DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
Post-Apocalypse Sale













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Monster Manual Expanded (5E)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/15/2020 04:24:42

This is a must have resource for all ten of my ongoing games, with the added variety crucial in keeping players on their toes. It makes scaling combats for different party levels a breeze, with the abilty to quickly sub in a higher level variation of a lower level creature a godsend.

The only way it could possibly be better is if I could purchase it on Roll20 for easy drag and drop. Someday!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Manual Expanded (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Jungle Tomb of the Mummy Bride
Publisher: Planet X Games
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/03/2020 13:52:19

I was super excited for this module when I backed it on Kickstarter, immediately steering my Chultan explorers towards the titular Jungle Tomb for some old-fashioned exploration.

First and foremost, the flavor and tone of this is book are both terrific. My players loved hearing the detailed descriptions of various features within the pyramid, as well as encountering the uniquely twisted monsters that live therein.

However, they did soon become disillusioned with the adventure. They didn't mind it having an old-school feel of lethality and challenge to it, but they also felt that there was no real reward for their exploration. Each room is either empty or has a potentially grissly death in it, with precious few rewards to be found that seemed worthwhile. In some rooms, my players would latch onto a bit of the (terrific) description and try to figure out a puzzle that didn't exist. They wanted to engage with the place, but as written, they couldn't.

As the DM, I obviously knew a sizable prize awaited them at the adventure's conclusion and that a few items of note were scattered about, but I found myself inserting rewards or puzzles to give them some feedback on their thorough investigation. This isn't unusual in old school modules - Ruins of Undermountain is notorious for it - but it didn't land with my players the way I had hoped.

I'll defintiely be running it again - as I loved the tone and style - but I'll learn from my first run-through and ensure that some of the 'dead rooms' have a bit more to them.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Jungle Tomb of the Mummy Bride
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the insightful comments my friend. I'll take them back to the lab and make the next evolution all the better. Appreciate the support and thanks for backing the Kickstarter. - Levi
Faerie Mysteries (5E)
Publisher: Legendary Games
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/03/2020 13:47:40

This is such a fun resource! I had a blast terrifying and befuddling my players as they explored the haunted woods that led them to the door of Baba Kawa, the hag that had been tormenting their village.

Reminding me a little of the haunting rules from Pathfinder, the various mysterious (and other things) explored here are a fun way to explore a fey wonderland, akin to the new environmental effects in Tasha's, but with a bit more depth.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Faerie Mysteries (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Jamjie's Hoard of Tomes
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/03/2020 13:46:35

The concept behind this book is great. My players really enjoyed discovering tomes and making use of their downtime to study them.

For the price, it's a terrific find. I only wish there were more tomes included. I'd gladly pay more!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Jamjie's Hoard of Tomes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
I'd love to have included more tomes as well. Maybe in the sequel :) thanks for looking and for the review!
Anthology: Comprehensive Equipment
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/03/2020 13:43:14

If you're like me and you've long been disappointed with the fact that weapons in D&D 5e are little more than the dice you roll, this is the resource for you. Introducing a whole pile of new weapons, armor, weapon properties, masterwork items, firearms, and skills - it's a great way to flesh out your game to be something more than deciding whether your d8 is a longsword or a battle axe.

I don't play without it these days, with all of my games utilizing the more detailed arms and equipment included.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Anthology: Comprehensive Equipment
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ulraunt's Guide to the Planes: The Shadowfell
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/03/2020 13:41:48

This is hands down one of my favorite resources I've ever purchased on the DM's Guild. It's just such a wonderfully detailed and well organised supplement, jam-packed full of inspiring background, fun character options, and so many potential adventures that it prompted me to steer my ongoing game into the Shadowfell.

This reads like one of the good old-fashioned supplements Wizards of the Coast used to put out when they weren't limited to two adventures and an Unearthed Arcana compendium each year. Well worth the price and then some!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ulraunt's Guide to the Planes: The Shadowfell
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Under the Hateful Sun: Extreme Heat And Desert Climate Rules for D&D 5e
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/26/2020 17:07:23

If I had paid even 10 cents for this, I would feel like I had been swindled.

This is a one page Microsoft Word document converted into a PDF, in which roughly one third of the total word count is telling you to subscribe to their Patreon and follow their stream on Twitch. The rest is basically a poorly written rephrasing of information you could find in the DMG or in any free Reddit discussion on the subject.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Under the Hateful Sun: Extreme Heat And Desert Climate Rules for D&D 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Beasts of the Jungle Rot
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/26/2020 16:25:54

A must have if you're running Tomb of Annihilation. Not only is it packed full of fun new dinosaurs with which to surprise your players, but you've also got a selection of great zombified version as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beasts of the Jungle Rot
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chult: Adversaries and Allies
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/19/2020 18:20:38

This is a solid addition to any Tomb of Annhilation library, with plenty of fun adventure hooks, NPCs, and handy tables to help you flesh out your campaign.

My party recently spent a memorable evening in the Thirsty Giraffe in, which is a really well done inn, especially when you compare it to the relative lack of detail given on the two inns included in the original module.

While the formatting is a little unorthodox, there's no faulting the quality.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chult: Adversaries and Allies
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroic Maps - Drabdon City Sewer
Publisher: Heroic Maps
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/19/2020 18:18:49

This is an absolutely superb map, although that is not unusual given this is Heroic Maps we're talking about.

I recently adapted a pair of DMsGuild/DriveThruRPG adventures (Sewers Under Sandwall & Druid in the Sewers) to fit with this exquisitely done map. There are plenty of little nooks and crannies in there for your players to explore, with the high resolution making it look terrific on VTT.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Drabdon City Sewer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chultan Death Curse: Revised!
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/19/2020 18:17:43

If you're as dissatisfied with the Death Curse hook in Tomb of Annihilation as myself and my parties have been, this is a must-have. It not only makes changes to the Death Curse mechanically, but also introduces ways in which it can be rolled out more gradually, ratcheting up the tension as the game progresses, rather than holding a proverbial gun to the party's head from the outset.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chultan Death Curse: Revised!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Druid in the Sewers
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/19/2020 18:16:36

This is a really well written and fun little sewer dungeon crawl. I fused it together with another sewer adventure to make a larger dungeon full of twists and turns, with the included spore hijinx and the new creatures added bringing plenty to the table.

The final bossfight presents you with plenty of options as to how you might challenge or protect your family, and it's open-ended nature makes this a great way to potentially introduce a recurring villain.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Druid in the Sewers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Absolute Adventures: Sewers Under Sandwall (5E)
Publisher: Absolute Tabletop
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/19/2020 18:13:47

My players have had an absolute blast with this module. While it took a little tweaking to make it fit the sewers under Port Nyanzaru for our ongoing Tomb of Annihilation campaign, its mixture of weird environmental effects and kooky enemies has made for a real fun twist on a traditional dungeon crawl. The includes NPCs are a lot of fun to roleplay, especially when you have them essentially bidding for your party's allegiance.

The art included is top shelf and the writing is of a good standard. One of the better adventures I've picked up in my time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Absolute Adventures: Sewers Under Sandwall (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Encounters in Port Nyanzaru
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2020 17:09:14

Another terrific Tomb of Annhilation supplement, this collection of ready to use encounters and mini-adventures can be seamlessly plugged into your ongoing Tomb of Annihilation campaign to add further flavor to Port Nyanzaru.

With a mixture of this tome and Adventurer's League adventures, I've got my party so enamored of Port Nyanzaru that we're six sessions in and nobody is in a rush to head into the jungle!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in Port Nyanzaru
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Jungle Treks
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2020 17:07:48

This is a must-have Tomb of Annihilation supplement, with a number of wonderfully crafted and flexible encounters to introduce into your campaign. I lifted three of these and fitted them into two days of jungle travel in a recent campaign and my players absolutely loved the experience, with the whitewater river experience being a real highlight.

If you're dealing with hex crawl fatigue, a few of these mini-adventures are sure to spice up your sessions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Jungle Treks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 52 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates