DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rough Nights and Hard Days
by Mark W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2019 12:34:23

WFRP 4e is my first involvement with the franchaise. I'd really enjoyed going through the main rule book, and the subsequent adventures and starter guide had me loving this game. We've been running several separate campaings at my office, and I was really hoping that this book would be as amazing as I had hoped. It has lived up to what I was hoping for, and more. The attention to detail in the book is incredible. The artwork is sublime. I'm still part way through reading the PDF, and cannot wait to start this campaign. Its going to be tonnes of fun.

I really like the addition of the Gnome race. I know that a few people at work are already excited to re-roll their characters as Gnomes.

This is a great book. It has set the bar very high for other source material to match. Can't wait to see what else comes out for WFRP. Great work C7 team!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rough Nights and Hard Days
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rough Nights and Hard Days
by Joseph R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2019 11:27:37

As a GM unaccustomed to some of the grime associated with the Old World, I'm always on the lookout for information to help me understand the basic structure of a WFRP 4th game. If you're like me and somewhat lost in new waters then this book in combination with the Starter Set is a godsend.

What strikes me about this book is the intricacy with which the adventures are woven. Anything and everything a practical GM could need or even want is detailed in blatantly noted Plots accompanied by timelines composed of scenes. These help the GM construct a coherent narrative out of tonal shifts that if mishandled could be strange without being fun. I can't wait to run scenarios like these:

The usual easy night of drinking and gambling at a tavern that most of us are familiar with quickly devolves into a black comedy farce that inspired me to run the first part the instant I read it. A wedding with touches of romanticism, courtly intrigue spanning multiple regions, and even gothic horror can easily derail itself into an Abbott and Costello romp if one plot point is of player interest.

This is wonderful and my patience will surely be tested waiting for the physical release!

P.S. dwile flonking is the best pub game imaginable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rough Nights and Hard Days
by Darren K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2019 11:26:49

The first adventure in this collection, A Rough Night at the Three Feathers, is one of the old classics of WFRP. I have it in two versions from different editions, and it's always been an enjoyable scenario to run through. Its innovative format was to have a single location where multiple plotlines all ran into each other in confined spaces with the PCs sitting right in the middle at ground zero. It's complicated to keep track of but very rewarding for both GM and players when played out. The best part from the GM's point of view is genuinely not knowing what will happen at any point- the unwitting involvement of the PCs could send the action spinning off in a completely different direction at any point.

Probably my only complaint with A Rough Night at the Three Feathers is that it can only be run once per campaign, because knowing what the plots are spoils it and coming up with one for myself would be a lot of work for a GM. It seems that the folks at Cubicle 7 have heard me on this point- because the other four adventures deliver just that.

In each scenario the same formula is repeated, to the same great effect. A fixed location full of distinctive NPCs who all have conflicting agendas and plotlines that slowly build up speed until everything is rushing toward a train wreck with the brakes sabotaged. I feel that this might get somewhat repetitive if all five were run back-to-back as a mini-campaign (one suggestion in the book), but as occasional interludes in a larger campaign (like The Enemy Within) they'd be golden.

Of the four, two are completely original and two are based on previous adventures. In both those cases they're re-written and expanded to the point that it's definitely worth getting them even if you had the earlier version. One is Nastassia's Wedding, and another- Lord of Ubersreik- is clearly a (much improved) re-write of Edge of Night for 3e. And two are brand new.

And lest we forget the appendices...

The section on Pub Games is a fun read, and as most people point out the typical WFRP Adventurer spends enough time in taverns and inns that these will see plenty of use in most campaigns.

Then, we have the Gnomes. I'll admit I was abivalent about these when I heard about them. Gnomes haven't been seen since 1e- they were an afterthought, a race that wasn't needed because you could use Dwarves or Halflings for anything they did. Later editions just removed them from the setting and nobody really missed them. So what benefit could possibly be gained by their re-introduction?

Reading the actual background on Gnomes answered all these questions for me. I don't want to spoil anything- but Gnomes now have a distinct role and culture compared to other PC races. More importantly, an actual in-character reason for their disappearance since 1e and why they aren't mentioned in anything since is given, one that fits the background of the Warhammer world enough to satisfy a stickler like me.

I can't see any WFRP GM regretting the purchase of this book, and the adventures are solid enough that I'd even recommend this to anyone who doesn't want to switch to 4e and prefers a previous edition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
by Colin F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2019 11:12:56

This has taken the best parts of all the previous editions, and improved it in so many ways.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP Ubersreik Adventures - If Looks Could Kill
by Colin F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2019 11:10:50

A good orginal adventure, that explores a new theme other than chaos cult in WFRP. Did feel a bit incomplete in places, such as the first question the players asked- how much are we getting paid, and what for? And maybe a few more skills or talents listed on NPCs, But nonetheless enjoyable, and a good prequel for the starter set.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP Ubersreik Adventures - If Looks Could Kill
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Starter Set
by Colin F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2019 11:03:17

A superb source book and adventure book, only let down by the time it's taken to get sent out from pre-order



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Starter Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rough Nights and Hard Days
by Colin F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2019 10:59:42

A great mix of revised old adventures -bringing them up to date superbly, and some new adventures right up to the same standard. Amazing art throughout, and a great bit of bonus content in the appendices.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rough Nights and Hard Days
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rough Nights and Hard Days
by Lance A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2019 09:42:29

I am very pleased with the way this turned out. I'm a huge WFRP fan, so there was no doubt I was ever going to get this, but the end product really blew me away. The 5 adventures are all fun reads and have a great underlying story. They just look fun to play!

The book also includes amazing art and maps! Oh the building maps! Including an opera house and a castle! They will be heavily used!

In addition, the book includes notes on how to fit these adventures into the upcoming Enemy Within campaign as well as how to use it as a mini-campaign or just simple one-shots.

Lastly, Gnome rules and a history that MAKES SENSE in the Warhammer world. And over a dozen pub games that look like lots of fun to have in your taverns while you are also making your players do Consume Alcohol tests!

This is well worth the cost even if you don't plan to run all of the Adventures!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rough Nights and Hard Days
by Eoin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2019 08:32:48

As the first full adventure collection for the 4th edition of WHFRP, Rough Nights and Hard Days has a demanding legacy to live up to. WHFRP has had many excellent campaigns and adventures over the years and the original Rough Night at the Three Feathers adventure is deservedly much beloved having been printed in both 1st and 2nd edition. This new version may be the definitive production. Rough Nights innovative approach is to have the characters embroiled in a series of plots enacted over one night in the eponymous Three Feather pub. These plotlines intertwine across a strict timeline of events with the players able to interfere and throw matters out of kilter. It results in a madcap romp of murder, mischief and mayhem. It rewards careful GM preparation and possibly a literal timer on the adventure. The other four llnked adventures then expand on this formula with the players optionally becoming a retinue to one NPC who takes them through the next adventures which are all set to a similar tempo. A single location, in which multiple plots advance along a timeline. Run as a campaign it would make a great little narrative, however the locational focus means each one can be dropped into an existing campaign as palate cleansing interlude. It's a very satisying product to read, the presentation and editing are all tight, the illustrations evocative, funny and high quality, and the colourful NPCs furnished with short roleplaying notes and known intolerances for the GM to reference on the fly. Enhancing the value of the product to the GM and players are two appendixes. The first adds Gnome npcs to the WHFRP universe for the first time since first edition and these shadowy figures are quite distinct from the jolly Halflings, the second is a series of pub games and their mechanics. Given how much time WHFRP characters spend in inns, this is handy for a GM wanting a short interlude for players to arm wrestle or cheat at cards. A joy to read and well worth it for any GM looking for a cool adventure or even ideas for one. Highly reccomended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring - Laughter of Dragons
by Marcus M. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/02/2019 07:47:46

Then Smaug really did laugh… “Revenge!” he snorted, and the light of his eyes lit the hall from floor to ceiling like scarlet lightning. “Revenge! The King under the Mountain is dead and where are his kin that dare seek revenge? Girion Lord of Dale is dead… where are his sons’ sons that dare approach me?”

The Laughter of Dragons is a new book of adventures from Cubicle 7 for The One Ring RPG. In the same vein as Ruins of the North, Tales from the Wilderland, and Oaths of the Riddermark, The Laughter of Dragons is a collection of adventures, in this case focused on the region around Erebor and Dale. These adventures allow the players to stick around near the Lonely Mountain. The book recommends picking up Erebor – The Lonely Mountain supplement to get more information about the area, but it’s not essential; It really just depends on how much you want to improvise and add more content as a Loremaster. The adventures can be played together, or used as you pass through the region. Smaug’s death has brought calm and peace to the region, as it now bustles with business and intrigue, the perfect place for a little adventure.

Sauron, despite having been driven from Dol Gulder, still seeks to gain a foothold in the area, and has sent a Nazgül to stir up trouble. This Nazgül is known by the Elves as Morlach, the Black Flame, but is known in the area as the Sorcerer of Forod, which is how the players will first encounter rumors of him. He sits behind the plots of each of the adventures in the book. Let’s dive in.

The Silver Needle begins outside the gates of Dale, as the players are introduced to a few different NPCs and rumors of a group of bandits led by a mysterious figure known as Longo. When the enchanted needle of Dale’s most talented seamstress is stolen, the players must piece together clues and try not to get decieved by the words of not-so-suspicious folks in the city. I really don’t want to spoil the surprise the players will encounter in this adventure, so I don’t want to go into too many details. I was wary of this adventure based on the idea of a stolen sewing needle, but it actually all make sense, and feels like a genuinely human story, with sorrow, suffering, and the slow discovery that there are larger forces at work in Dale. There are some great elements of play here including travel, ambushes, investigation, and combat. You could definitely kick off a whole campaign with this adventure, but I feel like to run it really effectively, you should probably break down certain scenes into bullet points in order to remember everything going on here, particularly certain key plot points.

Of Hammers and Anvils also takes place in Dale, but moves the story toward Erebor, so after the more mundane natural elements of The Silver Needle, you begin to discover the wonder of ancient Dwarven halls. Also, you get to interact with Balin, companion to Frodo and Thorin, which is pretty exciting. This adventure is full of corrupt dwarves and men who have been utrned bitter by the forces of the Shadow. They find Balin, fallen over a ravine after being attacked by bandits. They eventually learn he believes there is some sort of plot against him, and fakes his own death to go into hiding. He needs the heroes’ help to unravel the plot. The heroes will eventually journey to Erebor, where they’ll have to stop the sabotaging of the dwarven forges.

In To Dungeons Deep, the company will travel to the Grey Mountains. Meeting Dwalin, they are sent to find a scholar who has been abducted. Orcs and brigands abound, and they eventually find a forgotten mausoleum filled with ancient treasure. Both Darves and Bardings lay claim to the treasure, driven to disagreement by forces behind the scenes. In the end, they’ll get to meet Gandalf, as he begins to suspect there are larger forces at play in Dale.

Sleeping Dragons Lie has the heroes go on a dragon hunt as smoke rises from a distant watchtower. “Dragon-smoke one day brings Dragon-fire the next,” they say. King Dain Ironfoot places a bounty on its head. The heroes will need to venture through the new desolation, fight through the dragon’s orcish guards before facing off against it. This is the same dragon from Tales from the Wilderland, unless the heroes played that adventure and defeated it, meaning that if they played and merely drove it away, they’ll have a history with the beast. This adventure uses the Eye of Mordor rules found in Rivendell, but modified so that the Eye is instead the Dragon’s Eye, measuring how aware the dragon is of your group’s presence. It’s a pretty cool mechanic.

In Dark Waters, the company finds itself in Laketown, and involves a bit of detective-work. Searching for the sculptor of the new statue in the village, the players will venture all over Laketown during a fierce seasonal thunderstorm. This storm acts as a character throughout the adventure, giving weight and atmosphere throughout. The players will have to piece together what happened the night the sculptor disappeared. It takes you all over Laketown, including the Elven quarter of the city. There’s a fantastic and nasty eel-like serpent the players will have to deal with at the end.

Summoned by Balin, the company is sent to the Netherwood in Shadows in the North. within the Netherwood they will find an ancient and massive but lame warg called The Devourer. His whole scene is built like a horror show as the heroes discover the amputated wings of giant bats, and discover they’re walking on a pile of skulls before they even face the albino beast. Is is here that the company will finally discover that a Nazgül is behind the plot, and that its final goal is to claim the Arkenstone. Returning to Dale, the heroes will be framed for crimes they did not commit (with charges assembled from all the previous adventures), be forced to escape (or be exiled from Dale), and eventually find their way into Erebor, where they will face off against the Sorcerer of Forod, the mastermind behind all their plots, only to realize this is not one Nazgül, but many. The Arkenstone must be kept safe, so they must flee deep within the heart of the mountain. There, the Nazgül may be driven off.

One thing I love about all these adventures is that each one introduces or reinforces a mini-game within the system, or uses the rules in new and interesting ways.

Of course, the art is as gorgeous as always. There are maps in many of the adventures which are clearly laid out and should be easy to describe without necessarily needing to draw them out.

This is a fantastic set of adventures. I highly recommend them to any Loremaster looking to add more adventures to their catalog, or as great inspiration for their own adventures. I’m kicking off my own One Ring campaign in the Fall, and I think will be my starting point for the campaign.

Cubicle 7 sent a copy of The Laughter of Dragons for Dice Monkey to review.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring - Laughter of Dragons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP - Adventures Afoot in the Reikland
by Orin J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2019 00:47:29

A collection of paragraph-long adventure seeds building off the adventure hooks in the WFRP 4th rulebook, all based in the Riekland with little enough detailing that most can be relocated anywhere in the empire and a few loosely done enough you could drop them into entirely different settings.

Most of them aren't terribly good, and a couple are entirely unusable as they are but it's a free resource for GMs to poach ideas from to pad out their own adventures. And you should never disparage free material.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP - Adventures Afoot in the Reikland
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wrath & Glory: Dark Tides
by Darker D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2019 12:27:25

Great book, and a perfect start for campaigns, or adventures that can be modified to your own. Also great mystery and horror stories, rather than just fighting mobs on the front line.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wrath & Glory: Dark Tides
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wrath & Glory: Core Rules
by chris w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2019 11:47:47

Pretty disappointing to be honest. Feels like half a game cobbled together by someone with a passing familiarity with 40k lore. Massive chunks of the rules and character options don't make sense in terms of the lore and what is missing from the book is far more glaring than what is there. There will doubtless be many expansions to fill in the gaping holes.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Wrath & Glory: Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
by Adrian P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2019 02:32:29

Beautifully illustrated and presented with a good, focussed take on the Reikland portion of the Empire and return to some of the feel of 1e. Updated ruleset which sets out to address the main complaints of the previous editions systems and succeeds in many ways but is marred a bit by errata, patches of extra complexity for little payoff in enjoyment and a sense that some of the rules (shields, falling damage, the Hardy talent) aren't particularly well thought out or playtested fully, so while they've fixed frustrations of editions past, they've introduced a few new ones. Close to / arguably the best edition, but seems to have stumbled a bit in a rush for publication.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventures in Middle-earth: The Eaves of Mirkwood & Loremaster's Screen
by Simon C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2019 07:14:02

I ran a very enjoyable session of Eaves of Mirkwood. I highly recommend this as an introductory adventure for those new to AiME and/or to roleplaying games.

The session took a little longer than expected, about four hours, with a couple of small breaks, but mainly because of some great roleplaying during the scene with the dwarves and some choices PCs needed to make for their characters.

I used the pre-gen PCs from the main rulebook, except the elf PC. I needed to make some adjustments/additions to the adventure based on the features of these PCs:

  1. Trotter chose his four Known Lands at the beginning and this included the lands being travelled through, so I adjusted the peril rating to 0 (DC 12 for checks).
  2. I ran a dream sequence of the suckling pig being stalked for Beli in his ale-fuelled sleep after the party in line with his dream ability.
  3. The Bride chose Perception as the trained skill for her Hound, so gained advantage on Perception checks, which came in handy later in the adventure.
  4. Beran chose Orcs for his Enemy-lore, which unfortunately did not come into play. I did have a 'moment' where I couldn't find the options for creature choices for this ability and wished I'd checked this rule beforehand.

The Highlights:

The scene with the dwarves proved to be one of the best roleplaying scenes I have been involved in over thirty years of RPGing. This was mainly down to the players' involvement and skill but I did do a couple of things to help it along in addition to some interesting accents for each of the dwarves and keeping in character for each of them:

  1. Printed out the points awards for the smoke ring game, handed it out, and got them to choose each round which one they were going to attempt. Trotter rolled two nat 20s on his first round but then failed on the final round by 1 on his chosen smoke ring. Har (who I gave pipes proficiency to) beat him by 2 points with some steady choices and won the rune-designed pipe reward.
  2. I printed out the riddles, gave 2 to each player and we went in rounds, with people just trying to guess them but I only allowed three guesses. On the third guess, they could make a DC 10 Riddle check for a clue. All were guessed within the three, and only one Riddle check was required.
  3. I chatted with the characters about their hopes and goals over ale and roasted pig.
  4. I played the lovely Song of Durin by Clamavi de Profundis via youtube instead of trying out my relatively poor singing skills.

The journeying went pretty well - I remembered to do the Embarkation, Event and Arrival checks, and interspersed the travelling with opportunities for hunting deer, collecting berries, and admiring landscapes using the descriptions provided. If anything, I'd have liked more of these descriptions, and if running again, would design some more interesting location descriptions to drop in. Whilst originally not a fan of the journey rules, Jon Hodgson's lengthy post in the old C77 forums was very helpful and I enjoyed the process better second time running it. The only issue I had was other PCs wanting to make checks after the allocated role PC had already made their check - I had to control this pretty quickly. I printed out some of the pictures and showed them to the players as they saw them in play, which I hoped help to bring the feeling of ME to the game.

The Lowlights:

There are no prices for the goods on sale in the market in Woodmen-town. I had to make up the cost of the talisman and an axe-head, and add a different trader selling axe hafts so a full weapon could be created. Having done this on the fly was a bit concerning but it all worked out OK in the end. Still, I'd like to have seen a little table with some prices on what was being sold included. Eager to get on with the adventure, I feel I rushed Woodmen-town a bit, and should have enjoyed other roleplaying possibilities there if I'd been a bit more relaxed.

I went a bit too easy on the first combat, following my concerns on tactical possibilities. I ran two rounds of attacks and the creatures gained surprise in the first round. In the second round they attacked hand-to-hand and were pretty decimated by the PCs, so the creatures then fled - realistic, but a little anti-climactic.

The Audience went pretty well, except when the skill check at the end needed to be made I couldn't find if there was a particular skill that was required and the text didn't seem to obviously mention it. I plumped for Persuasion in the end, which was fine. The PCs laid out their defence well, and were very convincing.

The second combat also went a bit too easily, despite using the prone/advantage and pack tactics abilities. I brought Lifstan to needing to make death saving throws (stabilised by The Bride), and two PCs were frightened for 1 round, but The Bride (great axe), Lifstan and Beli (sneak attack) did huge damage within a couple of rounds and it was all over by round 4. I definitely feel that I should have increased the number of minions by at least another four (from the one I included from the get-go), which I did afterwards but again a bit anti-climactic at that point.

I hope the above is useful feedback for another LM running Eaves in the future.

All in all, an excellent adventure, which I will run again for other groups, and learn from my mistakes and my successes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in Middle-earth: The Eaves of Mirkwood & Loremaster's Screen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 121 to 135 (of 757 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates