DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
OneDice Universal $5.00
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
6 3
1 4
0 0
1 0
0 1
OneDice Universal
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
OneDice Universal
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by Ade J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/02/2017 06:20:57

Really good system - It works. It's good for experienced and new players as well as younger gamers. The mechanics are based around a d6 roll so are simple to pick up with a quick read through. What needs to be realised is that this is a toolbox for creating your own settings and worlds: There are some "Skins" included but are deliberately kept minimal to show what the rules are capable of.

I like the writing style and it comes over well. I love the the digest size and I just wish more companies used this format. Also of note is the cover art - please keep the cover as common theme through future releases. A great product at an amazing price. Quick, fast and fun. Savage Worlds has a worthy basic digest sized game competitor at last.

Can't wait for the promised settings books - they really will be the icing on the cake (bread ?) !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Universal
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2017 00:15:08

Simplistic not simple. I can't imagine why anyone...including myself spent money on this.

I checked out the quickstart. I for some reason thought that there had to be crunchier rules in the actual settings/universal rules...there aren't. No ranged combat. Even though weapons are given ranges. I figure the GM is supposed to SWAG that. Since it appears that despite PCs having a movement rating there seems to be no apparent reason given for having one. No rules for covering distances on foot at all. No rules for cover. Although the GM can arbitrarily determine if a roll has advantage or disadvantage. This book has no setting, but costs as much or more than the setting books. Here's the catch the setting books have the same set of minimal rules in them. I bought this Universal set of rules on sale for a little over 5 USD. Each setting book is regularly 7 USD. You can get the entire Fate Core set of rules and Fate Accelerated, over 400+pages of complete rules, for pay as you want. You can presently get 25+ complete settings for Fate Core each pay as you want.

The price point of this material is grossly overrated. Give it a pass. Spend a bit of time shopping on RpgNow and find something worth your money. This ain't it. I also bought another setting book from OneDice brand; Steampunk. Again, way over priced. You can get other settings with complete rules for steampunk such as the original Space 1889 from GDW.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hi Dillard, I'm sorry you didn't find the game to your tastes. To clarify, there are Initiative, Ranged Combat and Movement rules included. Some of it is covered here: "...they won't be able to start fighting until someone moves into the range of the other sides weapons." p.19 and Moving on p.20 "If a character isn't in a hand-to-hand fight and wants to move, up to his or her Move in metres, they can (instead of attacking - you don't get to do both). This includes moving into a hand-to-hand fight." We always welcome queries and try to respond in a timely fashion. Often rules queries can be aired on the OneDice Google+ page and the Renaissance and OneDice Facebook page or simply email or message our company. All the best, Peter Cakebread
OneDice Universal
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/31/2016 20:19:09

I love this system. It isn't my main system but love using it with my kids. That is not to say this is kids system, but it is very easy and straightforward. It feels robust enough to make it feel like it doesn't lack anything. That being said, only being a d6, the system doesn't have the granularity of most systems. This system would be great choice for kids, learning your first system, or a quick way to test an idea you may want to roleplay.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Universal
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by Matt A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/28/2016 04:53:45

I bought the PDF and print versions of this book. I also bought OneDice Cyberpunk and I have left a review for that product. In a nutshell, OneDice Universal is a quick-to-learn, simple yet highly expandable game system which is perfect for getting a game up and running at the drop of a hat. As a parent with very little spare time, I can see our group adopting this as our go-to game. With an ever expanding range of books in the OneDice system, I can definitely see us buying all of them (and actually using them) Great product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Universal
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by Edwin K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/11/2015 07:50:39

First off is what Onedice is. This is a simple rules set that gives you the skeleton and muscle to run just about any game you want without having a huge amount of rules to bog down game play. You want a space cowboy game with elves running around casting spells, this rules set allows you to do it without having to search through a huge tome every time a question pops up.

What Onedice is not. This is not a product that gives you a finished game world to play in. It will take some work on the part of the GM and player's to flesh out the setting they like. Options are presented in the book as "skins", but even these are just basic overlays that are more examples of how to tweak the rules for your game than worlds you can drop players into.

Character generation is basic point buy, with options for special abilities. Advancement has the option of being level based or point buy. This is an option I wish more games employed. Game play is simple. (Single d6+modifiers vs target number)

The rules set does lack in the opponent department. While there are some creatures list in the book, they are not many. A broader selection would have been useful to use as examples if you want to convert some over from other games. Conversion, though, is very simple. (I've gotten it down enough that I can use OGL creatures on the fly.)

Onedice has become my group's rules set, even to the point that we are using it to run games in established settings from other game companies.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Universal
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by David C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/22/2014 19:06:25

Should be 4 1/2 really.

A nice light game that I plan to use as filler while waiting for the full crew to show up on RPG night.

The rules are complete, but not ready to play. The GM will need to do a bit of world building first. This is why I knocked off a half-star. Even the three "skins" provided are just enough example to set the ball rolling, they are not complete.

People looking for a ready to play light game would likely be better served by picking up one of the forthcoming genre adaptations.

I am actually planning on using this most with the settings from other games that I don't want to have to teach yet another set of game mechanics to my players to enjoy. Once they get these rules down, which should be all of five minutes, they can jump right in to any setting.

I thought the inclusion of supers as a skin was an interesting choice. It is not a genre I play much an I wondered how such a light game would handle four-colour action. It actually looks to handle it pretty well. As I read through the powers and skills I found myself mentally building certain famous comic book heroes who matched the traits. Not every power that I would have liked to see was present, but there was a good list.

The Sci-Fi skin is for a humans only universe, which is a bit of a disappointment to me. I like aliens in my soap opera. But it should be easy enough to borrow some abilities from the Fantasy and Supers skins. The rules for starships could easily be used for Mecha or other vehicles and are surprisingly elegant.

The fantasy skin presents fairly standard Elves, Dwarves and Humans, with a spell casting system. I think that "Magic" an optional attribute for worlds with spellcasters could form a good basis for psionics as well.

No art beyond the cover, which is a pity as that is fun and it would have been nice to see more.

Rating: [4 of 5 Stars!]



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Universal
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/30/2014 10:50:10

Solid game system that forms a great base for GM tweaks and unique setting development. Simple, straight forward rules make one think TWERPS on steroids. Only reason this is not 5-stars is general need to minor ducument reorganization and spell check to easy readability (but these can be overlooked by competent players). Really looking forward to addtional supplements.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Universal
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by David B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2014 19:15:45

grubman sez...

OK, I purchased this...it's digest size, so its really only about 30 pages of reading. I read the entire rulebook in about an hour. I haven't played it yet, but have played enough games (33 years of role playing) to know how this one stacks up. I'd like to give a comprehensive rules review, but to be honest, giving too detailed a mechanical review would pretty much give away the game, and might actually take away from sales because a descent GM (or game designer) could take the basics and just run with them.

Thumbs Up On the one read, I will say it's a pretty nice little light game. Very traditional meat and potatoes skill system stuff (If you are like me and don't care for artsy fartsy games). It has a very streamlined and simple core mechanic that would handle any situation (using a single D6 roll). It also has rules that cover most everything you would expect from a generic game system in the most concise, yet "complete" way possible. It has a satisfactory looking advancement system, so you could potentially use this for a longer campaign, not just one shots (although I still think it would be a sort of one-shot campaign...if that makes sense). All in all it's pretty comprehensive for such a small package.

Thumbs Down I would have liked a little art to break up the text. While the core game is pretty good at covering large ideas in a concise way, some people might be put off by the lack of more details. The game is really a centerpiece for games, not a full universal game by itself. The GM is going to have to have his own setting (that's a given), but they are going to have to invest some time in expanding and modifying the skill lists and bestiary (which sadly lacks guidelines for creating balanced "monsters"). The "skins" (genre settings, fantasy, supers, sci-fi) provided in the game are such barebones examples as to be pretty much unplayable as-is settings (although the authors are upfront about this). I think the superhero skin was a particularly poor choice, because there is no way anyone would choose this game for superheroes over other much more complete light super hero games (like Supers!, Icons, or BASH for example).

In Summary Comprehensive, concise, lite universal system with core rules that will satisfy the need of most games. Good traditional mechanics that are easy to comprehend and learn and will raise very few questions. Good for one shots or longer term play. Will require GM to do modest to a significant amount of work before playing an actual game. Will only appeal to people who like lite games and prefer to develop their character through role playing and not through cool powers.

Overall good...a little pricy for what it is (I think $2-$3 is more reasonable). I look forward to seeing what the genre games look like...but wish this one included longer "lists" (skills, vehicles, creatures & monsters) to make this more of a pick-up and play universal game out of the box with less GM work.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates