DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Witiker's Well of Wondrous Magic Items
Publisher: Crit Academy
by Victor N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2021 18:01:20

I love collections of random generators for building items, characters, and locations, so I was looking forward to this pdf. Overall I'm pretty pleased with it - there are lots of interesting magical features you can mix and match to create interesting and unique magic items. You will likely want to pick and choose some of the feature combinations manually, as many of the the random combinations wont make sense.

The updated pdf which appears here is searchable, which is much nicer than the original version which was image based. I'm still hoping for a printer-friendly version, though.

There are a few spelling errors, which I'll let slide, but more annoying are the gaps or overlaps in the numbering of the d100 tables.

The most odd part of the document is the potion building section. While I like the idea of potions with added effectiveness or unexpected side effects, it doesn't make sense to me to add extra features to standard healing potions. For instance, why would you want a healing potion that also lets you walk on water? Seems like there's not a lot of overlap in potential use cases there, and you wouldn't want to waste one feature just to gain the other. Or how about a poison potion that cures the "poisoned" condition?

For potion building I would probably ignore the base healing effects of the potion and just combine the prefixes and suffixes in interesting ways.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Witiker's Well of Wondrous Magic Items
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Namatoki's Tower
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Victor N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/08/2021 19:52:22

Just finished running this adventure with my family and it was pretty fun! It took 5 ~3 hour sessions but a lot of that time was just them arguing about where to go next! My wife has seen the movie and she caught on pretty fast, so that gave her a bit of an unfair advantage, but it didn't bother me. The kids have never seen it so they were clueless.

SPOILERS BELOW

Overall it's a pretty tight little adventure with some fun twists on the film's premise. The events are laid out mostly linearly, but there's little to stop the party from visiting the various floors out of order and exploring a bit before you force them back on track with some well placed encounters and "radio" communications via Sending Stones. I highly recommend working in some friendly NPC's that the party already knows into the reception at the beginning, so that the villain Shan can threaten someone the PCs actually care.

My only complaint is a couple of major logic problems with the adventure as written: Shan's goal is to empty the vault and blow up the building so the authorities think he is dead and don't pursue him. If he wants to bring the building down, why would he put the bombs on the top floor instead of the Basement or 1st floor? The party will most likely recover the bomb detonater from the Eldritch Knight pretty early on, which Shan needs to detonate the bombs. At the beginning of the final confrontation on page 8, it says that "the remaining bombs on the 11th floor are triggered by Shan", but how could he do that if he doesn't have the detonator? And WHY would he do that before he has cleaned out the vault? And why don't the bombs destroy the building??

My solution: once Shan had accessed the vault he would send his Flesh Golem to manually detonate the bombs on the 11th floor by smashing them, while he made his escape. This would give the PCs something else to worry about while trying to fight Shan and his goons.

Ultimately my party avoided direct confrontation with Shan by using the Eversmoking Bottle they found on the 4th floor to fill the 5th floor with fog, effectively blinding everyone. The wizard set about casting Tiny Hut to block access to the levitators and trap the villains on that floor until the City Guard arrived. They didn't realize Shan has spells like Dimension Door, and he just teleported into the open vault and started emptying it out while the party fought the Golem and some goons. By the time the Tiny Hut went up, the battle was over, the smoke cleared, and Shan was long gone through his Arcane Gate.

I was pleased with this resolution. The party killed a lot of bad guys, saved some hostages, got some nice loot, and they made an enemy of Shan by interfering with his plans. I think he'll make a nice recurring villain, and I look forward to refining my Alan Rickman impersonation!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Namatoki's Tower
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sly Flourish's Fantastic Adventures
Publisher: SlyFlourish
by Victor N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/19/2021 12:21:29

These are great little adventures that could be developed and scaled to fill out campaigns or used as side quests. The descriptions are concise and follow the "Lazy DM" style, which I'm a big fan of. I have a few nitpicks, which is why I didn't rate 5 stars:

  • The maps are nice, but they don't include any location numbering or scale information. They have grids, but they don't all appear to be 5 foot squares
  • All the adventures are rated for levels 2-5, which is odd because it spans 2 tiers. The suggested APL is 3, and I imagine level 5 characters would have it too easy. It would be nice if some of the adventures were built for higher levels, or if there were tips on how to scale the adventures for higher-level groups


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sly Flourish's Fantastic Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
Publisher: SlyFlourish
by Victor N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/17/2021 10:51:01

This is possibly the best book I have purchased for DMing! The content is very useful and empowering, with great ideas for simplifying and organizing your D&D session preparation and play. I really appreciate how the material is presented, too: concise, to the point, well-organized, with solid examples and practical checklists. The book is not long, but it's rich with ideas, and very easy to read. I look forward to applying some of its principles right away!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lamp's Light Sanitarium: A horror campaign for 5e
Publisher: Saturday Morning Scenarios
by Victor N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/06/2021 12:17:55

Pro's: Great Location with lots of possibilities Lots of interesting NPC's High quality layout, maps, and illustrations Unique Sanity system A lot of value for the money

Con's: Requires a LOT of DM preparation Inconsistencies in NPC descriptions, motivations, etc. Prewritten adventures have lots of gaps to fill in (again, LOTS of DM preparation) Incomplete/illogical maps (no exterior location maps, no kitchen, asylum doesn't have enough beds for all the patients)

SPOILERS BELOW: I just finished taking my family through the "Apotheosis of Nightmares", which is the largest of the included prewritten adventures - it took 11 sessions to complete (we usually only play for 2-3 hours at a time, and they spend a lot of time arguing).  The party consisted of a wizard, cleric, and a rogue, all 5th level. I am an experienced DM, and this adventure definitely challenged my organizational and improvisational skills.  If you're not comfortable juggling a lot of quirky NPC's in a relatively open environment, this is not for you!  Also, if your players prefer adventures that are a bit more linear or structured, this may not be for them.  Our first couple of sessions were a bit dull as the party went around the asylum interrogating NPC's and looking for clues.  I don't think we had any combat until the 3rd session, and that was an encounter I invented just to spice things up. To be honest, I invented a LOT for this adventure:

  • Stronger character hooks - The wizard's best friend is a patient at the asylum, who has mysteriously stopped corresponding (she got possessed by a demon!).  The rogue was secretly hired to assassinate one of the asylum doctors!
  • Stronger villain motivation - Rose's reasons for hiring the party are inconsistent as written.   I positioned one of the other doctors, Quintus Hahn, as a foil for Rose, who was keeping her from summoning the BBEG.  Not coincidentally, Hahn is the assassin's target!
  • More adventure - I added some caves below the sanitarium that could be accessed from a secret door in the basement.  These caves have a tendency to intersect with the Abyss, which explains the recent demonic influences on Lamps Light's inhabitants.  They are also filled with some beasties that Dr. Renwick uses in his experiments, like Gibbering Mouthers and Intellect Devourers
  • I added a workshop where the PC's can experiment mixing potions, just for fun
  • I created a quick NPC generator spread sheet because I was constantly needing names and descriptions of new patients and orderlies
  • I changed the BBEG's name to "The Ollmareg", because "The H’awouahoua" sounds ridiculous and would just make my players laugh.  I also buffed his powers and changed him to a shadow-based fiend rather than a "Frankenstein" creature made of different animal parts
  • I added LOTS of foreshadowing, which is essential to build tension in a horror game.  The players had visions of the final BBEG in their dreams, and saw drawings of it in the patients' quarters
  • I added a kitchen because food
  • I converted a room in the West Wing to a large dormitory with many beds to increase the asylum's patient capacity
  • For the final summoning ritual I had Rose restrain the PCs with straightjackets (Prosper’s Camisoles) instead of just having them standing there in robes, ready to fight. Of course my players did lots of things to throw me for a loop, and I was constantly writing new stuff to keep the adventure on track.  My wife figured out that Rose was the villain by the end of the first or second session, so I had to find reasons for the party to stay.  Having an assassination job and a friend in danger were essential for keeping the PCs invested!

Other notes: There is a pretty robust sanity system built in to Lamp's Light, but we were all disappointed that none of the PCs ever suffered from more than transient madness.  They could never retain insanity long enough to build up to Short or Long Term.  I would probably revise the sanity rules if I had to do over again.

In retrospect I would have also invested more prep time in pre-generating NPCs for the tertiary patients and staff, and assign them to specific locations and times.

I played a lot of music during the campaign, which really helped set the tone.  Any time they explored the sanitarium at night, ventured into the basement, had a bad dream, or battled a monstrosity, I played music.  TabletopAudio.com has great choices for this, and it's free.  I also played tracks from the film "Alien" for the final BBEG battle.

In the end the party was able to kill Rose before she could summon the BBEG, but they still had to figure out how to save their possessed friend.  I had Renwick rig up a Revelans Mallum for two, so the PC had to go into the possessed friend's mind and try to draw the demon out.  I used the BBEG for the exorcised demon battle, so they ended up having to fight it anyway!  Good thing too, because I had built a custom lego miniature for the creature.  I had Japhi the cat show up to help in the final battle when the party got desperate - he was probably our favorite NPC.

Looking back I'm glad I ran this adventure, though if I had known how much work I was making for myself I may have reconsidered.  I'm looking forward to running a much simpler adventure next time!

ALSO: While prepping this adventure I contacted the authors with questions, and they were very responsive. Thanks again!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lamp's Light Sanitarium: A horror campaign for 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

First Blush
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Victor N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2020 14:02:44

I'm and experienced DM and my player is also experienced, but this was our first duet adventure.

I think this would be a fine introduction to D&D for those new to the game, for us it required some adjustments. My player wanted to create his own character and backstory, and I didn't want him to be tied to the setup in the first act of this adventure. I felt the forced rollplaying and training grounds were a bit silly, so we came up with a different opening to the adventure which resulted in the player starting off in the snowy mountains. I added an encounter where he witnesses sabertooth lion attacking a giant elk, and the PC intervened on behalf of the elk, who then led him to the entrance of the temple, and from there we played it pretty much as written. The adventure is very simple and pretty fun, albeit a bit linear, and I wish there was more thoughtful backstory to the temple, which feels a bit hodge-podge. At the end I had the elk return at the last second to rescue the PC and Garren from the frost giant sculpture, and then the avalanche ends the adventure as a nice cliff-hanger.

As a followup to this we played "Second Glance", which was much more enjoyable and open-ended. There were a lot of NPCs to manage, but at least the PC had a lot of choices and potential outcomes. If you're not opposed to an adventure "on rails" then give this one a try, but be prepared to fill in a lot of story gaps on your own if you continue onward.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
First Blush
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Homebrew Combat House Rules
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Victor N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2020 13:46:50

I love all the Dungeon Coach's content, and this supplement is no exception. Fun and practical rule revisions that players and DMs will enjoy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Homebrew Combat House Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for that! Im about to add more to this one next week!
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Victor N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2020 13:44:22

This is a fun one-shot adventure that doesn't take a lot of preparation time from the DM, and can be dropped in to just about any campaign. I really appreciated the formatting which made it easy to read and find important info on the fly. [SPOILERS] There are some nice roleplaying opportunities in here on the docks at the beginning (my party loved Sheila Coppertree) and with Lucien in the Lighthouse, and the eelfolk's tendency to explode when they die made combat more interesting. My favorite part was probably the underwater combat with the sharks; I cued up the Jaws soundtrack just before the encounter and made the players really nervous!

If I had one complaint it would be about the final encounter. The temple area is one giant room filled with about a dozen eelfolk, which made for a long slog of a combat. It didn't help that one of our PCs just ran into the room and alerted them all; it might have gone better if they had attempted some stealth and subterfuge. Having our tank paladin almost die from a lightning bolt attack was a thrilling moment, but the rest was a bit tedious, as the party laid down an area of Spike Growth and the eelfolk laid down Fog to block any movment around the room.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Second Glance
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Victor N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/20/2020 00:44:54

A fun balance of role-playing, open-ended problem solving, and combat. There are a LOT of NPC's to manage, which can be challening for the DM. My player's character isn't the most outgoing, which made it tricky to have him get the necessary info from the NPC's to move the story along. Having the paladin "Garren" as a sidekick can be a lifesaver, literally. The side quests were sometimes more entertaining than the main storyline, but overall it made for a good time. I wish the maps were a bit better quality, and the map of the temple doesn't quite line up with the description, so I had to improvise some details.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Second Glance
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates