DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Solo Adventure Bundle 1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/22/2020 03:54:09

It's hands down the best gamebook I ever seen. The choices are sound and not restricting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Solo Adventure Bundle 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

50 Story Prompts and Hooks from Norse Mythos
Publisher: Lost Dutchman Publishing
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2020 03:04:55

I put 2 stars, not 1 only because thebthe book is true to original sources. More or less. There are very few hooks in here. No starters either. Do yourself a favor, reread Edda instead



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
50 Story Prompts and Hooks from Norse Mythos
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Amazing Tales, complete kids' RPG
Publisher: Amazing Tales
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/05/2018 18:14:17

Tried it with my 5yo daughter. Several sessions so far. The game tottaly does everything it's up to. It's very easy to pick and to explain, but it's flexible and it can deal with any situation or your kid's idea. And the book is short (which is good for me)

To create a character you ask the player what their PC can do. Settle the names for those (my daughter first said 'command', but changed her mind in favor of a broader 'be a queen') Then ask the player, what is PC best at? Repeat 3 more times.

The roll mechanics is easy. Each ability assigned a dice (d12, d10, d8, d6). The player rolls it - 2- means a failure, 3+ means a success (we used a slightly advanced mechanics)

K.I.S.S. principle at its finest

Also the book holds a bunch of good advice on the subject and some great adventure seeds. I love it



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Tales, complete kids' RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Uncharted Worlds
Publisher: Sean Gomes
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2018 15:10:43

Didn't try it, but again I never will. The fame is totally OK, but alas there are beter PbtA space-operas

The system tries to systematize and sort out things that are better left alone. Come on, everybody knows what blaster is and what it does.

For example, there are several basic vehicle 'forms' in this book, and every other (unbasic) vehicle is to be described like bunch of 'upgrades' of the basic thing. Like a Bus is big Ground Car for many passengers and a Tank is big armed and armoured Ground Car...

Again, I don't like the list of the basic Moves. Where is Recover/Leak Wounds, for example?

Again Moves' fancy names get in the way of usability. For example a Move to negotiate/trade/parley with is called barter. And then it IS barter made for trading hi-tech beads-and-knifes for aboriginal gold. Too narrow

So the game seems pretty and playable, but I will no try it



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Uncharted Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Loose Threads • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/26/2016 15:41:10

Haven't play yet, but the idea is brilliant (moreover, ideas are brilliant, because the mechanics match the setting), and the 'manual' is clear and instructive.

Looking forward to playtest on my Ukrainian fairytales backgrounds



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Loose Threads • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deadlands Reloaded: Devil's Night
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/03/2015 13:20:59

Nice adventure scenario. Clean, simple, captivating



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: Devil's Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deadlands Reloaded: Stone and a Hard Place Player's Guide
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/03/2015 13:14:56

Fantastically presented it gaves a ton o fideas and hooks for bot games and characters. Cool.

I never try it as is, but as a rule-agnostic material it was very handy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: Stone and a Hard Place Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cornerstone RPG - Basic
Publisher: Sigil Stone Publishing
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/03/2015 13:06:59

I never trшув this ruleset because I use FATE and PDQ# - which both are somewhat similar: very simple, very easy to pick, and quite story-based

But i like this rules a lot. It's bright and simple/ Requires some imagination

Especialy Character generation and Equipment parts

Why I didn't swith to it? Because it's new rules, instead of well known FATE. But ALSO because players have much less input, like in old-school RPGs. The GM is god and all that. It could be rather advantage, not weakness, depending of how imaginative and active your players want to be. My players just like to co-create, and that's all



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cornerstone RPG - Basic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Go Fer Yer Gun!
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/03/2015 12:56:35

I don't like it because I don't like turning ampluas into fixed classes. Also other rigid things in it



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Go Fer Yer Gun!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Westwater RPG No art version
Publisher: Sacrosanct Games
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/03/2015 12:42:43

Kinda primitive. It takes old D&D races and tropes and puts them on Wild West backgrounds. They don't feet Western genre is much more interesting than that There are many more western RPG outthere...

Maybe it's just me, I don't like idea old D&D-like rules meets Western



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Westwater RPG No art version
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the review. I appreciate the time you took to look at this. But I have to ask. If you don\'t like old school D&D rules meets Western, then why did you even download this? It clearly states exactly what it is, and I admit I\'m a bit confused, as it seems like you\'re giving a poor rating based on a concept you don\'t like, rather than the product itself. Whenever I get less than a great review, I always want to know what I could do better. But if your issue is \"D&D rules meets Western\" is bad overall, not sure how I could improve on that. Thank you again.
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates