DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Calimport and the Skyfire Wastes: A Guide for Games in the Calim Desert
by Brook H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2021 20:13:51

This sourcebook has all the pieces available to spark exciting desert wilderness and city adventures or even a full campaign. Character creation options germaine to the setting, a depth but coherence of lore, current political events, patron options, and more to build stories as in-depth or as hazy as the desert air--as you like.

I was fortunate to serve as a playtester for the last 8 months or so. I played a sand elf (new race option!) druid of the Circle of Shifting Sands (new subclass option!) and watched this work evolve into a part of the Forgotten Realms that gives more attention and, I believe, clarity of vision, than the official adventurer's guides and sourcebooks and such. Again, amazing detail there for the deep dives, but also clealy defined desert ecosystem and information- and trade-based economies.

Some highlights:

  • a story arc of a recently post-slavery system dealing with new economies and new allegiances
  • the lore of the Sand Elves and their symbiotic nomadism with some of the deepest, most hideous monstrosities of the Wastes.
  • more nuanced archeologist/explorer archetypes than UA and other sources
  • the ease of evoking a landscape, a tone, a theme, with even just a cursory read of some lore paired with a random encounter table--abracadabra! instant intrigue and adventure in an unfamiliar yet fleshed out setting
  • range of patron backstories and quests that automatically create party and individual character motivations
  • the diversity of the cities' populations and the art of negotiating among languages and values at the heart of the Calimshan world
  • epic desert floor fights with nowhere to hide; a desert menagerie with the climate change-oriented tilt of the SkyFire Wastes history; nighttime raids for artifacts dug up by rivals; challenging, unique urban NPC interactions and goals; and more
  • a very easy to navigate Table of Contents (just click on what you want to read!) and in general gorgeous design, art, and maps!


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Calimport and the Skyfire Wastes: A Guide for Games in the Calim Desert
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Goblin Bathwater Incident
by Eoghan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2021 18:37:53

I really love this funny, quick adventure and I feel it would be perfect for a group new to D&D and for a DM sick of running Phandelvar's Lost Mines. It has a nice mix of combat encounters, roleplaying opportunities and many puzzles and tricks for any inquisitive or curious players to solve. There is also just the right amout of detail for DM's to easily expand on anything players might want to further explore and it easily fits into any campaigns that you might want to run as a further story/adventure.

I highly recommend it! :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Goblin Bathwater Incident
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

D&D Solo Adventure: The Death Knight's Squire
by Jason Q. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2021 14:10:28

Well written and engaging, but the level 2 Druid I created with AC 11 had little chance at getting past the first combat.

2 grouped enemies beat my initiative by 1, closed in on my position and did 19 points of damage in the first round of combat.

RIP Arandel, Level 2 Half-Elf Circle of the Moon Druid. Poor sod didn't even get a chance to use Wild Shape.

Pretty certain it took me longer to create my character than it did for him to die.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Solo Adventure: The Death Knight's Squire
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Project 666
by Scott W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2021 13:10:48

I tried the Monk way of the leech, this can be quite the fun class when you're facing a ton of enemies. These offer some fun options for players! Give it a try!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Project 666
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Waterdeep: Expanded Faction Missions
by Cameron E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2021 12:10:47

It's Pay What You Wand and fills in some major holes of the WDDH Chapter 2 quests. Using these expanded faction missions and the DDAL08 Map trilogy helped make Chapter 2 an experience that my group enjoyed fleshing out the City of Waterdeep. Great work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: Expanded Faction Missions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Group Patrons for Waterdeep
by Cameron E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2021 12:07:48

This is super helpful in fleshing out Waterdeep in general and your Dragon Heist campaign in particular! Without this module I was still very confused about the motivations and personalities of some of the WDDH villians and didn't have a clear picture of the Zhentarim faction split. If you're looking for hooks and through-lines in your WDDH campaign, or looking to flesh out WDDH factions this is a great addition, I'm using it with the Alexandrian Remix and it's been going great!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Group Patrons for Waterdeep
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Madam DM's Map Pack Bundle: DDAL10 Tier 1 [BUNDLE]
by Cameron E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2021 12:05:40

This functions as a mix of map support for the first 5 DDAL10 modules (DDAL10-01 to DDAL10-05) and is super helpful in getting players engaged if they don't enjoy theater of the mind. The Maps are lovely in presentation, and fill in some very solid gaps in what the modules present. The maps for modules that include random encounter tables also are great extra maps to add to your Icewind Dale campaign.

The maps for modules 1 and 5 are highlights to me because they include additional GM version map information or before/after maps on certain events that are lovely additions to the story telling.

In addition to all this hints and tips are included with using the maps which is fantastic, thanks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Madam DM's Map Pack Bundle: DDAL10 Tier 1 [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Madam DM's Map Pack: DDAL10-04 - Cold Benevolence
by Cameron E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2021 12:03:03

The maps for the Ice Maze are terrific tools to use for that part of the module and add to the "Lost Woods" vibe of that scene. Once again just solid help after the actual AL module left things a little lacking in terms of map support.

I really like the inclusion of the tips on how to use the maps, that's very helpful!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Madam DM's Map Pack: DDAL10-04 - Cold Benevolence
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Madam DM's Map Pack: DDAL10-03 - Divining Evil
by Cameron E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2021 11:59:42

The maps for the murder investigation and random forest encounters were great additions. I wish the Wyrmdoom Crag maps lined up a bit closer to the Wyrmdoom Crag HC configuration.

I really like the inclusion of the tips on how to use the maps, that's very helpful!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Madam DM's Map Pack: DDAL10-03 - Divining Evil
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Madam DM's Map Pack: DDAL10-02 - Gnashing Teeth
by Cameron E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2021 11:58:05

I really like the inclusion of the tips on how to use the maps, that's very helpful! I also particularly like the map inclusion for the sacred spring to add atmosphere to the investigation of the area.

I wish the river map had been a little bigger, I ended up using a different map for that battle to account for the ability to players to fall into the ice and slip downstream.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Madam DM's Map Pack: DDAL10-02 - Gnashing Teeth
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Madam DM's Map Pack: DDAL10-01 - Into The Frozen North
by Cameron E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2021 11:56:12

I really like the inclusion of the tips on how to use the maps, that's very helpful!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Madam DM's Map Pack: DDAL10-01 - Into The Frozen North
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden Complete DM's Bundle (maps, guides, cheatsheets and more)
by Cameron E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2021 11:51:12

Will be updating this review as I continue DMing the RoTFM campaign But here it is so far:

The DM's Notes and How to Run Guides are a great, as are the encounter reference notes and the maps included. The maps in particular are awesome additions that add to the Hard Cover options.

Chapter 1: IN PARTICULAR! The additional details and Schedule for Torg's Caravan is an awesome inclusion for The Cold Killer, and I really really really loved the way the authors tried to think through the logic and logistics behind the sacrifices to Auril, great stuff!

Chapter 2: I really love the discussion of structure in Chapter 2. Especially I enjoy the alternate structure options presented! My table has been enjoying the campaign but feeling a little aimless so these options are great!

Chapter 3: Not there yet.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden Complete DM's Bundle (maps, guides, cheatsheets and more)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Uncertain Life
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2021 11:41:53

I recommend this choose-your-own-adventure style playbook. It gave me a solid three evenings (might have been four) of good entertainment, and was well worth the money.

Play is organized into chapters, and you gain a level after each chapter. The format gives you easy reset points should you die (which I did a few times), without having to start at the beginning. There are several paths through each chapter, allowing for a good bit of replay in each. The grandually unfolding mystery leaves me wanting the next installment.

Starting with a Level 0 character is an interesting hook that makes you pay really close attention to your character's racial abilities and background. It probably gives a bit of a bias toward backgrounds that offer abilities out of the gate - high elves with weapons skills and a bit of starting magic, dwarves for high constitution and martial training, that sort of thing - but it really doesn't matter, because all characters at that level die from harsh language...

Speaking of dying, the combat encounters are engaging and well balanced. The author gives you one or two sidekicks, meaning he can throw more bad guys at you than a tyipical Tier 1 solo adventure. Some of the fights are straightforward, close range melee affairs, but a few of the larger ones offer the opportunity for real tactical play. Some of the encouters could be improved with suggested tactics for the bad guys, but if you play the monsters to win, you'll have some fun and challenging fights.

That said, the author did hide a few encounter surprises in the adventure navigation, which I enjoyed. Finding out that a monster has a damage resistance AFTER you make the attack is fun for the player, if not the character.

I was going to quibble about a lack of maps for the encounters - the author relies on good descriptions of the encounter areas. But then I saw this morning that he'd updated the adventure with a decent set of maps, so there you go.

I believe this is the author's first solo adventure, and he's off to a great start. I'll be picking up the sequel whan it comes out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Uncertain Life
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Madam DM's Map Pack: DDAL10-05 - A Blight in the Darkness
by Cameron E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2021 11:38:52

The art is lovely, the maps work great and the module structure of the netherese outpost is simple that the lack of keying in the outpost map isn't a big deal. The super helpful feature of this map pack is the GM version of Feral-Tongue's encounter, makes it very easy to overlay and figure out who's in range of Chardalyn structures in terms of when to apply the Chardalyn formation effects.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Madam DM's Map Pack: DDAL10-05 - A Blight in the Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The City Handbook
by Markos A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2021 09:39:17

What a great handbook! It streamlined my worldbuilding and breathed life into every city my players encountered. I've printed this handbook, along with the NPC handbook of the same author. There hasn't been a single session that I haven't opened at least one of them. I use mutliple d20s for quick rolls.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The City Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 21933 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates