DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Cha'alt
by Angela J W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2021 20:15:20

Very imaginative and well done setting. One of the best things I have read in years. Just the right amount of Gonzo without going over the top, well done Sir!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cha'alt
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cha'alt
by Litza B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/03/2021 01:35:56

Recently ran my first one-shot using this book and my players loved it! They commented on how much they enjoyed the fresh twists on classic monsters. The locations were laid out in such a way that it was very easy to pick which areas I wanted to use and which I wanted to skip, and there was a wide variety of enemies, potential allies, monsters, and merchants, as well as vivid descriptions of loot and locations! I really look forward to using this book again!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cha'alt After Dark
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2021 17:22:53

"Cha'alt is an eldritch, gonzo, science-fantasy, post-apocalyptic campaign setting for old and new versions of D&D, retro-clones, and every OSR homage in-between.

Cha'alt After Dark contains a smattering of Game Mastering advice, optional rules relating to sex, and adventures both long and short - with plenty of random tables. Be mindful that Cha'alt After Dark touches on mature themes. "

Let's be honest here, Cha'alt After Dark by Venger Satanis is a series of supplemental rules, sexual encounter random tables along with consquences, and lots of Venger Satanis DMing advice. This section is followed by three adventures sequences Manfestation which charts a crash landing on Cha'alt. Facing down Ja’areth-Syn the priest of the Great Old Ones (an NPC based on the cultlclassic 'Maelstorm The Destruction' film). The entire affair bleeds into the next adventure arch 'So beautiful So Dangous' a homage to the Seventies Sci Fi film ' Heavy Metal'. These adventure with desert encounters & more strange interconnected encounters all wtih the random tables that Venger is famous for. These mini adventures can be run upon their own or as a part of an interconnected micro campaign.

'Cha'alt After Dark' goes into its next cycle of adventure arches with the 'The Girl with the Tentacle Tattoo'. And again with get a few random tables, smatterings of Cha'alt encounters, a micro dungeon & some down & dirty dungeon crawling the Satanis Way. And lots more random encounters. 'Cha'alt After Dark' kinda interconnects with his previous module 'Saving Cha'alt'. Thing is that Venger has gotten much better at the module & adventure writing. Part of the idea here with the random tables & Cha'alt themed ideas is that the module never runs the same way twice. The fact is that 'Cha'alt After Dark' is good value. If your into Cha'alt & Cha'alt: Fuchsia Malaise then 'Cha'alt After Dark' is a must have for you!

Eric Fabiaschi Swords & Stitchery Blog Want More OSR Goodness Please Subscribe To https://swordsandstitchery.blogspot.com/ Thanks for reading our review



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cha'alt After Dark
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Saving Cha'alt
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2021 22:10:02

So let's dive right in on this from the beginning, DM Ricky had grabbed my copy of Saving Cha'alt a day or so ago. I had bought the pdf two days ago & had it printed out. DM Steve & Ricky brought another player over Charlie to meet up. And the rest of gang filled in after six or so tonight. I have no idea who but someone started saying we ought to be riding the high Cha'alterral. An obvious take on the 60's classic Western the High Chapperal, why the Hell not run with it! A quick meeting with my fellow DM's provided me with DM Ricky saying something about using the Sanz Egra’as adventure from Saving Cha'alt. And I just ran with it, the PC's were whipped up using David Baymiller's OSR library rules for Westerns & Victorian rules. And sure I could have used Victorious or Amazing Adventures by Troll Lord games for this. But being familiar with Swords & Wizardry it was a matter of timing. Here's the classes for the players: Cowboy - Steve is a retired bounty hunter turned cowboy Colonial William Driskel Detective - Allen is playing a Pinkerton on the move chasing down a bounty Gambler - Allen's wife susie Jake Diamond gambler looking for the next score Gunslinger - Ricky playing the Colorado Kid Lawman - Rickie's brother Joe is playing Sheriff Sal Winston a man too old for this sh well you get the idea. Pugilist - Joe's wife Sarah is playing Qin Lee female kung fu fighter looking her brother whose been working on the rail road. Scout - Charlie is Decoda half American Native scout whose between jobs at the moment Soldier - Robert is playing Jessie Monroe Buffalo soldier

The Cha'alt time lord Droz kidnaps the entire gang for a very important mission on Cha'alt. That's it that's entire set up for tonight's game session. Zapped picked up & off they go. Droz keeps everyone nice & friendly with a huge plasma blaster in their faces! There's a few things that DM Ricky pointed out to me right away. The artwork in Saving Cha'alt has improved & so has the cartography of the pdf. The book is essentially the how to run, play, & DM Cha'alt right out of the gate with a series of unconnected adventures that can be run straight of the gate. Because that's exactly what we did tonight.

The player's PC's met with Leena with the following set up after Droz brings them to Cha'alt;"“Listen up, crud-munchers. If you’re with B.J. Security, you’re the best of the best. This mission is high-priority, indigo-clearance, so I’m only going to say this once. President Zob is making his way across the galaxy to the Sluurs who are currently at war with the Vaxxilons. President Zob has detailed files of an ultimate weapon implanted in his memory core. All you have to do is safely escort President Zob on Starship-One to the neutral zone. You’ve already been paid via access crystal, so prepare for teleportation in 5, 4, 3, 2…”

Wait a second we're Old West gunfighters & what not we're not equipped to deal with this?! What the f-- did Droz get us into!?! And off Droz went leaving behind some scant jelly babies in his wake. 'Droz you total #$% ' , was the response from the scout. Well president Zob found the PC's totally charming with Steve's cowboy pulling out a banjo & giving the president the most filth laden Western ballard ever. The rest of the party is trying to convince Leena that Droz double crossed her. After two failed rolls she didn't believe one word coming out of the party's lips.

A few words about Saving Cha'alt & that is that the book is well organized along the same lines of other books in the Cha'alt line. Venger doesn't get diaherra of the pen in Saving Cha'alt. The PC's guns didn't work aboard the president's space craft & the party only had two PC's freak out & try to shoot up the ship which didn't work. They met Arthur Fra’ayn is the most relaxed and sociable of the president's party. After introductions have been made, he’ll ask the PCs to say a little about themselves. While listening, Fra’ayn pours a tumbler of Purple Prizm for everyone. And he nodded & looked amused at the party not understanding a single Wild West reference of which there were many. The lay out is in Saving Cha'alt is solid & the page count at 110 is healthy. And he didn't believe the party that they didn't work for BJ Security! And that's when the main thruster on the president's star ship went out entirely! And the entire star ship is gonna crash! And that's where we ended for tonight's game of 'Riding on the High Cha'alterral'. We got right into the action but how does Saving Cha'alt measure up to the rest of the Cha'alt books?! That's a solid question & here's some highlights: Saving Cha'alt is a nice solid foundation to build a campaign from the ground up. The adventures are not complex but there enough twist & turns to keep things moving. The maps & cartography are solidly done & easy to use. The artwork is far more in keeping with the themes of the other Cha'alt books. The gonzo is there but its not beyond stupid this time & its managable for running a session from zero to go. The independant adventures means that I don't have to struggle with an author/designer's campaign hanging to cause me as a DM to modify the whole affair together to fit an existing campaign. All in all I think that Saving Cha'alt is really well done & everyone had fun. Eric Fabiaschi Swords & Stitchery Blog Want More reviews & OSR content like this one?! Subscribe to https://swordsandstitchery.blogspot.com/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saving Cha'alt
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Alpha Blue
by Bill B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2021 08:41:57

Want something off the wall for your scifi campaign???

This is the penultimate diversion. Sleezy? yes. Gonzo? yes. Are the players still talking and laughing about that adventure three years later? YES!

Lots of flavor for you to roll into this unusual space station. Charts and tables galore to help you build characters if needed, or in my case, unforgettable NPCs. Encounters of adult nature are simple, just roll and find out what happens to the players next.

I ran this the last time as a mix and match, and it worked really well with the play group. I ran it as a one off, however this could easiy be used as a campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alpha Blue
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cha'alt: Fuchsia Malaise
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2021 22:59:19

Cha’alt: Fuchsia Malaise provides additional character races, random tables, adventures, and further details about life on Cha’alt. There are four new races: Blue Velvet Elf, Grog (literal sand-people), Vore (a creature inspired by the 1982 movie “Beastmaster”), and the V’symm (not going to spoil everything). Each of these races have unique gameplay mechanics and can be a lot of fun to use.

In addition to the character races, the first section of the book “Essentials” has numerous random tables and many can be used by both the player and GM. The tables cover things like social interaction, NPCs (pre-built and a generator), motivations, social standing, belief systems, loot, and drug addiction. The content of all the tables varies between “above average” to “truly useful”. However just talking about the random tables is a disservice to both you and the tables. Below is an NPC created using the following random tables from the “Essentials” section of Cha’alt: Fuchsia Malaise: Enamored, NPCs, Loyalty, Social Hierarchy, Cha’alt Names.

She used to be a beggar, got “saved”, and is now a disenfranchised cleric. A bad career path probably due to her orange skin and tribal tattoos. Her goal was to just go home or at least get off-world. “Was” because when she saw [Player], she would do anything and everything to make [Player] hers. With only 13 obsidian coins left in her pocket, laying claim to [Player] will be difficult. If [Player] accepts her into the party, she can be relied upon unless they treat her poorly. For the sake of [Player], she will engage the enemy but there is usually nothing to show for it. Her name? Viridia.

The city of A’agrybah gets fleshed out in this book. The governing Houses and political structure provides a lot of potential for drama and intrigue style of gaming sessions. There is enough detail here for a GM to turn A’agrybah into the Waterdeep of Cha’alt. Note the word “detail”, there is no hand-holding nor city planning guidelines. The GM will need to do actual “GM work” to make this happen and if they do, the result will be impressive while still fitting in the world of Cha’alt. A d100 random table of “Unlikely Events in A’agrybah” closes the chapter.

The next chapter “Encounters” is a collection of adventure seeds, creatures, discoveries, NPCs, and story hooks. The content here really shows the creativity that goes into the world of Cha’alt. While some of the content is used elsewhere, the things in this section can be added to most adventures with little effort. If you are a GM, this section can help you create a new adventure or spice up a current adventure. For a Player, there is a wealth of background and motivations that can be used for character development. Some examples of what you will find here include the “Clown-Worm” a hideous hybrid of sand-worms and demon-worms with the face of a clown. Tired of walking? The party might encounter a subway. Supporting random tables included.

Most of the content of Cha’alt: Fuchsia Malaise is devoted to adventures and “Fuchsia Flesh-Pit” is the first. The players will have the opportunity to help La’ala in an environment that only Venger could create plus the plot twists are well done. The “Tower of Vromka’ad” has a unique encounter on each “floor”. The “Tomb of Va’an Zayne” is a dungeon crawl with a lot of creativity. “Elysium” is the Federation’s base of operations with over 50 rooms. In “S’kbah Pilgrimage”, players leave their village to find a solution to the tribe’s ills. While some adventures are better than others, they are all good.

Cha’alt: Fuchsia Malaise has some great art that raises the bar even higher from the standard set by the first Cha’alt book. The amount of cos-play art was the weakest link in the first book. In the new book, there is less cos-play art and what is there looks more “appropriate”. Overall, the art is excellent, easily carries the tone of Cha’alt with more of an impact than before.

Is Cha’alt: Fuchsia Malaise perfect? Nope, there are a few squid farts emanating from the pages. Mainly, there are many of instant-kills or save-or-die. Much of Cha’alt feels like it can be a massive campaign but the adventures almost force a one-shot/disposable character play style. Also, the vagueness of some plot points can cause confusion. Some sections must be read multiple times because item or plot details may be explained in the middle or at the end of an adventure instead of at the beginning.

Even with it’s faults, Cha’alt: Fuchsia Malaise is highly recommended. Considering how the content is structured GMs can throw-out the parts of Cha’alt they don’t want or add parts of Cha’alt to other realms with little to no problems. The concepts and ideas in Cha’alt: Fuchsia Malaise run deep, drink freely if you dare.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cha'alt: Fuchsia Malaise
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cha'alt
by Darren C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2020 09:45:30

Love the art and aesthetic of this so much! It's like if Adventure Time had a baby with Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, strongly recommend playing this while blasting Hawkwind.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cha'alt
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventure Writing Like A Fucking Boss
by phil p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2020 10:08:27

Picked this up years ago. Its a quick to read like a bull is quick to ride. Jump up and jump on this bad boy because you'll be in for some bully adventures. HBD VENGER



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventure Writing Like A Fucking Boss
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cha'alt
by Cliff R H. I. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2020 14:40:34

Incredible.

I'd stumbled upon Cha'alt entirely by accident, diving down the gaming community rabbit holes of the internet; found Venger's blog, where he was selling hard copies of the game; and reached out to him to order one. Because I ordered the hardcopy, I got the DriveThruRPG PDF for free, so I decided to download it and give it a read while I wait for my hardback copy to arrive. Wow! Venger is a mad genius! This book is very well written, especially for being such a sizeable gaming work from a sole author. Its layout and art design are gorgeous. The game itself bleeds its aesthetic out of every damn pore, with killer atmosphere, and TONS (T-O-N-S) of sandbox content (we're talking so much easy-to-read detail that you hold in your hands 100% zero-prep badassery). It is action packed and rife for drama, while making you maniacally cackle with glee at how madcap it all is while somehow still managing to land on its feet and remain grounded enough that you can imagine actually playing it, pulling it off, and taking it seriously.

To sum up: Ever wondered what Dune would be like if it had been adapted in collaboration by William Burroughs, JRR Tolkien, James Cameron and David Cronenberg, instead of David Lynch or the Sci-Fi channel or Denis Villeneuve, while they were all obsessed with the writings of HP Lovecraft and vibing on WAY too much mescaline? Well then, look no further, because this is it; this is the game you have been looking for.

As for me? I love it! I can’t wait to get my hardcopy, and I can’t wait to run Cha'alt for some peeps. And I’ll be keeping an eye out for Fuschia Malaise's (that's the second volume) forthcoming physical release as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cha'alt
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cha'alt: Fuchsia Malaise
by Judd G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2020 20:23:59

Let me start by saying, Cha’alt is “stupid gonzo” and satirical take on metal-band album cover science fantasy. If you worry about content, maybe ask someone who has it, or give it a pass. If you are punk, irreverent, have a bent sense of humor, or just love oddity in large scoops – the deserts of Cha’alt call. Just, and I am not kidding here, bring a few pre-gens. Life is rough and cheap here, but it is also interesting and amusing.

Fuchsia Malaise advances the history for Cha'alt 18 months. In that time, a new enclave of no-goods has arrived from the stars in the form of the people of the Federation. Those who know Venger’s other works will recognize them as the same group that plagues the long nights of Alpha Blue. Elysium is a camp of these off-worlders that has taken control of the lucrative zoth mining of the planet. They have banned zoth fracking techniques and instead use manual labor which they attract by distributing the titular Fuchsia Malaise, a drug that keep workers docile and compliant.

A new entity roams the skies dripping a healing ichor that can occasionally have disastrous effects. Healing can be deadly when the thing wrong with you is...you. A cult arises around this creature, because the people of Cha’alt are prone to that sort of thing.

The new zoth mining techniques are also causing some sort of environmental issue that is eliminating moisture at an alarming rate. Seabeds are receding, uncovering wrecks that have lain unseen until now. Adventurers flock to the opportunities and dangers these wrecks present.

The product itself is colorful and has the same artistic flair of the original book. The material here is a buffet of options, not a single meal. Many charts and tables present new options and goodies to help keep your game gonzo, madcap, and dangerous. A number of new locations are mapped out, three mini-adventures are put forth, and some details of new major encounters are fleshed out.

The material here is modular, fits the ‘stupid gonzo” feel of Cha’alt, and is loaded with the pop culture love and ham-fisted but loveable satire of the original Cha’alt. I was glad to see Venger start pulling his works together by brings in the Federation onto Cha’alt. Fans of his other works will no doubt be glad to cross-over things between the product lines.

The product ends up with three addendums that contain previous freebies published as stand alone products. The first two are Crimson Dragon Slayer D20 (revised) and Cha’alt Ascended, which together present a minimalistic and simple D20-flavored system for quick pick-up games. This system is best suited for play online, with its simplicity and rapid boot-strapping.

The final of the appendix offering is, to a paraphrase, OSR like an F-ing Boss. It is a list of points for running Old School renaissance style games. It is a simple manifesto of the core OSR concepts and a discussion of how to apply those to have fun with the style.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cha'alt: Fuchsia Malaise
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cha'alt: Fuchsia Malaise
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2020 13:58:07

Insane, crazy, and gonzo, if you like your apocalypse with a heaping help of the utterly bizarre this is for you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old School Renaissance Like A Fucking Boss
by Jordan D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2020 14:56:08

This might just as well be called 'Things I wish I knew when I started running games'. The distilled and concentrated wisdom of a veteran Dungeon Master. Venger is a legend for giving this away for free. OSR or not, if you're thinking of running a pen and paper RPG of any kind, read this first.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old School Renaissance Like A Fucking Boss
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cha'alt Pre-Generated
by Jordan D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2020 14:43:52

Definitely helps to see a few example characters for Vengers 'Crimson Dragon Slayer' system. It might have made more sense from a logical perspective to sell this as a Crimson Dragon Slayer supplement, but then again I can see how he wants to focus everything on his latest baby, the Cha'alt adventure. Would recommend this as pretty much essential if you want to give his Crimson Dragon Slayer system a go, for as much as I admire the zen like simplicity of that rule book, it is rather lacking in examples.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cha'alt Pre-Generated
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Crimson Dragon Slayer D20 Revised
by Jordan D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/01/2020 16:29:00

Mentions 'HD' several times but doesn't explain what it is. I felt like I was rather out of the loop here. Most of my pen and paper experience comes from 4th Edition DnD, and Dark Heresy 1st and 2nd Edition, and 'HD' as a stat/gaming convention just wasn't ringing any bells for me. Found an article online after a solid hour of searching: 'For those of you joining us from other editions, "HD" are actually Hit Dice, the total number of d8s rolled to calculate a creature's Hit Points.' So yea, Venger should probably 'revise' again, for players who aren't seasoned grognards like himself ;p. Other than that I thought these rules were a beautifully elegant condensation of the core concepts of pen and paper roll playing. 9/10



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Crimson Dragon Slayer D20 Revised
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review, hoss! Sorry about the HD / Hit-Dice confusion. I've been playing for so long that I sometimes forget what's obvious to a veteran like myself. ;)
Cha'alt: Fuchsia Malaise
by Brian C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2020 08:41:38

I bought this. A solid purchase. You get lots of page count chock-full of crazy-gonzo, imaginative goodness for your dollar, much more than what the author is charging for this PDF. A funhouse of OSR gaming using the author's simple - but not simplistic - OSR system 'Crimson Dragon Slayer d20 Revised' ... which is fully included in this PDF! So you get the author's in-house game system plus this great adventure setting. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cha'alt: Fuchsia Malaise
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 311 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates