DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
Post-Apocalypse Sale













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Six Seasons in Sartar
Publisher: Chaosium
by Sean C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/30/2021 12:27:42

Since I posted this I have written a more detailed review on my blog, please check it out.

What a fabulous, detailed, well thought-out, start to a campaign! I bought the hardcover book, and it's lovely and beautifully produced. I love the idea of having a campaign that starts with cultural events like rituals of adulthood amd so on...I love how this book gets characters stuck into their tribe before the world-shaking events start. I'm very happy that the next book in the series is already on the verge of coming out, too!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Six Seasons in Sartar
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fate Accelerated Edition • A Fate Core Build
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by sean c. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/28/2021 00:00:08

My complete review is here, but this is the beginning, which captures the gist of it:

Fate Core can handle virtually any “fiction-first” story you want to tell. By that I mean you say what you’re doing based on your concept of your character and then figure out how to model it, instead of consulting your character sheet to see what mechanical options you have. Fate Core is brilliant, but for me it’s too big a book, with too many options (“dials”) for its proposed play style. I’ve never run it. (I have played it a few times.) What I have run and played the hell out of is Fate Accelerated (FAE), which is near-perfect for seamless, cinematic storytelling.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Accelerated Edition • A Fate Core Build
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mothership: The Haunting of Ypsilon 14
Publisher: Tuesday Knight Games
by sean c. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/21/2021 02:30:20

For a longer, more coherent version of the little review below, pls visit my review blog!

This is an excellent Mothership introduction to Mothership. The design, by Sean McCoy is A+ level, with the entire inner 3 folds of the pamphlet being the flow chart of the layout of the colony and all the descriptions that go with it. I absolutely LOVE the convenience of this. The game itself is super scary with just the right level of evocative, creepy detail. The challenge on this remote asteroid mining colony is tough, and the opponent extremely nasty in ways that should easily be as terrifying as Alien's xenomorphs or the predator with a large amount of body horror thrown in. It's tough, but beatable, though missteps or bad luck could easily lead to a TPK.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: The Haunting of Ypsilon 14
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fever Swamp
Publisher: Melsonian Arts Council
by Sean C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/18/2021 09:24:16

For a longer, more coherent version of the little review below, pls visit my review blog!

Love this creepy crawl so much that I also bought the hard-back! This thing is jam packed with swampy goodness creepy denizens, dangerous locales, and unique creatures. It's small but potent, with every bit of page space used for the quite condensed sandbox (swampbox?). Even the front and back inside cover are, respectively, a hex map with key and a quite nasty random swamp diseases table. It's ostensibly a low-level area, but low level characters will want to be very cautious and may spend a decent amount of time hiding or running away. I could see it being a quite challenging mid level adventure with only a little extra GM prep time, and the swamp itself and the many tables in it could be endlessly reused. I'm going to use this for one little excursion Lankhmar based party is going to make into the Great Salt Marsh!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fever Swamp
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Whitehack Third Edition
Publisher: WhitehackRPG
by Sean C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/17/2021 21:12:06

(Note that I've posted a more detailed version of this review on my blog.)

As someone who desperately wants to play old OSR modules and campaigns but doesn't really want to go quite all the way back to pure (or even slightly greased-up) old-school mechanics, this is an excellent, more modern feeling system. No judgement on the term modern, btw, I like a lot of old stuff. For me, the biggest issue is that it's very hard to sell my more FATE-Accelerated crew on the old stuff, but this game gives such an intriguing take on it that I think I will be able to.

I haven't played it much other than running a few little combats and encounters, but it really seems like fun, especially the bidding system for challenges and chases. I'm almost certainly going to steal that for other games I'm planning to run, regardless of system. My only concern is how well this system would scale to really high -level adventures. Not saying that it wouldn't, but that that would be my concern with running it long-term or with using it to run existing high level modules.

Very nice, very tight and clear writing. About the only things I noticed were the odd wrong words/spelling errors, such as quite for quiet a couple times and one spot where I think the author meant to say "circumscribed" but instead wrote "circumcised!"

Overall this is a really nice book, and one that made me think: I want to try this RIGHT NOW, which is my mark for a 5 star game. Definitely worth the purchase. I also ordered the POD from the author's site (via Lulu).

Will report back when I've had a chance to play it, but for now it's a 5-star based on my read and experiments.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Whitehack Third Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Secrets of HeroQuesting
Publisher: Chaosium
by Sean C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/25/2021 22:21:38

For me, heroquesting is the holy grail of runequest roleplaying. I've been waiting for this since the 80s! I'm Chaosium will eventually get around to "Gregging" this in a couple years, but, in the meanwhile this is an excellent and extremely helpful supplement for heroquesting, and one that I'm sure I'll continue to draw on even after Chaosium releases its own rules and guidelines.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Secrets of HeroQuesting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
Publisher: Tuesday Knight Games
by Sean C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/25/2021 22:13:01

A crazy fun, amazingly compact game for running SF horror if you dont need a ton of fluff or want to pay for several pounds of books. A real old-school game with a super compact, modern zine design feel. if i wanted to play an Alien/Aliens game. This is the system I'd probably use, followed by (or perhaps melded with) Fate Accelerated. I liked this book so much that I bought a paper copy. One huge plus for Mothership is all the awesome stuff that has come out for it. A Pound of Flesh in particular stands out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stafford Library - Heortling Mythology
Publisher: Chaosium
by Sean C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2021 00:06:46

Whether you're looking for specific myths for Runequest storytelling or heroquesting or you just want to steep yourself in the deep Gloranthan background, this is a killer buy. About 200 pages of Heortling goodness-everyrthing from the Dawn Ages through the hero wars, very nicely edited and laid out, though with only a few piece of art besided the header that is on most pages. I bought the PDF and loved it enough that I finally tracked down the POD option that is available at Lulu. Would have preferred to buy here, but glad it was available at all, to be honest.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stafford Library - Heortling Mythology
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Rough Guide to Glamour
Publisher: Chaosium
by Sean C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2021 23:54:41

There's never enough Lunar stuff out there, and this fills a big hole very nicely. It's good writing, good art, and good layout. The type is a little larger than some books, but my aging eyes are very appreciative, and there's still plenty of content here, too. I love how rich and varied the content is here...it really is like a rough guide, with everything from people and places (there's a whole gazeteer) to cults and myths. I bought this in print and PDF, and both are of very fine quality.

This book is originally the player's guidebook for the wildly fabulous life of Moonson RQ LARP. My 2 fervent wishes are 1) that book 2 of Moonson would come out soon and that 2) both of those supplements would make it to print. Even without the Moonson stuff, though, the Rough Guide to Glamour is an excellent standalone supplement for any edition of RQ. I plan to use it for RQG. The system stuff in it (much of it is system free) is RQG.

A great product, one that's both a fun read and a useful supplement.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Rough Guide to Glamour
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates