DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Castles & Crusades Den of Iniquity
Publisher: Troll Lord Games
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2020 00:54:47

This book contains a detailed description of a pirate city 78 keyed locations , sadly the relevant map is not included. Also there is no index to thePDF



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades Den of Iniquity
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Castles & Crusades By Shadow of Night
Publisher: Troll Lord Games
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/06/2020 09:03:08

This be a very good adventure but it is missing a keyed map of the city as mentioned on the back cover. Such a shame.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades By Shadow of Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Class Hack Second Edition for The Black Hack Second Edition
Publisher: Cross Planes Game Studio
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/18/2019 07:16:07

A little over priced but very useful for expanding player options for black hack

My only ccomplaint is thatdespite having a Druid and bard Class there are no spells for them. I know its easily fixed but they should of been included in a paid for product imho



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Class Hack Second Edition for The Black Hack Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Sinister Stone of Sakkara 5E
Publisher: Autarch
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/04/2019 03:06:20

this review is based on the pdf and is written from a perspective of a DM who exclusively plays on line

Its a standard intro adventure set in in the Roman style fort and the surrounding wilderness, this isn't your usual pseudo medieval setting

The adventure has been converted from another fantasy roleplaying system and a good job appears to have been done. the plot is simplistic and unoriginal and heavily tied in to the back ground the other fantasy rpg, saving that I'm sure it would be enjoyable for players. The adventure is clearly laid out and easy to read however all bar one of the maps are in black and white and are unusable with out extensive work to use on Roll20/fantasy grounds. I like to see separate map files with room numbers and secret doors removed for online play, however there are several good illustrations that are useful to show to players , some are even in colour!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Sinister Stone of Sakkara 5E
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rangers of Shadow Deep: A Tabletop Adventure Game
Publisher: Joseph A. McCullough
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/02/2018 08:24:35

Great game with one star knocked off because this twenty dollar PDF doesn't have a index



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rangers of Shadow Deep: A Tabletop Adventure Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Code of Warriors and Wizardry
Publisher: Simon Burley Productions
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/28/2018 04:12:27

I spent a very pleasent hour at Dragonmeet 2017 playing this game with its author and my ten year old son. The rules are a touch light for my tastes but my son really enjoyed designing his character and as such i think this game is a perect game for introducing young family members to our hobby. I have also ordered the super hero version for games with my kids and thier friends



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Code of Warriors and Wizardry
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Sabre RPG Fantasy Premium Edition (1e)
Publisher: Dragonsbane Entertainment
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/20/2018 03:22:22

A excellent Fantasy Rpg based firmly in Runequest d100 family of games with its own unique features .

The magic system is superb with ten separate schools of magic which cover most types of magic you would expect from fantasy game. The maneuver system is interesting , maneuvers are a sort of feat/stunt system that can be activated by spending Spirit points the games equivalent of Power or Magic points from other d100 games and there is also a Talent system. This all leads to specialized lower level characters within the standard classless d100 standard. Having your standard fantasy Rpg party of Cleric, Wizard, thief and a couple of fighters is easily done in this game.

The combat system is a lot simpler that most d100 games with no hit locations and a very simple serious wound system. Some of the weapon do strange amounts of damage with the long bow in particular being under valued. Agincourt would not have been a victory for the English if their longbows only did 1d8+1 damage while the French crossbows doing d6+6.

This being a d100 game you can easily borrow the bits of this game you like to add to other games. I use my own house ruled version of Openquest and I can see myself borrowing the magic system and possible the maneuvers as well for my campaign

In summary this game does the standard “D&D” type fantasy better than any other d100 game including the Classic Fantasy for Mythras and I would recommend looking at the freebie version of this game and if you like it getting the modestly priced full version, A print on demand version would nice



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sabre RPG Fantasy Premium Edition (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
A quick note about the bow damage: Effectiveness with bows in this system is tied directly to extensive training and practice, so while crossbow damage is fixed (they're easy to use), longbow damage increases with skill, talents and physical strength, so 1d12+4 is quite doable. Plus you get to shoot multiple times per round, while crossbows take a round or two to reload :)
The Howling Valley 5e for Virtual Tabletop
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/19/2018 02:03:45

a good first effort and a nice price, look forward to seeing more conversions



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Howling Valley 5e for Virtual Tabletop
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Mines of Chult
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/16/2018 12:53:04

A useful set of mini-adventures though the link with Chult is non existant in most of these adventures



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Mines of Chult
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Encounters in the Savage Jungles (Fantasy Grounds)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/30/2018 13:43:20

I don't see why this module is priced higher than the PDF it is based off particularly when the there are numerous Fantasy grounds modules on the DM's Guild which are available as a free extra with the original PDF.

The actual conversion has some issues and isn't ready for play without some additional work needed to be done by the DM which for the price charged I would expect to be included. The conversion uses the only the DM encounter maps and not the players versions available as an additional download with the PDF version of the adventure, hence you get to use maps with the encounter numbers on and the traps highlighted. The parsing of the some of the monsters contains errors for example the lizard man bandits have zero hit points and as there isn’t a reference manual version included there is no way short of buying the PDF of finding out the correct stats for the monster. The adventure includes many variants of standard NPC’s which need to add a racial ability or two however they are not included in the conversion. Easy enough to remedy but for the price charged I shouldn’t have to.

This conversion of an excellent collection of adventures is unusable for some of the adventures included with out buying a copy of original PDF package to get the players maps and the correct monster stats



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in the Savage Jungles (Fantasy Grounds)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Michael: ThanX for your comments. I was previously unaware of any shortcomings until you posted, I would be MORE THAN HAPPY to make any corrections you see fit. Feel free to email me with any corrections or changes that you think I should take a look at, and I will do so straight away. My email is rob DOT twohy AT gmail DOT com I look forward to your solutions, and I will implement then ASAP! Rob
BX Advanced
Publisher: RetroRoleplaying
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2018 06:25:45

When i saw this product come up on on my social media stream I wondered what it covered that Labyrinth Lord and its advanced edition Companion doesn't cover and to be honest both cover the sane ground i.e playing an Ad& D game in a slightly simpler manner however there are some nice optional rules for modifying the basic character classes and a good take on Psionics which isn't in LL+ AEC plus a few other optional house rules borrowed from the author's over games. Its well written and the little art there is i good. A touch pricey but the Author has medical bills to pay..



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BX Advanced
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hunter
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/25/2017 06:26:24

I have not had a chance to play or run this yet but it reads good and should produce a memorable adventure. The level range is 1-4 which considering the party will be up against an invisible shape changing CR7 monster with lair and legendary actions seems a bit on the low side. Just got to convert this into a fantasy grounds module now so i can run it...



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hunter
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Class Hack
Publisher: Cross Planes Game Studio
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2017 16:22:45

Good ideas better suited to a blog post than a product for sale



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Class Hack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tainted Lands
Publisher: Troll Lord Games
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2017 16:21:13

Not very good. I expected better from the author of Metamorphosis Alpha which was the first rpg I purchased in 1977



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Tainted Lands
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Castles & Crusades Brindisium Adventures
Publisher: Troll Lord Games
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2017 15:45:53

  Nice to see some colour maps for a change in a Trolllord.com product, welcome to the 21 St Century



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades Brindisium Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 24 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates