I was wary of this adventure based on the idea of a stolen sewing needle, but it actually all make sense, and feels like a genuinely human story, with sorrow, suffering, and the slow discovery that there are larger forces at work in Dale. There are some great elements of play here including travel, ambushes, investigation, and combat. You could definitely kick off a whole campaign with this adventure, but I feel like to run it really effectively, you should probably break down certain scenes into bullet points in order to remember everything going on here, particularly certain key plot points.

Of Hammers and Anvils also takes place in Dale, but moves the story toward Erebor, so after the more mundane natural elements of The Silver Needle, you begin to discover the wonder of ancient Dwarven halls. Also, you get to interact with Balin, companion to Frodo and Thorin, which is pretty exciting. This adventure is full of corrupt dwarves and men who have been utrned bitter by the forces of the Shadow. They find Balin, fallen over a ravine after being attacked by bandits. They eventually learn he believes there is some sort of plot against him, and fakes his own death to go into hiding. He needs the heroes’ help to unravel the plot. The heroes will eventually journey to Erebor, where they’ll have to stop the sabotaging of the dwarven forges.

In To Dungeons Deep, the company will travel to the Grey Mountains. Meeting Dwalin, they are sent to find a scholar who has been abducted. Orcs and brigands abound, and they eventually find a forgotten mausoleum filled with ancient treasure. Both Darves and Bardings lay claim to the treasure, driven to disagreement by forces behind the scenes. In the end, they’ll get to meet Gandalf, as he begins to suspect there are larger forces at play in Dale.

Sleeping Dragons Lie has the heroes go on a dragon hunt as smoke rises from a distant watchtower. “Dragon-smoke one day brings Dragon-fire the next,” they say. King Dain Ironfoot places a bounty on its head. The heroes will need to venture through the new desolation, fight through the dragon’s orcish guards before facing off against it. This is the same dragon from Tales from the Wilderland, unless the heroes played that adventure and defeated it, meaning that if they played and merely drove it away, they’ll have a history with the beast. This adventure uses the Eye of Mordor rules found in Rivendell, but modified so that the Eye is instead the Dragon’s Eye, measuring how aware the dragon is of your group’s presence. It’s a pretty cool mechanic.

In Dark Waters, the company finds itself in Laketown, and involves a bit of detective-work. Searching for the sculptor of the new statue in the village, the players will venture all over Laketown during a fierce seasonal thunderstorm. This storm acts as a character throughout the adventure, giving weight and atmosphere throughout. The players will have to piece together what happened the night the sculptor disappeared. It takes you all over Laketown, including the Elven quarter of the city. There’s a fantastic and nasty eel-like serpent the players will have to deal with at the end.

Summoned by Balin, the company is sent to the Netherwood in Shadows in the North. within the Netherwood they will find an ancient and massive but lame warg called The Devourer. His whole scene is built like a horror show as the heroes discover the amputated wings of giant bats, and discover they’re walking on a pile of skulls before they even face the albino beast. Is is here that the company will finally discover that a Nazgül is behind the plot, and that its final goal is to claim the Arkenstone. Returning to Dale, the heroes will be framed for crimes they did not commit (with charges assembled from all the previous adventures), be forced to escape (or be exiled from Dale), and eventually find their way into Erebor, where they will face off against the Sorcerer of Forod, the mastermind behind all their plots, only to realize this is not one Nazgül, but many. The Arkenstone must be kept safe, so they must flee deep within the heart of the mountain. There, the Nazgül may be driven off.

One thing I love about all these adventures is that each one introduces or reinforces a mini-game within the system, or uses the rules in new and interesting ways.

Of course, the art is as gorgeous as always. There are maps in many of the adventures which are clearly laid out and should be easy to describe without necessarily needing to draw them out.

This is a fantastic set of adventures. I highly recommend them to any Loremaster looking to add more adventures to their catalog, or as great inspiration for their own adventures. I’m kicking off my own One Ring campaign in the Fall, and I think will be my starting point for the campaign.

Cubicle 7 sent a copy of The Laughter of Dragons for Dice Monkey to review.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring - Laughter of Dragons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP - Adventures Afoot in the Reikland
by Orin J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2019 00:47:29

A collection of paragraph-long adventure seeds building off the adventure hooks in the WFRP 4th rulebook, all based in the Riekland with little enough detailing that most can be relocated anywhere in the empire and a few loosely done enough you could drop them into entirely different settings.

Most of them aren't terribly good, and a couple are entirely unusable as they are but it's a free resource for GMs to poach ideas from to pad out their own adventures. And you should never disparage free material.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP - Adventures Afoot in the Reikland
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wrath & Glory: Dark Tides
by Darker D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2019 12:27:25

Great book, and a perfect start for campaigns, or adventures that can be modified to your own. Also great mystery and horror stories, rather than just fighting mobs on the front line.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wrath & Glory: Dark Tides
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wrath & Glory: Core Rules
by chris w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2019 11:47:47

Pretty disappointing to be honest. Feels like half a game cobbled together by someone with a passing familiarity with 40k lore. Massive chunks of the rules and character options don't make sense in terms of the lore and what is missing from the book is far more glaring than what is there. There will doubtless be many expansions to fill in the gaping holes.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Wrath & Glory: Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
by Adrian P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2019 02:32:29

Beautifully illustrated and presented with a good, focussed take on the Reikland portion of the Empire and return to some of the feel of 1e. Updated ruleset which sets out to address the main complaints of the previous editions systems and succeeds in many ways but is marred a bit by errata, patches of extra complexity for little payoff in enjoyment and a sense that some of the rules (shields, falling damage, the Hardy talent) aren't particularly well thought out or playtested fully, so while they've fixed frustrations of editions past, they've introduced a few new ones. Close to / arguably the best edition, but seems to have stumbled a bit in a rush for publication.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventures in Middle-earth: The Eaves of Mirkwood & Loremaster's Screen
by Simon C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2019 07:14:02

I ran a very enjoyable session of Eaves of Mirkwood. I highly recommend this as an introductory adventure for those new to AiME and/or to roleplaying games.

The session took a little longer than expected, about four hours, with a couple of small breaks, but mainly because of some great roleplaying during the scene with the dwarves and some choices PCs needed to make for their characters.

I used the pre-gen PCs from the main rulebook, except the elf PC. I needed to make some adjustments/additions to the adventure based on the features of these PCs:

  1. Trotter chose his four Known Lands at the beginning and this included the lands being travelled through, so I adjusted the peril rating to 0 (DC 12 for checks).
  2. I ran a dream sequence of the suckling pig being stalked for Beli in his ale-fuelled sleep after the party in line with his dream ability.
  3. The Bride chose Perception as the trained skill for her Hound, so gained advantage on Perception checks, which came in handy later in the adventure.
  4. Beran chose Orcs for his Enemy-lore, which unfortunately did not come into play. I did have a 'moment' where I couldn't find the options for creature choices for this ability and wished I'd checked this rule beforehand.

The Highlights:

The scene with the dwarves proved to be one of the best roleplaying scenes I have been involved in over thirty years of RPGing. This was mainly down to the players' involvement and skill but I did do a couple of things to help it along in addition to some interesting accents for each of the dwarves and keeping in character for each of them:

  1. Printed out the points awards for the smoke ring game, handed it out, and got them to choose each round which one they were going to attempt. Trotter rolled two nat 20s on his first round but then failed on the final round by 1 on his chosen smoke ring. Har (who I gave pipes proficiency to) beat him by 2 points with some steady choices and won the rune-designed pipe reward.
  2. I printed out the riddles, gave 2 to each player and we went in rounds, with people just trying to guess them but I only allowed three guesses. On the third guess, they could make a DC 10 Riddle check for a clue. All were guessed within the three, and only one Riddle check was required.
  3. I chatted with the characters about their hopes and goals over ale and roasted pig.
  4. I played the lovely Song of Durin by Clamavi de Profundis via youtube instead of trying out my relatively poor singing skills.

The journeying went pretty well - I remembered to do the Embarkation, Event and Arrival checks, and interspersed the travelling with opportunities for hunting deer, collecting berries, and admiring landscapes using the descriptions provided. If anything, I'd have liked more of these descriptions, and if running again, would design some more interesting location descriptions to drop in. Whilst originally not a fan of the journey rules, Jon Hodgson's lengthy post in the old C77 forums was very helpful and I enjoyed the process better second time running it. The only issue I had was other PCs wanting to make checks after the allocated role PC had already made their check - I had to control this pretty quickly. I printed out some of the pictures and showed them to the players as they saw them in play, which I hoped help to bring the feeling of ME to the game.

The Lowlights:

There are no prices for the goods on sale in the market in Woodmen-town. I had to make up the cost of the talisman and an axe-head, and add a different trader selling axe hafts so a full weapon could be created. Having done this on the fly was a bit concerning but it all worked out OK in the end. Still, I'd like to have seen a little table with some prices on what was being sold included. Eager to get on with the adventure, I feel I rushed Woodmen-town a bit, and should have enjoyed other roleplaying possibilities there if I'd been a bit more relaxed.

I went a bit too easy on the first combat, following my concerns on tactical possibilities. I ran two rounds of attacks and the creatures gained surprise in the first round. In the second round they attacked hand-to-hand and were pretty decimated by the PCs, so the creatures then fled - realistic, but a little anti-climactic.

The Audience went pretty well, except when the skill check at the end needed to be made I couldn't find if there was a particular skill that was required and the text didn't seem to obviously mention it. I plumped for Persuasion in the end, which was fine. The PCs laid out their defence well, and were very convincing.

The second combat also went a bit too easily, despite using the prone/advantage and pack tactics abilities. I brought Lifstan to needing to make death saving throws (stabilised by The Bride), and two PCs were frightened for 1 round, but The Bride (great axe), Lifstan and Beli (sneak attack) did huge damage within a couple of rounds and it was all over by round 4. I definitely feel that I should have increased the number of minions by at least another four (from the one I included from the get-go), which I did afterwards but again a bit anti-climactic at that point.

I hope the above is useful feedback for another LM running Eaves in the future.

All in all, an excellent adventure, which I will run again for other groups, and learn from my mistakes and my successes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in Middle-earth: The Eaves of Mirkwood & Loremaster's Screen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wrath & Glory: Soundtrack
by Dirk W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2019 14:40:20

Richtig gut gelungen! Kino Feeling beim Zocken! Danke!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wrath & Glory: Soundtrack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
by David W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2019 14:00:39

As a 40 year old WARHAMMER veteran (1st,2nd,3rd Edition RPGS) i must say i am very impressed with this game.

The production quality is high and the content well written and engaging - hitting the right tone in regards to grim and perilous dark british humor.

The art work is inspiring and matchs the tone of the game.

The rules are fun and pay homage to the original edition but with modern design elements supported with great optional rules.

The game may have a steep learning curve for new rpgers but that is overcome with the starter set recently released by C7.

C7 are a brillant company who have produced a great game - the Old World lives on and is safe in their hands. I must say that i look forward to the upcoming Age of Sigmar RPG.

It is a golden age of RPGS with fantasy games in there many variations very much at the fore to the point it can be difficult to distinguish wheat from the chaff - if you want something engaging, gritty, inspiring and ultimately fun then pick this up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The One Ring™ Roleplaying Game
by Marcel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2019 10:55:24

One of the best RPGs I have ever played! It captures the feeling of middle earth very well and is more about storytelling than simulation... The game has kind of 4 parts: Journeying, social encounters, fighting and usage of talents for other things (like searching a room or follow somebody...). Every subsystem follows the same design of structure and has a tactical element to it. But I have to say, that the rules are kind of abstract and everything has to be interpreted to make it "middle earthly".

All this is done by a special dice system, using a d12 together with a d6 for every skillpoint and then try to reach a target number. There are special points to turn a bad roll into a good one and a mechanik for corruption and madness that sends most characters down into darkness after beeing in contact with the shadow for to long...

This book is the core rules and it really is very good in this department - you can play with just this book for years.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring™ Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Character Sheet
by Christopher D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2019 20:40:13

The overall asthetic of the sheet is really nice (2 stars for pretty!), but it just isn't finished or even well edited. Entering lists of things in sections like "trappings" and "talents" boxes is sloppy with changes in the font characteristics from line to line in the same box, and the lines are inefficiently spaced. If this was fixed and then you could print up your completed form, I'd give this a 5/5. In this state, I can't really use this form. Very disappointing.

There is one auto-fill function that I have identified, from the Current Characteristics to the Skills table, but then it doesn't auto fill the "Skill" column by adding the "Characteristic" and "Adv" columns. It is nice, if you are going to have only one thing to auto-populate, this is a good choice, but once you've gone this far, it makes you think it would also be nice if it auto-populated other sections, like the characteristic-based boxes in the "Wounds" section.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wrath & Glory: Core Rules
by erik h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2019 05:16:27

Started a new campaign with this system and my group loves it!

Easy to adjust to your own playstyle and rules that are a good balance between fast flowing and crunch.

I can't wait until we get more material to work with! That said, the format is easy enough to make your own talents, weapons, cybernetics etc.

Only downside to me seems to be general editing issues, like some unclear phrasing, or inconsistencies with terminology for some rules or that some rules can be hard to find. But my group and I playtest anything we find unclear and go with whatever result we like best, so it's not anything major.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wrath & Glory: Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Starter Set
by Ryan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2019 22:09:59

Cumbersome rules requiring multiple mathematical computations to solve simple combat checks. Charts instead of streamlined rules. Nothing improved since 2nd edition. Running in place where this could've been something new for the hobby. Very disappointed.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Starter Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wrath & Glory: Core Rules
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2019 03:18:58

When I first bought it, it was far less edited and far mroe spotty. Things were iffy, and confusing.

After a few months wait, and a good bit of playing while errata was released, ; I've deicided that this has 5 stars. It's meaty, but approachable, it's gotten updates that had things taken from the playerbase by the writers /e diters / whatever, and it's been cleared up by and large. There are still some editing and layout issues in the book, but I don't hesitate at all to give the game / book 5 stars.

If you're interested in WH40K, especially after some of the lore going on in 8th edition ; Wrath and Glory is for you. I'm strongly looking forward to USNA's furthering of this gameline - hopefully allowing for playing Tau (Especially of the Farsight Enclaves) or of Adeptus Custodes or Grey Knight Space Marines.

I'd also just laugh heartily if for some absurd reason straight up Daemons were made playable in later things, with th odd consideration for Chaos forces in even this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wrath & Glory: Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 136 to 150 (of 764 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates