DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Star Trek Adventures: Core Rulebook $19.99
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
53 19
18 2
6 1
4 0
1 2
Star Trek Adventures: Core Rulebook
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Star Trek Adventures: Core Rulebook
Publisher: Modiphius
by Seamus C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/02/2021 12:34:12

"Star Trek Adventures, like Star Trek at large, certainly could manage a blockbuster event, or a Dominion or Burn-style long arc, but it sings as an episodic game, and I think that’s because the game trusts its players to bring what they know and love of Trek to the table and fly “second star to the right — and straight on ’til morning.”" - Seamus Conneely

Read the full CHG review here: https://cannibalhalflinggaming.com/2021/04/02/star-trek-adventures-in-depth-review/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Core Rulebook
Publisher: Modiphius
by William B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/28/2020 15:34:04

This is the best Star Trek game to date....the artwork and layout of the books alone is worth the buy !!

This game captures the feeling of Star trek !!

The online support is amazing, there is also a free character generator on their homepage, a real boost for the struggeling GM !!

5 stars and two thumbs up !!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Core Rulebook
Publisher: Modiphius
by Stephen M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/11/2020 23:06:08

This is the Star Trek RPG I've been waiting year to see. So in depth, so in universe, it is absolutly fantastic. Amazing art, great "in character" commentary, and the 2d20 system fits the federation team all working together perfectly. Theres also a great Living Campaign that goes with this, on top of the mountains of published adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Core Rulebook
Publisher: Modiphius
by Adrian S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/01/2019 19:44:49

As a long-term but casual fan, I've never been tempted to try a Star Trek RPG before, despite the previous incarnations; but I am glad that I have run Star Trek Adventures as this game has become a staple at my table. As one would expect with game built on existing intellectual property, it presents ways 'to boldly go', exploring the galaxy and the myriad of tales and encounters that such a rich franchise offers. The default time period is Star Trek: The Next Generation, but it provides plenty of advice for adapting the game to other parts of the Star Trek chronology.

The book is remarkably comprehensive in both the types of Starfleet roles, and alien races represented across the organisation. Equipment and starships runs the list of the iconic and easily recognisable, essentially giving you all the tools to make this feel like an episode of Star Trek.

Character creation is a points-buy system modified by Life Path. We found the Life Path extremely useful to generate quirks and to shape broader views for each character that really provides a spark of life and key ideas around which any player can anchor the portrayal of their character. There is flexibility in the Life Path to either roll for a result, or select a result that directly aligns with the players ideas. This is a rewarding part of character creation; and gave some great motivations for the characters at our table (from the Bajoran Medical Officer who studied medicine after his village was ravaged by disease, to our Vulcan overcoming an 'illogical' distrust of transporters after an accident almost left him dead).

Where the system really excels is in the inclusion of Values. As the word suggests, these are core beliefs that influence a characters’ behaviour and how they respond to situations. They require a lot of thought from the player, but offer a rich yet simple tool for role-playing. Interestingly, they come into play by offering some advantages when a character acts in accordance with their Values, but can cause internal conflict if situations arise that challenge that Value. For example, a Medical Officer with the Value ‘No One Dies On My Watch’ is vigorous in the defence of life and will exhaust every opportunity to preserve personnel. However, what happens to this character if a member of the Away Team willingly sacrifices themselves for the team? Lots of potential for storytelling and good roleplaying here.

The system uses the 2D20 system, and players use a combination of Attributes and Disciplines to generate the Target Number under which they must roll to succeed. Difficulty is achieved by increasing the number of successful dice rolls, and this streamlines the system well. The mechanics I enjoyed most was Momentum, and Threat – the two enjoy a symbiotic relationship that provides a good flow and pace for the game. Momentum points are generated by extra successes (or agreeing to add Threat points to the pool), can be used to buy more dice for a roll, and are accessible by all players. They can also be spent for a range of in-game effects too. Threat, on the other hand, is spent by the GM to introduce challenges, reinforcements, complications, and the like. As such the two pools work to create a dynamic play environment.

We played a long session of the game to try it out and found that character creation took about half an hour, and it took about that long again to completely pick up the rules smoothly. I created a ‘cheat sheet’ of the main rules and page numbers in advance (took me about an hour), and the session moved at a good pace – almost as though we’d been playing for months. The game mechanics supported the feeling that this was a game of Star Trek and it was thoroughly enjoyed by everyone.

The only point for improvement I noted was the book layout. There’s a lot of white space, and random deck plans, images, and communiqués inserted that don’t add a lot to the text. The section on the chronology of the universe wasn’t especially helpful; presented as a series of in-universe documents that the reader needs to contextualise. I found the Memory Alpha wiki timeline to be a great replacement for this chapter, which is a shame, because casual fans like myself don’t have an in-depth working knowledge of the universe – we just enjoy it as entertainment, and now want to game in the same universe. That said, it’s an easily remedied situation, so it should not stop you from buying the book.

I highly recommend this book, as it makes the universe highly accessible to fans who want an enjoyable, thematic win when experiencing the opportunity to boldly go where no one has gone before.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Core Rulebook
Publisher: Modiphius
by Brian D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/27/2019 13:35:52

The top thing I can say about this one is that it captures a specifically Star Trek feeling perfectly (the original series/movies, that is, and not the reboot movies, thankfully). Exploration, discovery, personal values, and so forth are stressed over combat (although it does feature a solid if slightly streamlined combat system with the more complex starship combat rules being particularly enjoyable). I've seen the 2d20 system used for a couple of other properties now and I like how they tailor it for the various settings in ways that are meant to capture the proper feeling each time. In the case of Star Trek Adventures, they've done an excellent job with that cusomization.

The 2d20 system is simple to teach - perhaps 5-10 minuites for everything a player really needs to know to get started, with the rest naturally folding in during play. Even with the tweaks mentioned above, if somebody is famliiar with one of the other incarnations of 2d20, they'll have no problem at all merely diving right in with this one. It isn't particularly "rules light"; merely conhesive and logical in that way that allows one to easily fill in the blanks for any specific rule or system without having to stop and hit the rulebook in the middle of a play session. Players are given a lot of agency here - for example, being able to up the GM's ability to throw curveballs at them in exchange for benefits in the moment. That level of agency makes an easy-to-comprehend system particularly important, as it means the players need a somewhat higher understanding of the system so that they also have a grasp on the consequences of their decisions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Core Rulebook
Publisher: Modiphius
by Joachim D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/15/2019 10:14:19

First of all I tought that FFG`s WH40K game was the most jumbled RPG so far until I got this book. There is no-absoluetly no-information on any technological items game effect except for weapons and personal defense. There is in all honesty a usless long explanation of what a Tricorder is, but nothing about how to use it in game. I am lucky that I am only going to play this game and not GMìng it. Should be interessting tough. I will get everything out of my Equipment that is not too far fetched, because there is no rule but sanity itself on what that equipment is capable of or not. :) Otherwise I give points for the artwork, the idea to be able to play an officer and to have spaceships that really involve the players. Problematic about this is the fact that under "Operating a Starship" you will not find any game rules, only fluff text. I fear one has to read the entire book to find everything as it seems strewn far across the pages. And that is a major problem with anything. Interesting to note is that "Starship Combat" is very clearly detailed. So I think this game will be easiest if you just play combat oriented adventures.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Core Rulebook
Publisher: Modiphius
by Matthew B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2019 15:27:12

A game is more than just a set of rules. It's the feeling you get when you play it. I have never seen a better job of crafting the appropriate feeling for a game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Core Rulebook
Publisher: Modiphius
by George R. I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/17/2018 13:49:48

It is a very good product. I had purchased the hardbound white text on black pages and found it a little hard to read (I am getting older lol) so I thought it was nice to find a copy of black text on white pages. The book is easier to print specific pages for better viewing. I also spent the time to laminate the printed copy so it can last longer. It is a great deal in that you get three copies of the item for a good price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Core Rulebook
Publisher: Modiphius
by Donovan G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/11/2018 17:20:11

This system is incredibly simple to get into with a surprising amount of depth under the surface. The way that Attributes/Systems can tie in to Disciplines/Departments in any way is clever, and the sheer ease with which you can hammer together a full crew for an adventure is just a delight. The entire system is buttery smooth... for adventures in the mid-to-late 2360s and early 2370s, as a Starfleet crew.

That may be ultimately the system's only weakness--playing outside of that specific time period or as something other than a Starfleet crew isn't covered yet under the creation rules. This is likely by design--lots of systems do this. The core book for Exalted, at least the second edition for instance, only covered rules for playing as the Solar Exalted with some very minor touches of playing as a Heroic Mortal and tantalizing hints of playing as one of the other types of Exalted. If you wanted the rules for the Lunar Exalted, you had to pick up the Lunar Exalted sourcebook.

Now, giving credit where it's quite due, this lets the core book be about the rules of gameplay without unnecessarily bloating it to fill every nuance. A majority of the book covers the system, the equipment, the starships, and creating a character. A clever GM can, thus, use the established rules to create their own rules for other species, such as the Romulans or the Bolians, or even to create their own. So, let's summarize:

PROS Very easy to grasp rules, good for veterans and newbies alike Copious examples given to help mitigate confusion during creation or play Adherence to canon for any sticklers (as best they can adhere, anyway) New characters out the gate feel good at their jobs, compared to graduating the Academy and not knowing a self-sealing stem bolt from a plasma converter

CONS Very little rule-touching for the 22nd and 23rd centuries (though I understand a 23rd century supplement is "coming") Very little rule-touching for the later parts of the 2370s, such as the Sovereign class No rules for the Federation Peregrine attack-fighter? Sad GM. I had to make my own up for my Akira adventure but ah well

All in all, worth the buy if you want to play/run an RPG on the final frontier.

Let's see what's out there. Warp six, engage!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Core Rulebook
Publisher: Modiphius
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/22/2017 14:09:29

http://www.teilzeithelden.de

Die besondere Dynamik einer Star Trek-Brückencrew war entscheidend für den Erfolg der Serien. Star Trek Adventures bietet nun die Möglichkeit, als Teil einer Crew dieses besondere Gefühl zu erleben. Also schnappt euch einen Phaser und stellt mit uns den ersten Kontakt her.

Die Kelvin-Zeitlinie oder Neue Zeitlinie hat dem Star Trek-Universum vieles eröffnet. Darunter die jüngeren Filme mit einer Neubesetzung der TOS-Crew oder das Spiel Star Trek Online. Das kann man mögen oder nicht. Fakt ist aber, dass dadurch ein ganz neues Erlebnis entstehen konnte, mit mehr Freiraum für Fans, einer selbstgestalteten Zukunft und jetzt sogar einem weiteren Rollenspiel.

Die Spielwelt „Der Weltraum – Unendliche Weiten ...“

Wer kennt diese berühmte Einleitung nicht? Das Universum von Star Trek wurde im Laufe der Jahrzehnte ausführlich beschrieben – nicht nur in Filmen, Romanen und Spielen, sondern sogar in wissenschaftlichen Abhandlungen. Durch die Kelvin-Zeitlinie und den damit einhergehenden neuen Erscheinungen auf allen Plattformen hat sich Star Trek ein wenig von dem Ruf befreit, nur für Nerds zu sein. Wer sich dennoch in den Quadranten nicht genügend auszukennen glaubt, erhält eine ausführliche Beschreibung im vorliegenden Regelwerk.

Die Sternenkarte auf den ersten Seiten ist nur der Anfang. Man lernt etwas über die Quadranten, die unterschiedlichen Planeten darin, die in Klassen eingeteilt werden, und ihre Spezifika. Darunter Klima- und Atmosphärenwerte oder auch potenzielle Gefahren. Wenn schon Klasse-J-Planeten, Gasriesen mit extremen Wetterbedingungen, gefährlich wirken, entdeckt man danach die Nebel, Stürme und anderen Gefahren des Raumes – inklusive Supernovae oder Ionenstürme und deren Auswirkungen auf Schiffe in ihrer Nähe.

Fremde Spezies werden vorgestellt, zusammen mit den dazugehörigen Fraktionen, besonderen Schiffen, Waffen oder sonstigen Errungenschaften. Egal ob Bird-of-Prey, D’Deridex oder Galor-Klasse, man findet seine Lieblingsschiffe inklusive relevanter Werte wieder.

Auch die Technologien werden beleuchtet. Nahkampfwaffen, darunter auch das berühmte Bat’leth, oder Phaser und Disruptoren lassen das Herz höherschlagen. Vielleicht noch interessanter sind natürlich die besonderen technologischen Errungenschaften: Hypospray, Holoemitter oder künstliche Organe sind nur einige Beispiele.

Spätestens wenn es an die besondere Ausstattung der Schiffe geht, werden die Varianten beinahe endlos. Je nach Ära sind andere Schiffe zugänglich und mit verschiedenen Waffen, Antriebsvarianten und anderen technischen Neuerungen bestückt. Sogar eigene Talente können ausgewählt werden. Statt Kaffee, Tee oder Curryhuhn, wie wäre es mal mit Fischstäbchen aus dem Replikator? The sky is the limit.

Nicht zuletzt gibt es Informationen über die Sternenflotte: einen geschichtlichen Abriss, diplomatische Beziehungen und im Allgemeinen die Ziele und Wertvorstellungen der Vereinigten Föderation der Planeten, zu deren Schutz sie existiert.

Neben der sowieso schon umfangreichen Vorlage können natürlich neue, unerforschte Welten hinzuerfunden werden. Ein offenes Universum für Forscher und Entdecker.

Die Regeln Das 2W20-System von Modiphius findet in Star Trek Adventures zum fünften Mal Anwendung, und es wurden nur wenige Anpassungen gemacht, damit System und Spielwelt harmonieren.

Erzählerisch orientiert sich das Regelwerk an dem Trend, die Geschichte in verschiedene Szenen zu ordnen. Verschiedene Traits helfen dem Spielleiter, eine Szene zu gestalten und die Grenzen der möglichen Handlungen abzusehen. Ein spezieller Stationstyp, Dunkelheit oder der Zustand der Energieversorgung sind einige Beispiele. Man wird ermutigt, die Spieler in den Prozess der Szenengestaltung mit einzubeziehen. Neben diesen generellen Traits, die keine direkten Auswirkungen auf Proben haben sollen, sondern rein atmosphärisch sind, gibt es auch Advantages und Complications. Durch diese werden Proben leichter, schwerer oder es entstehen ganz andere Vor- bzw. Nachteile. Wichtig für den Spielverlauf ist, dass die möglichen Folgen eines Scheiterns den Spielern vorher mitgeteilt werden.

Zwei zwanzigseitige Würfel bilden die Grundlage für jede Probe. Durch verschiedene Faktoren, wie zum Beispiel das Ausgeben von Momentum, können daraus bis zu maximal fünf werden. Die Schwierigkeit der Proben bewegt sich zwischen null, dann ist keine Probe nötig, und fünf erforderlichen Erfolgen. Ziel ist es, einen Wert (Target Number), der sich aus dem Attribut und der Discipline zusammensetzt, zu treffen oder zu unterwürfeln. Für jeden Würfel, mit dem das gelingt, erhält man einen Erfolg. Zusätzlich bekommt man Extraerfolge, wenn eine Eins fällt, oder ein Charakter Spezialwissen nutzen kann und der Wurf gleich oder besser als der entsprechende Fertigkeitswert ist. Jede 20 sorgt für Complications, überzählige Erfolge generieren Momentum, das wiederum für Bonuswürfel oder andere Vorteile eingesetzt werden kann.

Vergleichende Proben gewinnt immer derjenige, der mehr Momentum generiert. Sollte es einen Gleichstand geben, gewinnt der SC vor dem NSC.

Statt Momentum auszugeben, kann man dem Spielleiter auch immer Threat überlassen. Auf Dauer ist das keine gute Wahl, denn diese Ressource gibt dem SL viele Möglichkeiten, den Spielern das Leben schwer zu machen. Spätestens im finalen Gefecht des Abends wird der Threat-Pool bis auf den letzten Punkt ausgegeben und zum Nachteil der Spieler genutzt.

Determination ist wohl die Königin der besonderen Möglichkeiten. Wenn man so richtig tief in die Raumschifflatrine gegriffen hat, kann dieses seltene Gut dafür sorgen, dass man alle Würfel neu würfeln, zusätzliche Aktionen ausführen oder sogar einen Szenenvorteil erschaffen darf.

Dazu kommen die W6, welche hauptsächlich als sogenannte Challenge Dice für Schadensberechnungen und Deckung genutzt werden. Wie in vorigen Adaptionen des 2W20-Systems stehen die verschiedenen Ergebnisse dabei für ganz unterschiedliche Schadenswerte: Während die Eins, Fünf und Sechs den Stresslevel des Ziels jeweils um eins erhöhen, und in den letzten beiden Fällen auch noch Zusatzeffekte auslösen, addiert man bei einer Zwei sogar zwei Schaden dazu. Die Drei und die Vier sind Nieten.

Zur Veranschaulichung ein Beispiel:

Während einer Außenmission wurde ein Crewmitglied gefangen genommen und verhört. Was sind die Pläne der Sternenflotte? Warum sind sie auf dem Planeten? Mit einer Mischung aus Gewalt und Befragung wird dem armen Charakter zu Leibe gerückt. Der NSC würfelt mit zwei W20 gegen eine Schwierigkeit von eins, da er unter Zeitdruck ist. Das Attribut Control und sein Wert in der Discipline Security, zu der das Verhören zählt, ergeben 14. Die Würfel zeigen eine 13 und eine 16, damit gelingt ein Erfolg. Das Verhör zeigt Wirkung, aber es wird kein zusätzliches Momentum bzw. Threat generiert. Nun versucht der Spieler dagegenzuhalten. Mit Control und Command (insgesamt 15) muss er gegen eine Schwierigkeit von zwei würfeln. Er ist verletzt und im Nachteil, das macht es ihm schwer, durchzuhalten. Da die anderen Crewmitglieder durch sein Scheitern in Gefahr gebracht werden würden und das seinen Prinzipien widerspricht, gibt der Spieler einen Determination-Punkt aus und kann die Schwierigkeit auf eins senken. Mit einer 14 und 15 schafft er zwei Erfolge, generiert einen Punkt Momentum und hält tapfer durch. Jetzt muss er nur noch gefunden werden, bevor der Verhör lange genug andauert, dass noch einmal gewürfelt wird ...

Und was ist mit Raumschiffkämpfen? Natürlich sind auch diese berücksichtigt. Und erfreulicherweise laufen sie fast genauso ab wie andere Kämpfe auch. Natürlich müssen die verschiedenen Stationen gesteuert werden, und nur gemeinsam kann man erfolgreich agieren. Gerade das sollte es aber besonders spannend machen, gegen Feinde im Raum anzutreten.

Beim Schaden sieht es ähnlich aus: Stresslevel und Wunden werden den humanoiden Lebensformen zum Verhängnis, Systemausfälle und Hüllenbrüche gefährden Schiffe.

Phaser auf Töten zu stellen, erhöht übrigens den Threat-Pool des Spielleiters und ist damit immer ein Sonderfall. Der Normalfall sieht eine nicht-tödliche Lösung vor.

Charaktererschaffung Bevor ihr bereit seid, als Teil der Sternenflotte, entweder frisch von der Akademie oder vielleicht auch schon weiter oben auf der Karriereleiter, den tiefen Raum zu erkunden, müsst ihr euch entscheiden, welche Zeit ihr durchleben wollt. Die drei vorgegebenen Kategorien sind: Enterprise, Original Series oder Next Generation. Grob liegen jeweils hundert Jahre dazwischen, und durch den technologischen Fortschritt soll sich entsprechend ein anderes Spielgefühl einstellen. Das Regelwerk bezieht sich hauptsächlich auf die letzte Kategorie, welche in etwa um das Jahr 2371 angesiedelt ist.

Die Erschaffung eines Charakters beginnt mit seinen Values. Damit sind persönliche Wertvorstellungen gemeint, das Fundament seiner Moral und die ethischen Grundsätze, die das spätere Handeln bestimmen. Das sind nicht nur leere Worthülsen, die man da aufs Papier bringt, sondern ein wichtiges Spielelement: Um die oben genannten Determination-Punkte zu verwenden, muss die Situation zu einer der Values passen. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass man einen der stärksten Boni in kritischen Spielsituationen nur dann nutzen kann, wenn der Charakter etwas tut, das seinen Wertvorstellungen entspricht.

Danach beginnt die Charaktererstellung mit einem so genannten Lifepath, sieben Schritte, die die Vergangenheit, Herkunft und Entwicklung desselben bis zum Start der Runde widerspiegeln. Wem das nicht liegt, der kann auch per Zufallstabelle auswürfeln oder sogar eine Art Schnellerstellung machen, in der viele Details offengelassen werden. Letzteres ist nur erfahrenen Spielern zu empfehlen und im Regelfall für Support-Charaktere gedacht.

Die für jeden Charakter enorm wichtigen Attribute reichen von den drei physischen Werten Control, Daring und Fitness zu den mentalen Insight, Presence und Reason. Diese variieren zwischen sieben und zwölf, wobei eine Bezifferung mit acht den Durchschnittshumanoiden repräsentiert. Dazu kommen die Disciplines, welche wie Fertigkeiten funktionieren. Der Charakter kennt sich eventuell gut im wissenschaftlichen Bereich aus oder ist eher der Ingenieur. Bis zu fünf Punkte kann eine Kategorie umfassen. Jeder Charakter beginnt mit dem Minimalwert von sieben in allen Attributen und den Disciplines auf eins.

Zuerst wählt man eine Spezies aus. Je nachdem, ob Andorianer, Tellarit oder Vulkanier gewählt wird, erhält man andere Attribute (aber immer auf drei Attribute eine Steigerung von eins), einen volksspezifischen Trait, besondere Talente und einen Talentpunkt. Der Talentpunkt kann frei investiert werden. Was kann der Charakter besonders gut? Bonuswürfel und -erfolge sind nur einige der Vorteile durch Talente. Insgesamt stehen im Kapitel zur Charaktererschaffung acht Spezies zur Auswahl, aber dankenswerterweise werden weiter hinten auch Werte für die NSC-Spezies geliefert, sollte man diese mit auf seine Brücke lassen. So werden auch Klingonen, Romulaner, Ferengi und andere Spezies spielbar.

Daraufhin legt man fest, wie und wo der Charakter aufgewachsen ist. Das kann auf dem Heimatplaneten sein, einer entfernten Kolonie oder gar auf einer Sternenbasis. Ein Attribut und eine Discipline werden entsprechend gesteigert. Außerdem wählt man eine Value aus, die zum Hintergrund passt. Der starke Bezug auf die Geschichte ist ein Merkmal der 2W20-Systeme von Modiphius und wird auch hier gut in Szene gesetzt. Wenn einem selbst keine markanten Sätze für ideelle Leitfäden einfallen, helfen die vielen gegebenen Beispiele.

Erziehung und Bildung prägen jedes Lebewesen. Daher wird im nächsten Schritt ermittelt, ob man zum Händler oder Farmer, Diplomat oder Wissenschaftler ausgebildet wurde und aus welchen familiären Verhältnissen man kommt. Wieder gibt es dafür ein Talent, Attribute und Disciplines.

Welchen Weg schlug man während der Ausbildung an der Akademie ein? Wurde das blaue, gelbe oder rote Shirt übergestreift? Zusätzlich entscheidet man danach, ob man ein Frischling ist, schon etwas Erfahrung hat oder ein Veteran ist. Erneut spiegelt die Auswahl sich in den Charakterwerten wider.

Ein prägendes Ereignis soll man sich als vorletzten Schritt aussuchen. Vielleicht verstarb ein Freund, oder der Charakter war sogar bei einem Erstkontakt mit einer fremden Spezies dabei. Auch so etwas formt und findet sich auf dem Charakterbogen wieder.

Zu guter Letzt wählt man einen Namen aus, beschreibt das Aussehen, besorgt sich etwas Ausrüstung und muss sich Gedanken über Rang und Rolle auf dem Schiff sowie über das soziale Umfeld machen. Da wird sicherlich auch der Spielleiter gefragt sein.

Und jetzt? Auf der Brücke melden!

Durch das offene System hat man eine schier unbegrenzte Anzahl an Möglichkeiten, kann in wenigen Minuten oder selbst in der ausführlichsten Variante in etwa 30 Minuten einen Charakter erstellen und loslegen. Interessant ist auch die Erstellung von Support-Charakteren. Jeder Spieler hat die Chance, solche unterstützende Crewmitglieder zu erstellen und mit diesen an mehreren Orten zu agieren, das Schiff mit Leben zu füllen und so vieles mehr. Hier zeigt sich unter anderem der Schwerpunkt dieses Rollenspiels. Nicht der Kampf, sondern die Interaktion liegt im Fokus.

Spielbericht Ein Spielbericht wird voraussichtlich im Februar nachgeliefert.

Erscheinungsbild Ein dunkelblauer Hintergrund, LCARS-Anzeigen (Library Computer Access and Retrieval System, also die bunten Knöpfe auf den Bildschirmen aller möglichen Föderationsgeräte in Star Trek) und eine solide Anzahl an Grafiken und Schemata lassen sich auf den ersten Blick gut an. Genaueres Hinsehen offenbart aber einige Schwächen in der Umsetzung. Durch den dunklen Hintergrund des Regelwerks sind gerade längere Textpassagen anstrengend zu lesen und ermüden die Augen. Grafiken müssen teils hell eingerahmt sein, damit sie sich vom Hintergrund absetzen. Leider ist die Umsetzung davon etwas missglückt. Natürlich kann man die druckerfreundliche Version in Anspruch nehmen, dort stören wiederum die orangenen oder violetten Passagen den Leser. Glücklicherweise hat Modiphius reagiert und eine überarbeitete Version mit hellem Hintergrund nachgeliefert, die es auf Nachfrage auch im Print on Demand gibt.

Über die Auswahl und Ausführung der Bilder kann man sich sicherlich streiten. Ein moderner Zeichenstil hätte in vielen Fällen mehr zum SciFi-Thema gepasst, und besonders verwaschene Varianten stören sogar das Erlebnis.

Ansonsten kann man das Regelwerk gut lesen, es ist sinnvoll gesetzt und hat einen praktischen Index, mit dem man sich auf den 374 Seiten schnell zurechtfindet.

Der Charakterbogen passt auf eine DIN-A4-Seite. Er ist übersichtlich und einfach. Das lässt auch Einsteiger schnell die richtigen Werte finden.

Kleiner Tipp: In der PDF kann man einfach im Inhaltsverzeichnis auf die gesuchten Kapitel klicken und springt direkt dorthin.

Bonus/Downloadcontent Ein Quickstart-Guide ist gratis verfügbar.

Wie schon in anderen 2W20-Adaptionen gibt es speziell gestaltete Würfel.

Auch Miniaturen sind separat erhältlich.

Fazit In Star Trek Adventures spielt man eine Föderationscrew, die ganz wie in den bekannten Serien zu Abenteuern aufbricht, erforscht und notfalls auch kämpft. Das Regelwerk ist nicht schlecht gestaltet, aber gewöhnungsbedürftig. Der dunkle Hintergrund sorgt auf Dauer für angestrengte Augen, doch hat Modiphius reagiert und nun eine weniger irritierende Version nachgeliefert. Die Regeln sind gut auf das Universum zugeschnitten und die Möglichkeiten zur Gestaltung einer Rollenspielrunde sind schier grenzenlos. Eine durchdachte Charaktererschaffung, die lebendige Welt und vor allem das Potenzial, das in der Einfachheit des Systems steckt, wirken gut zusammen. Die Support-Charaktere sind eine schöne Idee, die für Diversität auf einem Schiff sorgt, und bieten auch dem Spielleiter einen Hebel in den Geschichten, die er erzählt. Diplomatische Einsätze oder gefährliche Außenmissionen sind ebenso möglich wie Schiffskämpfe. Das System legt den Fokus auf Rollenspielelemente, tödliche Situationen sind selten und schwierig zu erreichen.

Das ist genau das, was die Föderation in Star Trek immer verfolgt hat: Die diplomatische Lösung und die friedliche Interaktion. Fans und erzählorientierte Spieler mit Interesse am Star Trek-Universum kommen mit Star Trek Adventures voll auf ihre Kosten. Leider muss man sagen, dass ohne dieses grundlegende Interesse der Zugang sichtlich schwer wird. Für den Preis des PDF kann man aber selbst dann mal reinschnuppern.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Core Rulebook
Publisher: Modiphius
by Mario C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2017 00:07:25

Over all this book is great and my is ir pretty to look at. The layout is fairly simple to fallow. What hooked me was the life path character creation.

Haven't played it yet,but will update as soon as I do.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Core Rulebook
Publisher: Modiphius
by Neil H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2017 10:10:26

Overall it's a great system, good-looking book, easy-to-understand rules, and contains an engaging beginning mission to try at the end. The way this game breaks everything down to missions and scenes inside a mission, make it far easier to play over a lunch hour too! You can play any era you want- 22nd, 23rd, or 24th century. The book is laid out with the art style of the 24th century (Next Generation/DS9/Voyager).

Art and Layout

The art is fantastic and inspiring, and each chapter is an easy read. Your first three chapters give you a real understanding of what Starfleet is about, and really sets the stage before it gets into the mechanics and character creation in chapters 4 and 5. It's also a refreshing system as a DM to use a system that doesn't solely focus around combat.

Character Creation

Unlike any other system I've played, Star Trek Adventures has players rolling up their origins (or you can pick and choose). Were you born on a homeworld, star base, colony? You'll get stats for certain attributes and disciplines based on that. It's a fun way for players to interact (perhaps they were born on the same planet based on one roll, moved away in the next, and reunited in Starfleet Academy). It's an absolutely fun process.

Science

The real mechanic in Star Trek is science! You can invent a lot of technobabble. If you want to learn what this alien or phenomena is, there's a great observe/hypothesize/test mechanic, and when an engineering problem comes up, the Extended Task mechanic keeps things driven.

Combat

Combat can happen, but there's threat involved if you use violence without diplomacy. Starfleet isn't about going in guns blazing. However, if combat is inevitable, it took 2 encounters for my players and I to understand how it properly works. I ended up having to stream-line the process by writing it down in my words in a separate document.

Same with Starship Combat. Having all players new to the system, I essentially wrote down each starship position and the actions they can do from that system (and how much difficulty it would be to roll that). It took one and a half encounters to really know how to fight in space.

Rules

The rules appear very easy to understand at first, but also very easy to overlook things. For example, Momentum is what players generate when they succeed so well at a task, and they can do a great many things with it. However, I missed the part where they can only have up to 6 saved at a time, and each successive 'buy' for Momentum has cost increases. In the first mission of Xerxes IV, my players had up to 37 Momentum to guarantee a lot of successful tasks.

The hardest part for me is Threat- the opposite of Momentum. The GM is encouraged to spend it as often as players spend Momentum. I feel I sabatoge my own original mission designs when I have to create a new threat to the environment, but it thankfully gets easier to anticipate these things the more I GM.

Final Thoughts

I love this game, and have gotten a fair amount of praise and excitement from my players. Character creation is fun and engaging, the gameplay mechanics and rules are fairly easy to understand.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Core Rulebook
Publisher: Modiphius
by Thomas J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/31/2017 10:15:10

The Good: I'm coming off of running two sessions of Star Trek Adventures, and I'm very satisfied with the system. It seems to take the best things from a lot of different systems and combine them into something cohesive and fun. The two groups I ran had a good time, which is most important, but I also think this RPG fosters a spirit of cooperation and diplomacy over "kicking in the door and killing things," which is important for Star Trek to do.

The history of Star Trek setting in the book is SUPER interesting. As a long time Trekker, I learned a couple things about the setting, so I know it was thoroughly researched.

The Bad: There are some typos in the book, but I'm sure they'll be fixed in errata or a new printing.

It also feels like the players should have a decent working knowledge of Star Trek to play. I think the setting information helps, but I had a few people unfamiliar with Star Trek playing, and they seemed a little bit lost for a lot of the play session.

Overall, it's a good book, worthy of your money. The setting information alone is worth the price of admission.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Core Rulebook
Publisher: Modiphius
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/04/2017 14:51:21

First off; the book is beautifully styled, with TNG era LCARS elements adding visual flare to sidebars and headers. The STA Corebook also seems to be well laid out for the most part.

If you are familiar with the events of the Star Trek series and the ethics of Starfleet, you can skip ahead to chapter 04, which gets into the dice and basic game mechanics.

As a fan of Star Trek, i can say that the most entertaining stories in the setting are not simple binary moral quandries, the best bring the individual characters' ethics and values to the forefront to cause tension and conflict and drive the plot forward. STA represents this with the values and determination sub-system.

Character Creation was a unique experience for me, i thought more about WHO my character was and less about WHAT they can do. The Lifepath system has you add values at certain points of creation, long standing ideals that may be challenging to overcome. The creation system also asks you a number of questions throughout the process that make you think about WHO not WHAT your character is. In short...mechanical creation can be done in about 15 to 30 minutes, depending on how fast you write and how clear your concept is. Character creation however takes me about an hour and a half because for the first time...WHO i am in the game matters.

Character development in STA is less about statiscal boosts as it is about personal change and growth. For the most part you will be re-arranging your stats not boosting them, Arc milestones being the only 'level up' that allows you to add to your character without subtracting.

In closing, I feel as if the team at modiphius were more concentrated on the Trek Feel and less about selling a game system.

2D20 has been assimilated. It's mechanical and statistical distinctiveness have been added to the Trek. Resistance is Futile.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Core Rulebook
Publisher: Modiphius
by Emmanuel P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/04/2017 03:56:09

I love 2D20 Conan, Mutant Chronicles 2D20 is a blast to play and Infinity looks very romising. It s beyond me, why Modiphius recently began to water down their very good house system and tries to bend it into something else FATEeresk with John Carter and STA. The layout is gorgeous as I am used to from Modiphius and I still remain a faithful Modiphius fan but this new take on their 2D20 system recently is rather disappointing. Just my 2 cents, others might disagree.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 24 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates