DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
Post-Apocalypse Sale













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Power Outage
Publisher: Go Nerdy
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2021 23:30:29

A fairly old school chunky rpg for a game directed at kids. That said, the writer has done a good number of donations and the like and seems to be a positive force in the world



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Power Outage
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

In Darkest Warrens
Publisher: Trollish Delver Games
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2021 23:29:05

OSR micro rpg - just seems bland compared to Maze Rats



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
In Darkest Warrens
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tomb of the Twilight Queen 5E
Publisher: M.T. Black Games
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/17/2021 00:08:24

a fully fleshed out 20 -30 page dungeon for $2 - 3! What are you waiting for? You know it's a great deal!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of the Twilight Queen 5E
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Never Tell Me the Odds: The Space-Scoundrel RPG About Risking It All
Publisher: Smrvl
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/17/2021 00:05:28

If you ever wanted to run a collaborative narrative game focused 100% on your PCs wants and dreams, pick this up NOW! The art is FANTASTIC, the game is very clever and yet still at a micro-crunch level. If this still sounds good, buy this game!

P.S. I think the PDF suffices due to the low crunch, the fairly low need to reference the book once it clicks, and the low page count, but the concept and art are still certainly worth a few bucks. This is an oustanding game even in Play by e-mail / forum formats!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Never Tell Me the Odds: The Space-Scoundrel RPG About Risking It All
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

5 Questions
Publisher: Roving Band of Misfits Press
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/16/2021 23:59:04

Incredibly easy, deep, and interesting backstories rolled or determined. Great resource for any fantasy rpg!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
5 Questions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Trilemma Adventures Compendium Volume I
Publisher: Trilemma Adventures
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/16/2021 23:56:20

Holy crap these isometric maps and story hooks+ are AMAZING! If you like to run your own adventures BUY this!! This is all the inspiration you will need for dozens of sessions and you can right whole campaigns around a few of the more similarly theme maps. You won't regret this purchase!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trilemma Adventures Compendium Volume I
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mekton Zeta
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/16/2021 23:51:50

I loved this game back in the day but as an adult, I don't have the bandwith for this much crunch in my rpgs. This game is definitely showing it's age despite being a true classic.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mekton Zeta
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sharp Swords & Sinister Spells
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/16/2021 23:44:40

It's very nearly everything I want in an OSR game. If I combine this with the magic system from Maze Rats or something like Whitehack, it might be my favorite game ever! I am also keen on reading the expansion book for this game. Might change my rating for the game as a whole even. In any case, it is well written and well conceived. Give it a read!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sharp Swords & Sinister Spells
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Reef of Madness
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/16/2021 23:38:30

A fun bit of adventure with up to 3 sessions worth of material. I found only one story line interesting enough to run though. It was a bit old school with railroading necessary but we had fun over 3.5 hours playing it out. P.S. The art is super cool. Could easily be used as a one off from Saltmarsh or the like.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Reef of Madness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

We Used to be Friends: Ashcan Edition
Publisher: Firestorm Ink
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/16/2021 23:34:45

Some great ideas are here but not a complete game. I guess I'll be using Bubblegumshoe for my Riverdale / Veronica Mars type games instead.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
We Used to be Friends: Ashcan Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tiny Frontiers
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/16/2021 23:32:48

This game has all the character customization, easy to learn, micro-setting fun you could want! I just wish it had some sort of relationship or bond type mechanic so that the characters could have an easy way to fit together without elaborate backstories or full handwaving away their pasts. Otherwise, a solid title.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Frontiers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vast & Starlit
Publisher: Dig a Thousand Holes Publishing
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/16/2021 23:28:32

The background just makes it too hard to read. I gave up after a while and a couple attempts. It might be a great game but it's a terrribly rough read!



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Vast & Starlit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Short Games Digest: Volume 1
Publisher: San Jenaro Co-Op
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2021 18:45:15

There is so much original and fun content in this volume! I personally loved Clerics which is a game where the players except the GM run Clerics in a party that never gives Clerics the respect they deserve. Very old school game feel with a hilarious "AI" for the non-cleric character NPCs. I am looking forward to reading and playing more digest games in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Short Games Digest: Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
Publisher: Tuesday Knight Games
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/18/2019 12:31:49

A fantastic game for re-creating Alien or Aliens type games. The art is GREAT! The tables are evocative. It has a true old school feel about it. Most of the mechanics are very basic - roll under stat on a d100. The stress roll and the panic rolls really give each monster or bizarre encounter a true horror movie feel. The best part of the book though is that the character sheets include a flow chart for how to design them which simplifies character creation a shocking amount. The flow chart makes character creation so intuitive. It is the only RPG I have ever played where no one needed to ask any questions (except about items).

Some of the rules are not well defined and no setting is included. This may bother some purchasers but this game is about 100% old-school style gaming with heavy GM Fiat so rules clarifications do not slow the game down. I would also recommend picking up Mothership: The Dead Planet supplement so that you can be ready to play with a few random rolls. It includes a few INCREDIBLE set pieces but you still need to make your own setting for this game.

That said, the game has a serious space horror feel to it so the inspiration is easy to come by.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mothership: Dead Planet
Publisher: Tuesday Knight Games
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/18/2019 12:26:50

The graphics and layout of this supplement are incredible! The spaceship creation for derelict ships is very clever. It is not quite quick enough to roll the whole ship up in a moment but it can easly be done with 10 minutes of prep to generate an entire side mission! It can also be done virtually room by room after "The Warden" (aka GM) rolls how many rooms there will be. This plus the map of the derelict ship of the Alexis with details of the rooms and items to be found there are easily worth $5 by themselves. Then, you get a number of random lists ranging from names of books in the captains rooms to how to move the monster if you want it moved randomly to tables for generating NPCs on the "Dead Planet". Then, add in the hooks for landing on the planet, the map of the base, and then a third adventure and you have quite the starter supplement!

That said, this is an old-school style game. There is a fair amount of GM Fiat and the game as written can be deadly. No worries there though, you can still have a spaceship full of cryo-sleeping crew to replace their dead mates or slow down the madness as "The Warden".

The monsters in this module are somewhat standard sort of xenomorphs and the plot is a bit of a railroad but again, there is nothing stopping you from spicing it up. Instead of waiting and buying the expensive new Alien rpg, grab this and have fun now!

I also wanted to point out that because success is instantly known in this version of the d00 system used AND high DM fiat, I have been running a very successful game of this by forum.

I can't wait for future supplements for this game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Dead Planet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 40 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates