DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Shrine of Sseth
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2021 01:15:28

This is a nice mini-dungeon. There is no real story or background here, but the dungeon itself is interesting and well designed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shrine of Sseth
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Sanctum of Pain
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2021 01:11:13

This is a bit strange for my tastes, and more than a little gruesome, but it was well done and certainly original despite the "find some objects to open the door" cliche.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sanctum of Pain
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Book of Random Tables 4
Publisher: dicegeeks
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2021 01:02:31

I love the first three of these books, but this one is just not as good. The names are good as always, the encounters are not bad, but the rest tend to be of little general use. I don't see much need to roll up a fictional spice or a random note in a bottle. The magical and cursed items, as well as the bounties, would require significantly more development, making them better as ideas than as random tables. The song titles are just silly. There are a few gems (NPC physical descriptions in particular make a great random table), but overall this book is merely okay.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Random Tables 4
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Book of Random Tables 3
Publisher: dicegeeks
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2021 00:53:57

This book, while good, is not as good as the first two. The items and encounters tables are good, and the "Dungeon Health Side Effects" table is something I did not realize I needed until I had it. On the other hand, the food and drink tables highlight a significant weakness of all of the tables: everything is a 1 in 100 chance. There is no accounting for more and less common results. A banana or a strawberry is just as likely a fruit as a rambutan or something called a junglesop. There are a lot of very obscure things on some of these tables, and the common ones are not any more common. This reduces their value as random tables, though they still offer a lot of ideas. Overall, though, this book is still worth having.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Random Tables 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Book of Random Tables 2
Publisher: dicegeeks
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2021 00:47:54

Not as good as the first one, but there is still plenty here to make it worthwhile. The "Insults" table just didn't resonate with me, and the "NPC Reaction to Failed Pickpocket Attempt" table gives about 1 in 5 pickpocket marks magical powers and makes another 2 in 5 openly violent, with lots of frankly silly responses. On the other hand, the dungeon rooms, market stalls, and various items were quite good, not to mention the ever-useful town names. The reasons for a PC absence, while not necessarily useful, are very funny. I'm fine with two weak tables out of twenty-five.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Random Tables 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Book of Random Tables
Publisher: dicegeeks
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2021 00:39:59

An excellent collection for adding bits of flavor to an adventure. Not every entry on every table is great, but the vast majority are quite good. The book titles are probably my favorite, but nothing is quite as helpful as a long list of names for those minor NPCs that show up rather unexpectedly just because the players have questions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Random Tables
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

City of Bernick
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/28/2021 00:36:03

This is a good short supplement. It would be nice to see more detail, but there is enough here to very quickly insert an already developed city into a campaign. There is plenty of room to expand if the players decide to stick around for a while, and there is enough drama and intrigue to give them a reason to do that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City of Bernick
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

CGR1 The Complete Spacefarers Handbook (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/28/2021 00:28:31

This is a fantastic resource for a Spelljammer campaign, and I believe it is one of the finest supplements ever published for the 2nd edition AD&D game. As far as the quality of the reprint... I wish it felt more like the original. It doesn't. The cover and paper are noticably different. That said, I knew very well I was getting a reprint, and the price was fantastic (less than a third the price of the cheapest used copies). The quality, at least at first examination, seems to be very good. The printing is not quite as crisp as the original, because of the process of reprinting from pictures, but it is better than I expected (and far better than I feared it might be). It is too early to tell how well the binding will hold up after frequent use, but it certainly looks and feels secure. Overall, I expected a usable copy, and feared I would get a poor quality copy. What I actually received is a very good reprint at a very good price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CGR1 The Complete Spacefarers Handbook (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dungeon Maps #2
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2021 16:03:40

Much like Dungeon Maps #1, these are useful maps for building a dungeon crawl adventure. I would prefer a more print-friendly format, though.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Maps #2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dungeon Maps #1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2021 16:02:56

Some interesting layouts; useful as a starting point for designing a typical dungeon crawl. I wish they were not so dark; white backgrounds and lighter-colored drawings would make these much more printer-friendly.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Maps #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Michael, thank you for the review! I hadn't thought about the dark backgrounds to be honest, since these were originally made for virtual tabletops I hadn't taken printing into account. While they're not available in DMs Guild (yet), I do have light-colored themes with light backgrounds as well on my site www.DunGen.app which you can also get for free - You can see an example here: http://dungeonchannel.com/dungeons/DunGen_72830843_stylized_white_tiny_hq.jpg I hope that helps while I work on getting some of those dungeons in here. Cheers!
Hi Michael, thank you for the review! I hadn't thought about the dark backgrounds to be honest, since these were originally made for virtual tabletops I hadn't taken printing into account. While they're not available in DMs Guild (yet), I do have light-colored themes with light backgrounds as well on my site https://DunGen.app which you can also get for free - You can see an example here: http://dungeonchannel.com/dungeons/DunGen_72830843_stylized_- white_tiny_hq.jpg I hope that helps while I work on getting some of those dungeons in here. Cheers!
DMs Guild Creator Resource - Map Pack
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2021 15:58:30

Some great maps here. Each one would require a lot of work to use, but sometimes a great adventure can be developed from a good map.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DMs Guild Creator Resource - Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Philo's Curiosities and Collectables
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2021 15:51:03

A nice little shop, quite a bit of detail, easily adaptable to any campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Philo's Curiosities and Collectables
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

25 Magic Items
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2021 11:07:23

Some of these items are interesting, a few are a bit silly. Most of these are relatively low-power items with interesting minor abilities. As a free item, it is definitely worth a look, but I don't see myself using many of these.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
25 Magic Items
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

20 Magical Trinkets
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2021 11:02:34

Some great ideas here, many of which offer potential lead-ins to other adventures. These are not so great as random items to drop, as players will almost certainly want to investigate further.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
20 Magical Trinkets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

10 random magic items to use in your game
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2021 10:59:30

Interesting items, with a bit of background for them. Well worth the price of $0, of course.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
10 random magic items to use in your game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 17 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates