DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Delta Green: Need to Know
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Chris D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/16/2021 18:49:53

Yeah it's as good as people say it is.

Just snip off the scenario at the end with a PDF Snipper tool and you're good to have rules to give your players when they play.

It's a bit like The Haunting in that it's clearly meant to be customized. Can't wait for the roll20 version that I hope is still coming out. You could probably run a few games with just this and some decent homebrew.

The scenario at the back has the chance to become the new "The Haunting" in all honesty.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Need to Know
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Barbaric!
Publisher: Stellagama Publishing
by Chris D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/22/2021 23:15:18

I didn't like this on a first read, but it's a very simple, very effective 2d6 Sword and Sorcery game. Don't expect D&D/OSR, your characters are capable and good at something from level 1. This is a game where you play Conan types, thieves, and sorcerers as dangerous to themselves as everyone else. Healing rules could be a tad harsher but critical hit tables already make combat absolutely brutal and something with considerable cost.

What surprised me was this DID pass what I consider the "Sandy Peterson test of Sword and Sorcery games" which was that he mentioned a scene in a Conan story where a guy gets the drop on Conan with a Crossbow and Conan surrenders, something which would NEVER happen in D&D or a similar game. Due to the damage crossbows and Bows do, The magic rules are suitably dangerous and uncertain with a lot of potential for really interesting failure.

Soundtrack it to Dust's Learning to Die.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barbaric!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your excellent review!
Delta Green: PX Poker Night
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Chris D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/17/2021 19:31:31

Far better than the original scenario and a tad tighter with far more art than the original (which had none).

It also removes the Dimensional Shambler from the original scenario and tightens the focus a bit, and adds a hell of a ton of quality of life improvements like a table of SAN values so you don't need to roll for everyone in the base. If you need more pregens you can grab the original Poker Night which is still on DrivethruRPG.

As for the scenario it's decent. My players weren't the biggest fans of it but that may have been down to my alterations rather than the scenario's fault. It's set in the 90's, it's got a pretty decent amount of combat, and creative players may get a lot out of it.

It's solid for a one shot but starting a campaign with it might be a tad tough.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: PX Poker Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: The Complex
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Chris D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/17/2021 19:25:42

Pretty much essential if you want to give your players the full swath of the US Government for options. This is close as you can come to an "Expansion pack" to the Agent's Handbook and is something you can hand your players. $10 feels like the perfect price for something like this honestly.

Have a player who wants to play an armed park ranger? With this you can! It even has an incredibly helpful page showing what pages all of the agencies are between this and the Agent's Handbook.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: The Complex
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Visceral and Emotional Damage
Publisher: Chaosium
by Chris D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/27/2021 15:50:33

Absolutely fantastic and quite useful.

If you want to torture and torment your players into trying to avoid combat or undue violence this is your best bet. In my campaign I have personally used it with some fiat on my part for whenever players roll a major wound. What this supplement is good at is creating longer-term consequences or penalties for fighting and getting hurt in combat, as well as emotional damage for undue acts of violence, letting you mechanically punish players who decide they want to kill the kind old man just because it would be funny.

If you want players in your group to be able to lose hands, limbs, break bones, ribs, lose eyes, get scars, this is the supplement for you and your keeper.

The only small niggle I have with it is that the locational damage chart/die roll in the game book doesn't correspond to the one in current 7e which seems like a wasted opportunity to make things easier on Keepers. You can easily just use the tables for each respective body part however and ignore that entirely.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Visceral and Emotional Damage
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The House of R'lyeh
Publisher: Chaosium
by Chris D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/27/2021 15:45:33

As Alexander L. has said, it's a mixed bag.

The Jermyn Horror was quite easily the most disapointing for me as the scenario has very, very little to do with the original story. If the Jermyn Connection wasn't there or this went through more playtesting it might have a chance to shine but as is, I can't imagine running it being much other than a really unpleasent experience. It also features the single worst written line in any adventure I have ever read. Can you imagine forcing your players to spend an entire hour to search a room just because the adventure says its so in disrepair that it would take that long?

The Art of Madness I am presently running through and if you have the GM chops and know-how, maybe chop it down a bit it could easily be run alongside another adventure set in Boston as a sort of side-adventure given that if players can find their way through the clues at a decent speed it would likely not be very hard to go through it in a single evening. That being said give it a solid read through first since while it can be quick its flexibility for campaigns and detail is its best quality. It seems like a brilliant scenario to potentially introduce Ghouls into a game as a long-term antagonist. For a comparably "lower key" and "lower stakes" Mythos scenario it's hard to think of much better. (I'd almost consider it a brother to "Paper Chase" from the Starter Set)

Nameless Cities, Nameless Terrors I am considering attaching to my eventual Shadows of Yog-Sothoth campaign, but I had a few issues with it resurrecting a VERY famous dead person in the Mythos.

Get it on sale. Don't get a physical copy, it's not worth the money. The design and art of the book is all over the place and most of it is quite bad. This is from the era of Chaosium's books where just about everything was butt ugly and this is no exception. Some of the images are even improperly cropped or stretched to fit the frames they are in, which is downright INSULTING .

This gets a 3/5 largely out of the strength of the small handful of good adventures alone.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The House of R'lyeh
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

In the Court of the Yellow King
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Chris D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/27/2021 15:34:33

An Excellent little two scene play which would be fantastic as a handout for any King in Yellow related games or just as inspiration.

During parts of reading this I actually had fantasies about the potential of running a play of this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In the Court of the Yellow King
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Wizard
Publisher: DonnyC
by Chris D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2021 21:14:51

FANTASTIC for one shots. Really disturbing and unsettling albeit the kind of thing that's difficult to slot into an existing campaign. Packed page by page with art it is definitely worth the $8 and I wish it got a lot more attention. This is a horror module, and the better you do at lampshading that fact and sell it as a generic fantasy or D&D game before they play, the more fun this is going to be when it comes out. Know your players before you run this to make sure so you aren't pushing any boundaries but once they reach floor 3 they are locked in. Another fun one is "you don't remember why you were coming here in the first place" to sort of hint at the fact that The Wizard called them there. It can be run with minimal prep with something like Basic Fantasy RPG but just make sure if you run it to know the system in and out first.

If I have any complaint it's that I wish there was an expansion to it, or honestly more reasons for players to enter "the abyss", potentially some kind of reason to enter it given that the tables for this area teak up more than half the book and there's only a small handful of ways to get shoved into there, unless I missed something.

Otherwise, if you are a DM who loves creepy stuff and surprising your players you can't do much better.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Wizard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Alone Against Fear
Publisher: Ganesha Games
by Chris D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/15/2020 12:49:23

Quite good. It reminds me a lot of a roguelike moreso than a traditional pen and paper game. Yes, the events can get a tad repetitive over time, but there is a sort of "meta" going on underneath with specific items being able to unlock extra scenes. Fascinating and actually worth the $12 for a solo RPG player.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alone Against Fear
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green Quarantine Bundle [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Chris D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/15/2020 12:48:02

An excellent deal that remains one of the best deals for gaming during the quarantine.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green Quarantine Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Realms of Crawling Chaos (Labyrinth Lord)
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by Chris D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/15/2020 12:47:31

Realms of the Crawling Chaos is a fantastic supplement for any OSR game, which not only focuses more closely on Lovecraft's own material v.s. the expanded universe created by later authors, but takes the material with less kitsch and more seriousness than what you would expect for a "add cthulhu to D&D" supplement. I have not run any of its content yet so unfortunately, I cannot speak for the balance but I can speak for the writing and content, which is pheonominal to a large extent. The book restricts itself to only entities introduced in Lovecraft's own work, his collaborations during life, and his contemporaries whom he referenced during his lifetime, so don't expect Byahkees, but do expect Clark Ashtom Smith's Tsathogguah, or the White Apes from Facts Concerning the Late Arthur Jermyn and His Family. There is quite a lot of material curbed from the often unexplored earlier works of Lovecraft, and as a result the feel of it is quite different from what you traditionally get from a Lovecraft supplement, focusing far more on the sincere fantasy aspects of Lovecraft's work than the science fiction. What results is a world that is just as lethal as any OSR game, but with new unknown wonders that offer variety from the typical Tolkein-esq tropes. It also offers a considerable amount of advice for getting the tone and themes right for a game with these concepts. This advice is considerable, and the book is deliberately designed to suggest a setting for keepers rather than give you an entire hard locked setting to play around in.

There are new races, both for basic and advanced LL, one of which is secretly a group of Innsmouth hybrids (for extra fun, don't let your players know what the Sea Bloods ARE except that they are effectively a cleric race class, and then run the generational mutations as time goes on and let the rest of the party slowly realize what they are), another are white aps or white ape hybrids. All of the new races are quite interesting and offer up a lot of potential roleplaying scenarios of prejudice and paranoia, but what is fascinting about this is since the players play as these types they get to experience the horror of this themselves. It's uncomfortable, and not for everyone, and I can definitely see many tables not being comfortable with a player race called "Subhumans", but the roleplaying opportunities for exploring gritty dark and uncomfortable topics are fascinating and adult without ever really drawing attention to it directly. For example, in the alchemy section there is an "Oil of Sea Blood revelation" which could easily be used by an angry mob on a Sea Blood PC hinting at much of the potential prejudice and mob rule that could come about if the secret of their blood was ever revealed. Similarly, Subhumans need to masquerade as ugly humans or face persecution and death. My only gripe about these new races, is white apes seem a tad too exotic to give to players straight out the gate from the beginning, and that the basic versions of these races might not always have enough benefits to make up for the considerable disadvantage they may have socially due to their race. I also wish there was a basic race which functioned as a "magic-user", as although Sea Bloods work as Clerics, humans would be the only ones in basic capable of casting magic. Maybe they are the only ones that foolish.

I decided that when I run my own game of this, I am going to omit elves and halflings from the setting, and make dwarves more of a subterranian semi-xenophobic culture, pale skinned, who's eyes are so adjusted to the darkness that they need tinted goggles in any light more than that of a torch. They are also the natural enemies of ghouls.

The monster bestiary is nice, and the new magic system of alchemy is quite interesting. I am surprised it took any game this long to create a spell for the "spirit bottles" from lovecraft's The Terrible Old Man. My only gripe with monsters is the truly laughable illustration of a mi-go, but it is a part of the art which is doing a great job aping that early TSR style, and at times does a good job going for the style used in 1st Edition Dieties and Demigods' Cthulhu section. However, the real show stopper is the chart in the back for the creation of random magical artifacts. I adore the idea that in a setting like this, not every magical object players may find will be useful or even something they should come within 20 feet of. Not every piece of treasure will be something they can sell, and they might even need to try to destroy some of it given how dangerous it is.

All in all, I have become a little obsessed with this book, as it has given me so many new ideas for worldbuilding of my own setting using Labyrinth Lord and the quality of this book actually directed me toward checking out the Labyrinth Lord rules. The only thing I wish I could see more of is examples of more other-worldly and wonder and horror inspiring dungeons or adventures, stuff like the cities of the white ape from Facts Concerning the Late Arthur Jermyn and His Family, or that gorgeous drawing of R'lyeh from Shadows of Yog-Sothoth. It might not even have to be something that extreme, but tips for creating realms with an uneasy feeling, maybe even a detailing of a Sea Blood village, or where the Subhumans live. This is a setting that I would love to see more of. Medieval Cthulhu stuff exists, but actual fantasy Lovecraft? That is rare and there is simply too much unexplored territory here to be left. This book does something I wish more RPG books did and that's create a sense of mystery once you start to piece its ideas together.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Realms of Crawling Chaos (Labyrinth Lord)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: Briefing Documents
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Chris D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/15/2020 11:41:34

Decent to use as a handout for a first DG game with players. Print these out to keep the rules in mind.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Briefing Documents
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Great Old Ones
Publisher: Chaosium
by Chris D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2020 19:09:23

Quite an excellent retro set of modules, rather solid across the board. This contains the now quite legendary "Tell Me Have You Seen the Yellow Sign", potentially one of the greatest Call of Cthulhu adventures of all time, and it has been further updated in "Tales of the Crescent City" by Golden Goblin Press. If you like what you read here, I would STRONGLY urge you to grab that volume if you play to do a Louisiana campaign as I and my group are, as that version includes a lot of updated and new features including ENTIRELY NEW SCENES IN CARCOSA!

Anyways back to this module. Yes, it's old, it's cheap and worth the money. As of now, of the scenarios in this book I have only run The Pale God for my players, which is a rather tight if small scenario which would be a great way to introduce Eihort as a recurring antagonist to your players. Also quite possibly one of the best adventures to introduce your investigators to a great old one face to face. In order my quick thoughts: The Spawn: A rather detailed and interesting scenario, focused on labor rights, with an extensive backstory and two interesting villians. The problem is.. it's a brutal adventure with that final fight and I'm not sure every Keeper is going to want to expose their players to some of what's in this scenario.

Still Waters: A bit light and almost boring in the beginning, there are some really interesting, graphic and fun scenes in here. The only problem is the mythos connection in this one is odd and it has more of an absurdist tone in places. There is also some nice atmosphere in here but some of it almost reminds me of an episode of Mr.pickles than Call of Cthulhu.

Tell Me, Have You seen the Yellow Sign?: Chances are, you know this one, I know this one, a great scenario so good that I've seen the characters from it included across three books: This, Tales from the Crescent City and Secrets of New Orleans. Structure wise it's a near perfect adventure with memorable scenes.

One In Darkness:A neat scenario that's closer to criminals, but has a few flaws such as an avatar of an outer god having the exact same sanity cost to see as a full sized version, (We're talking 1d10/1d100 sanity loss here for an AVATAR), and that depiction we see in the artwork is... it looks like a warthog that can stand up. Outside of that it's got a lot of neat characters but I just don't see myself running it.

The Pale God: A GREAT and terrifying opening and a great twist that you can drop onto your players at any point in the campaign. Despite all of the good things I've said this is not a perfect scenario. One thing to note is there isn't a huge amount library rolls can dig up, it's a lot more of an exploration type scenario with some potentially really dangerous and horrific ends for unlucky PC's. Also Cabot-Jenkin's notebook, listed over the course of an entire page is incredibly difficult formatting wise to just copy and paste if you tend to run games via roll20 or any digital format. Also, one of the potential conditions players can recieve happens to have a very narrow window to which they can learn the spell in order to cure any afflicted member of the party before they will likely be unsavable.

Bad Moon Rising: Another flawed but incredibly memorable scenario. A definite one to put work into. For example, one portion expects the players to attempt to raid a guarded miltary base. This is Call of Cthulhu guys. Outside of that the module has a relatively low amount of combat. That being said, once you get into the meat of this adventure, there are portions your players are unlikely to ever forget. DIVING SUITS!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Great Old Ones
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Invasive Procedures
Publisher: Pelgrane Press
by Chris D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2020 18:39:30

I have said much already in my comment on the store page for this but yes, this is quite possibly the most "Squicky" and outright terrifying horror module I have ever run. Owning Book of Unremitting Horror is recommended if you seek to run this, but I would STRONGLY recommend making it a one or two shot and not trailing it into a campaign given what you are about to do to these characters.

Without going into too many spoilers, there is a lot of grotesque body horror in this module, and the entire thing is packed with detail top to bottom in all of the squicky, uncomfortable and horrifying things. If doctors scare you or your players, even if they don't, this will make them scared.

It does seem extremely brutal and while I am not incredibly familiar with The Essoterrorists or Trail of Cthulhu, it is a rather brutal scenario

My STRONGEST recommendation to anyone on this module, is to use it as an idea mine for other games, especially for anyone who likes Hellraiser, Silent Hill, or Jacob's Ladder. There are a TON of incredibly interesting and screwed up ideas in here you could tear out and use in just about anything.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Invasive Procedures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

English Eerie: Rural Horror Storytelling Game for One Player
Publisher: Trollish Delver Games
by Chris D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2020 13:50:21

A small and occasionally tense single player RPG. Great as a writing prompt and I HIGHLY recommend the candle as it really puts you in the mood. Put yourself in a secluded part of your house at night as you work on it night by night.

My ONLY Criticism is I really wish there were more than three scenarios/ideas included since it is very easy to expend those, and if you are more of a player than a GM, it's a little sucky to only have three potential scenarios, and only one that's in the traditional "Ghost house gothic" mode, albeit it IS a very good one.

Requirements for the game: A deck of cards, a notebook and a candle. Meant to be played over one night or revisited over several nights.

EDIT: Oops, I haven't played this in a while so I mistook and said three instead of five.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
English Eerie: Rural Horror Storytelling Game for One Player
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the great review Chris. I agree, I prefer playing over multiple nights by candlelight. Just a quick one - there are five scenarios rather than three. However I am working on more - it's just taking me a while :)
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates