DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
V20 Beckett's Jyhad Diary $24.99
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
73 22
5 1
3 1
1 0
0 0
V20 Beckett\'s Jyhad Diary
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
V20 Beckett's Jyhad Diary
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Tyler P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/15/2020 17:40:00

This is a phenomenal read whether you are looking for lore bits or just a journalesque novel. I enjoy Vampire the Masquerade and trying to remember everything that has happened is like trying to remember all of history, but this slips in alot of the metaplot along with new ideas or expansion on them. It is also a treasure trove for those true lore junkies that can go, "Hey isn't that... OH MY GOD IT IS."



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Beckett's Jyhad Diary
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/21/2020 15:23:53

This is a cool book with lots of metaplot development, and that's an area where the Vampire series always shined. I can't say I like all of the developments, and sometimes the reading is physically difficult due to the font and format of the book (ie, hand scribbles on varying types of paper notes with busy backgrounds, a lot going on in the page). Still worth a read.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Beckett's Jyhad Diary
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Santiago G. B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/05/2020 10:04:02

This is Onyx path and White Wolf at his best. Giving you a lot of possibilities and answers to a lot of things, even those you haven't asked. It's the perfect book to any edition of vampire, as it covers a lot of ground, and consequences to a HUGE load of old material like Transilvanian and Giovanni Chronicles, several by night, and other books. If you want to play with the old rules in the new setting of V5, want to know exactly how the world of V5 come to being from V20, or just a piece of fiction in line with the book of nod, this book is simply incredible.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Beckett's Jyhad Diary
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Jose B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/30/2020 09:25:48

This book was highly recommended by a few gaming colleagues as the perfect jumping off point for catching up on the metaplot of VtM 5th edition, (or as its referred to V5). Having picked up the V5 corebook, which delves into the metaplot of vampires in the world of darkness in cursory fashion, this book is the perfect companion. V5 is absolutely brilliant in its mechanics and really updates VtM to the current state of affairs in our troubled world. While the V5 corebook updates the metaplot, Beckett's diary bridges the story of VtM 4th edition, (also referred to as V20) to its 5th edition. Incredibly well written by Matthew Dawkins who is one of the contributors to V5, this book is hard to put down, (well its actually easy to put down becasuse this book is huge, its a literal encyclopedia of Kindred history). I am really looking forward to what WW/Paradox does with V5 but so far I have been more inspired than ever to return to VtM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Beckett's Jyhad Diary
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Lee T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2019 08:55:54

The detail is phenomenal it cleared alot of lore up for me. its making all the differance in my campaign



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Beckett's Jyhad Diary
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Sebastian F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/27/2018 23:37:15

Certainly an amazing book. I could rave on for paragraphs and repeat (and agree with) all of the praise, but I will keep to one thing I find very important. All of us use the various supplement books' ideas and make stories of our own; we don't shackle ourselves to every little word. This book exceeded my expectations by actually going an extra step and giving us so many different ways of using the ideas presented in the book. The authors don't simply say, "Things happen, this is the result." No...this book tells us, "Things happen, and here are a bunch of really intersting things that might happen tomorrow. AND here are tips for making even more unique outcomes." In addition, everything is written in a way that those of us who enjoy "following the metaplot" can still easily twist a few of the book's events, making our own versions without "breaking" the presentation of the metaplot.

While the scope of this book is far too great to be commonly repeated, the type of information it gives us about the setting and the manner in which it is presented...is the new standard to which all other books will be compared. Can i give this 6 stars?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Beckett's Jyhad Diary
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by William b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/28/2018 20:12:09

This is now one of my favorite vtm books There are so many characters and places with well thought out stories. Great detail was taken to write about every clan/sect and gives you an idea about what's happening in the metaplot. Many chapters have addition rules or plots you could use or modify to your game. Thank you to all involved in writing this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Beckett's Jyhad Diary
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Petri W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2018 03:08:13

Absolutely fantastic; this just might be my favorite WoD book of all time... and I've read a lot of them. Ties together metric oodles of metaplot theads in clever ways, contains tons of new twists, and in general is a joy to read. Surprisingly funny in places, too.

The only downside: this will be absolutely incomprehensible to anyone not at least somewhat familiar with Vampire: the Masquerade metaplot.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Beckett's Jyhad Diary
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Mr A G C. C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/05/2018 05:27:46

This book is brilliant lets you fall in love with the vampire all over again epecially if your an older fan of the game like myself, but would be ideal for new players to get in touch with the feel of the vampire world of darkness setting. Found myself picking up old by Night books as i read it, to remind myself of certain characters. Art is excellent and its jam packed with ideas you could use in any game. BUY EEET NOW!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Beckett's Jyhad Diary
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Troy L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2018 08:00:32

Whether you are new to the lore of Vampire: the Masquerade or have read every sourcebook, Beckett's Jyhad Diary has something for you. Not only is it a copmpelling, epistolary recounting of Beckett's search for the Book of the Grave War and the Tremere who has it, but it also is an amazing travelouge of the World of Darkness. On top of that, it takes each chapter and gives Storytellers advice on how to integrate that chapter's story into their own chronicle. This is probably the best in-world artifact-as-game-book I've seen.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Beckett's Jyhad Diary
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Rainer A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2018 11:40:56

I have not written a review in years (my last was for Chaining the Beast for the now long defunct site Ex Libris Nocturnis) but I have to end that today. Since its inception in 1991 Vampire the Masquerade (VtM) has become a phenomena with a richly detailed and insanely complex metaplot, a connected series of story arcs that moved the world and setting forwards, ultimately towards 2004s Gehenna. When Onyx Path was formed and picked up the line for development again in 2012 they faced the delicate challenge of navigating this tangled web in an updated form but with an almost 10 year gap in which there was a void to be filled. This product, Becketts Jyhad Diary, began life as an update to the metaplot but with the arrival of V5 its directive morphed into also being a stepping stone between the old and new editions as well as a V5 'metaplot bible' for the line going forwards. These are all significant development challenges made more significant in combination. Personally a book collecting the metaplot in an accessible form is something I have felt the WoD and especially Vampire has been badly missing since 2nd edition time so I was very excited to be part of the KS that helped design it's content. I'm reviewing this from a copy of the deluxe, but I'm going to focus on content everyone gets. I will say though that OP have delivered what is easily the most beautiful Vampire book ever made in the deluxe, and I have it all on my shelves (V20 Dark Ages is it's rival). The deluxe book feels very satisfying to handle. Zoning out on me and want the point? Ok. Regardless of whatever edition you play, regardless of how much you use the metaplot, and regardless of what your chronicle looks like or whether you are brand new, intermediate or a scarred vet to VtM, this book is hands down the most important book to get beyond the core. You will mine it forever for good ideas, interesting characters, plot hooks, locations, clues and even for comedy. It is not just the best Vampire supplement ever created, it is also the best looking, with the entire art department excelling themselves. Based on previous books I had fears that over 500 pages of text with fonts for different handwriting and reports would look jumbled and pain my eyes, especially when the dimensions of BJDs more compact form were considered, but the visual impact of flicking through it is a devastating example of a mastery of layout on the part of Mike Chaney. Everything is beautifully and thoughtfully presented and requires no effort to enjoy. And there is SO much to enjoy. Perhaps you are sitting on the fence wondering if this book has anything in it for you. It absolutely does. It's crammed with stuff. A brief and woefully inadequate list includes updates on every city or region featured in a By Night book, Baba Yaga, Rasputin, the Giovanni Chronicles, countless canon characters, the Clan Novel series, the independent Clans, Carthage, the thin blooded and the Sabbat Civil War. Refracted throughout all of these sections are strands of the metaplot gathered from all over Vampires publication history, including the Dark Ages lines. Major metaplot threads (many chosen by fans) are put under the spotlight but in the granular details of their exploration other threads from elsewhere in the metaplot are hidden for the discerning eye to uncover like easter eggs. Its an ingenious design and presentation of something that could have been presented very dryly and boringly. This brings me to another point about the design decisions in this book. We not only get a feast of metaplot to gorge on, we get a STORY to frame it in (it always bothered me that fiction in WW rpg books was often underappreciated, as telling a good story is the point). The diary is built to look and feel like a real diary, and so we get the creepy feeling as we read that we are spying on Beckett and globe trotting with him. So the story is engaging on a number of levels, and it's also presented in bite sized portions like a real diary so you can dive into it anywhere and not feel lost in the narrative. It's only loosely a linear story. The real story is in the fractal like emergence of the World of Darkness as seen through undead eyes over the last 25 years. Which, by the way, ignites the imagination into a creative frenzy. It's full of inspirational content but the main point I want to stress here is that i think this makes BJD also the best fiction ever published for the WoD. But this is primarily a book about telling our own stories using this book as a springboard or in game prop, and so the narrative sections are all rounded out by a presentation of that part of the metaplot for gaming or storytelling purposes. These include interesting questions raised by the diary and seeds for chronicles and stories, as well as information on the background of the elements involved. They have no "crunch" for tabletop games as they are written to be useful to LARPers, film makers, or anyone else wanting to tell a story set in the world of Vampire. In summary if you like VtM this is the best gift you could hope to receive. It's truly an outstanding work of art and Onyx Path have surpassed themselves. Standing applause for Matthew Dawkins, Neall Raemonn Price, Eddy Webb, and everyone who contributed, fans included. This is THE book Vampire needed. It cannot be criticised for not covering everything as there was always going to be way too much metaplot to do that, but like all good things it definitely leaves me wanting more.

Wiith all this said, it saddens me that Matthew Dawkins, one of the writers and developers, has had to shut his social media down following his being doxxed by an ex-Onyx Path developer. His contribution here gives me faith that V5 will be what I want it to be, and I feel it'll be a terrible shame if due to some bitter person's actions, he leaves this field.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Beckett's Jyhad Diary
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Keegan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2018 20:09:54

So, I really like how this book is laid out and it really drew me in and sparked some ideas for future games. A large part of this is personal taste, I have always enjoyed sections written in character and enjoy the way this book handles it. Each chapter covers a major meta-plot event with in character transcripts, letters, emails, ect and then followed up with brief overview of the "flashpoint" event, story threads to involve the players, and twists to make sure players could potentially play these events again and it can end up being a completely unique experience.

The last chapter covers how to use metaplot in your chronicles, how much you might want to involve meta-plot, if you want to follow said meta-plot points, and additional suggestions on how to involve players. Which are good for STs who either just throw metaplot in or toss them in as big info dumps (sadly guilty) or avoid them all together because they don't have all the major events (due to the lack of books) or it feels overwhelming.

If you like Vampire, you'll like this book. If you enjoy lore presented in creative ways, you'll like this book. If you don't care for the in-character perspective or just don't want to use the metaplot at all and are dead set against mining these events for ideas, then I guess pass on it. Otherwise grab this book, its spectacular.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Beckett's Jyhad Diary
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Matthew S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2018 15:45:20

I was thoroughly delighted with this book. It took me a week to work through it and when done I was looking to see if similiar books are planned for the other lines to bring metaplot forward. The main thing about this book that struck me was the detail that some of the more clan specific plots were moved forward. Frankly it leaves me wanting more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Beckett's Jyhad Diary
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2018 07:57:35

This book is a whopping tome, which took me ages to read but believe me when I say it was worth it. Basically 30 short stories about Beckett's exploits, tying up loose ends regarding the Clan Novel Plots as well as Meta Plot developments. Also, very funny much of the time. I did a full review of Beckett's Jyhad Diary on my website and you can read it by clicking the hyperlink



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Beckett's Jyhad Diary
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Lukas A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/04/2018 04:52:00

A very well written book for fans of the Metaplot and Vampire the Masquerade. If you are just starting to catch up, this is probably not the best start. There are a lot of Characters from the other releases in this book and you will have more fun if you already know who they are. I didn't notice a difference in which author wrote which part. They captured Beckett's character/voice very well. The Premium Heavywight printing has a good quality and it arrived in great condition in less than a week after ordering. The pages are kind of matte, which is in my opinion easier to read than some of the V20 products with very glossy (does that make sense?) pages, so you can even take it out to read in the sun on a good day.

Oh by the way, the book is actually lighter than I expected. It's still heavy, but it seems much lighter than my (german) VtM V20 book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 24 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates