DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
100 Tiefling Traits
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2020 11:15:42

This is a neat little d100 table. not much more to say. Tieflings should all be unique!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Tiefling Traits
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monsters of the Old World
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2020 11:00:25

The folkloric monsters in this book really add a whole new kind of atmosphere to D&D, and I super appreciate how specific and flavorful they are! So much of D&D can just become the same generic fantasyland, but this breathes new life into it. 5/5 would recommend to anyone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of the Old World
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

New York by Night
Publisher: White Wolf
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2020 10:58:14

this book is well-written and comprehensive. Some of this was obviously a product of the 90s, like the neighborhood descriptions, but it's overall great. The history sections are amazing and a great read even if I don't end up using them. I absolutely love how this book also gets across the "image" of New York City vs the reality, both of which can be a million things to any of the millions living (or un-living) here. My one minor gripe was the maps. As a New Yorker, I find they only vaguely approximate the city. However, for people not from here it gets the gist across well enough to be used in an RPG, and it's kind of like that with all the "By Night" books. It gives just enough story hooks for any storyteller to make their own unique tale, without dictating plots to you. Also the Charioteer is amazing and should be included in every New York chronicle. The book really fleshes out the city in a way that pushes the PCs to be invested in the setting as opposed to loner munchkins. You have to have connections with someone to survive the night in the Big Apple. The SPCs are well-thought-out and easily useable or not for any story you want to tell also.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
New York by Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Consent in Gaming
Publisher: Monte Cook Games
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2020 10:49:15

EVERYONE SHOULD READ THIS. this is an essential document for literally anyone playing RPGs ever. fundamentally RPGs are bsed in social contracts, which in turn rely on consent. Thus everyone should understand what that really means and what's involved in it. Even if no one will ever use it, simply having safety tools makes every table better. The concepts here are explained comprehensively and understandably. I love it. As the book explains, and as some reviewers don't get, it doesn't matter how close you are with someone, establishing clear boundaries is key to any relationship, and it doesn't matter how close you are with someone, if you cross a line that's never good. No one has "no limits." You don't have to change any of the content in your game! this is literally just saying that you should get your fellow players consent (that includes GMs too) before including something! We play games to have fun. And thus we should only be doing things we want.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Consent in Gaming
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Random Wizard Interviews
Publisher: Random Wizard
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2020 10:44:43

This has snazzy layout and real insightful interviews with some of the great RPG luminaries! The table of contents looks a little amateur, but that's my one real complaint.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Random Wizard Interviews
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Risus: The Anything RPG
Publisher: Big Dice Games
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2020 10:39:34

Risus is a nice simple little RPG that I think everyone should probably play at least once. I personally don't feel it fits my playstyle because of how freeform it is. It also tends toward comedy, in my experience. I don't know if I could sustain a long-term campaign Risus, but it's definitely great for a fun oneshot. RPGs are stripped down to their core here, so if you dig that, definitely check this out. Screw playing D&D in the office, play this instead!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Risus: The Anything RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Monsters: A Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition Quickstart
Publisher: Renegade Game Studios
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2020 10:35:30

[REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS]

this quickstart module is great for quickly establishing the basic rules of the Vampire world and the personal horror of it all. The characters are strongly written and the plot is easy to follow. There are some possibilities the module simply does not account for though, and there are points where it is assumed that players will automatically be invested in certain things. The pregen character sheets are filled out nicely, and the ST advice is good. I don't think this accurately reflects the high-politicking nature of a lot of V5, but then again the system can be just as easily suited to very personal stories like this. I think there are points where the module kind of just expects players to automatically feel bad for stuff. It also oddly focuses rather heavily on the mystery aspect at first, but gives very few clues or actual ways for the PCs to unravel said mystery. The mystery itself isn't I think meant to be the main focus, but then why include all the details of the victims and the crimes? Unlike other reviewers, I quite enjoyed the flashback section, as the entire point of that is to get rid of player agency. The hunger just happens. You have to do it right as a storyteller, but the idea is literally that you are not in control. Sam is a strong driving presence in the module.

[SPOILERS AHEAD] On the other hand, I feel that the module's suggestion to have the killer admonish the PCs in the Confrontation Climax is particularly weak. She killed those people by choice. what she did is in no way comparable to the PCs. If the goal is to make the PCs question their actions, why have the actual serial killer be the vehicle for that??

additionally, the module gives no real direction for the relationship between Sam and Lector or for what he would do in general if the coterie just straight up kills Martha. This is odd to me if only for the moments in which the module prescribes moments to the second, like the flashbacks. Additionally, I am really confused by the "epilogues." They may or may not reflect the versions of the characters a given group plays, and they seem more like something you'd find in a video game than an RPG. You are literally told what your character thinks by the end.\

[END OF SPOILERS]

Overall though, I would say that this is a great first step for anyone into the World of Darkness.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Monsters: A Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

50 Ways to Introduce a New Character
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2020 09:45:03

This is a fun little product! It lays it out in a visually appealing way, and is easily readable. I Could easily see myself handing this out to a player having trouble with this sort of thing, or reading through it myself. Heck, I might even roll on this as though it were a random table and use it that way!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
50 Ways to Introduce a New Character
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

HandyHow to Fill Out a Character Sheet
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2020 09:43:32

this is a good resource for first-time player! One complaint is it could use consistent color-coding throughout instead of it being somewhat random. Additionally, some images are annoyingly low-res. Otherwise this is pretty solid.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
HandyHow to Fill Out a Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DMs Guild Creator Resource - Adventurers Art
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2020 09:38:31

This is some pretty okay art. some of it is low-resolution, but it's a good chunk of images so I can't really complain. I like the variety, but it's still pretty white. So that's something that could be better. But it's just a collection of D&D stock art so ya gotta take what you can get.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DMs Guild Creator Resource - Adventurers Art
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Improved Pathfinder Character Sheet Redesign
Publisher: Rachel Sandene
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/14/2020 13:31:47

near-perfect, but the CMB calculation is wrong. it uses DEX as the default instead of STR



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Improved Pathfinder Character Sheet Redesign
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Uploading a fix now! I've been meaning to fix this glitch for a while but with school and work it just keeps slipping my mind. Look for an updated download soon :) Thanks for the rating, and I'm glad you enjoy the sheet!
Player's Quick Combat Guide
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/14/2020 13:28:36

Very clear, easy to read, and good for visual learners. Good contrast.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Quick Combat Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates