DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Dragonstar: Starfarer's Handbook
Publisher: EDGE Studio
by Roger N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/30/2016 08:04:44

With Starfinder just announced, we can hope this setting gets a well deserved update.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonstar: Starfarer's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Admiral o' the High Seas: The Naval Combat Supplement for Pathfinder & D&D 4th Edition
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Roger N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/18/2013 23:07:10

My problem with this product? It is NOT Pathfinder compatible. I don't care what the label says, everything is in 4e stats. All of the rules draw on 4e tropes. I imagine it works perfectly fine as a 4e supplement. It is entirely useless to me as written. Just because they both use a d20, doesn't mean they are interchangeable.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Admiral o' the High Seas: The Naval Combat Supplement for Pathfinder & D&D 4th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Roger! Thanks for your review! Just a minor point of clarification - this product contains no 4E (or any other system specific) stats. The mechanical elements of the book (shipbuilding, ship combat) are entirely new mechanics, and the ship stat blocks include the following stats: Level Size Hull Integrity Defense Maneuverability Speed Command Full Crew Minimum Crew Total Complement Total Cost Thanks again for taking the time to look at our book!
The Shadow Vale Player's Guide
Publisher: Torn World
by Dale N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/19/2012 22:32:17

I may be biased, as this product is by a friend of mine on Facebook.

First off, I am highly impressed with this book. The setting is compelling. The 'history' of the area is tangible. This is a "standard" fantasy setting, but is by no means vanilla. Alyssa has woven a great story into her setting. The elves, in particular, of this setting are something you really want to have in any fantasy world. None of this ridiculous solidarity that all elves trust each other. they have their own clans & 'nations' in this book. Some elves do not get along all that well with other elves. The rest of the book is of the same caliber.

Alyssa has worked very hard to make a really catching setting to run a campaign in. I would recommend picking this book up, even if all you do in mine it for ideas.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Shadow Vale Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Granny Drake - a Pathfinder Creature
Publisher: Troll in the Corner
by Dale N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2011 09:09:38

I just read this really quick. Ok, it is short, so it wasn't hard to read really quick. That being said this is an interesting creature that can add flavor to just about any rural village. My only complaint is that I don't believe the drake is chaotic evil. Nothing in the description reveals it as evil. I would think some form of neutral alignment.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Granny Drake - a Pathfinder Creature
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ashton Sperry's Paper Minis: Litoirans (PFRPG)
Publisher: Rite Publishing
by Dale N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/02/2010 20:48:59

This is a fine product for those that use miniatures. The style is a little cartoonish, but that is fine with me. Others may have different tastes. My favorite thing is the Pathfinder stats for the Litorians as a PC race. They are well done & about what i would have done myself in a conversion.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ashton Sperry's Paper Minis: Litoirans (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Forbidden Kingdoms - Master Codex Babbage Edition
Publisher: Super Genius Games
by Dale N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2010 23:30:45

First off, I bought this product a LONG time ago. I really loved the alternate history of the setting more than anything else. I always felt it was a very balanced system. Now this is a product i would like seen updated into a Pathfinder RPG version.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Forbidden Kingdoms - Master Codex Babbage Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gamers Helping Haiti $20 Donation with Coupon
Publisher: OneBookShelf, Inc.
by Dale N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2010 21:49:41

I believe this is a GREAT way to help. The only thing, and not a real complaint, is I wish they would tell you taht the code automatically puts ALL of the files into you history, lol. I have double & triple orders on some of the same products. Oh well, teach me to be so freely giving. :P



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gamers Helping Haiti $20 Donation with Coupon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tome of Secrets
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Dale N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2009 23:05:14

I felt this is a decent book. I had been looking forward to it almost as much as the PF core rules. I was disappointed in the Artificer for a couple of reasons. One is purely personal. Flavor wise, the took the Eberron artificer & changed it to a mad scientist. I can live with that, but it doesn't feel right to me. The next is a game mechanic issue. The artificer in this book disregards one of the major conventions of the new ruleset. I followed the playtesting on the Paizo boards nearly the entire process. One MAJOR convention of the new rules is to avoid combat oriented classes from having low hit points. This is done by having class Base Attack Bonuses tied to the hit die. The artificer here is given a d6 & full BAB. The full BAB classes have d10s or d12s. They also gave the spellblade a d8, instead of the d10 for a full BAB. I would rather that companies that intend to claim to be compatible with the rules to PLEASE follow the rules. There is a conversion document on the Paizo site for bringing 3.5e classes up to PFRPG and it calls for bringing the HD/BAB issue in line. This tells me that a company should NOT use this as a balancing mechanic when that is so against the rules design of the game.

Aside from that issue, I find the product worth the price, though I feel it is more like a 3.5e product that I will have to convert to Pathfinder.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Tome of Secrets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
The PDF has been updated to correct various errata -- for example, the Artificer's BAB and Swashbuckler's BAB have been reduced, and now match that of a Bard/Cleric. If you're a previous purchaser of this product, you can download the revised PDF from your account. Gareth-Michael Skarka Adamant Entertainment
Legends of Sorcery
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Dale N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/03/2006 00:00:00

First off, this is a well thought out addition to any campaign where you are tired of the standard magic system, but don't want to have to totally rewrite every NPC you come across in a standard D&D campaign supplement. The system is very similiar to one I toyed with over the years, but I never could think of a way to overcome characters like Rangers from racking up on whatever skill I used to cast spells and abusing the system. The Base Magic Bonus is a good limiting factor on this.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: That I can stick it into my Eberron campaign & not have to rewrite a bunch of stuff.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: My one complaint, and it was another thing I never figured out for my homebrew rules like this, is what do you do for creatures with spell-like abailities? I just got this & I havent seen any rules for that.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legends of Sorcery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

[d20 Modern] Forbidden Kingdoms: Modern
Publisher: Super Genius Games
by Dale N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2006 00:00:00

This is a nice trans;ation of the setting to d20 Modern.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Glad to see it in d20 Modern, even though most of my players would be happier with the old product. It isnt necessary to own the original, if you want to get into FK. They provide the history from the original.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: They could have done an equipment list. They also could have given the Mental Mystic as an advanced class.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[d20 Modern] Forbidden Kingdoms: Modern
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

THRILLING TALES: Gamemaster's Guide to Pulp Adventure
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Dale N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/09/2006 00:00:00

First off, I really like what the book has to say. A great rundown of the different elements that go into the Pulp setting. Will help a GM interested in running any kind of Pulp campaign, no matter the gaming system. There isn't much of anything in here that is "game system" specific. Most of it deals with tips, not rules.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The adventure generator is a useful tool for a GM. Great product. I will be getting the starter kit in the future to give muyself a nice jump into the campaign setting.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: This isn't so much a dislike. I have also purchased the Forbidden Kingdoms bundle recently and was amused to see that a bunch of the artwork is the same as appearing in the Forbidden Kingdoms books.

Alot of others have complained that the Thrilling Tales products dont come with a printer friendly fromat. I share this to some extent, but appreciate the page layout, if I had it printed out professionally. I want to complain the other direction. The products don't have a screen friendly version, like some PDFs that I own. If at some time this product gets updated with a printer friendly copy, I hope the rearrange the normal one for better on screen reading. Dont like having to scroll up & down to read it all.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
THRILLING TALES: Gamemaster's Guide to Pulp Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eric Flint's 1632 Resource Guide and Role Playing Game (Flaws and All edition)
Publisher: Battlefield Press
by Dale N.
Date Added: 01/05/2006 21:02:05

I hate to write a review about a product that I got for free during a period that it was offered here, but I feel compeled. First off, I would have been HIGHLY dissappointed in this product if I had paid for it. Out of 209 pages, I would estimate that 75-80% of this is rules oriented. Rules, which if I remember right, can be downloaded for free to begin with. I could be wrong about that. I was lead to belive that this product was as much a resource as a RPG. That is NOT the case. The forward claims that this is a game that would be light on combat, but heavy on roleplay. I dont see that from the content. VERY little as far as setting. There are some short write-ups on history, but I would find it more useful if there were more details about the "here & now" of Grantville. As it is, you would be better served to glean info from the books & the 1632 weebsites, then adapt it to whatever game system you feel comfortable with, because this product will not fulfill any of those needs. The introductory adventure in the back is, I hate to use the term, ludicris. It is a town & a premise. It is NOT an adventure. It has potential, but is LACKING in execution. Too bad, as a huge fan of the 1632 books, I had such high hopes for this product. To tell the truth, I was going to convert it to d20 Moder, or d20, anyway.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Eric Flint's 1632 Resource Guide and Role Playing Game (Flaws and All edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blood and Space 2: Starship Construction Manual
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Dale N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/01/2005 00:00:00

I personally felt ripped off by this product. It is nice to have all the parameters to starships boiled down into a cheat sheet of sorts, but it isnt what I expected. I was hoping that they may have done something different. Instead they took a long time to put out a product that should have been give away to those of us that purchaed the original.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Not much. It is convienient to have a collection of parameters to design ships according to d20 Future.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I bought the original Blood & Space. This should have been a free upgrade, since there wasnt any original thought put into this product.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Disappointing<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Ripped Off<br>



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Space 2: Starship Construction Manual
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ultimate Classes - Heroes of Code
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Dale N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/30/2005 00:00:00

You can say I have been following this product from its earliest beginnings. I am a member of the WotC messageboards where these Ultimate Classes were conceived. While I didnt always agree on the development of the classes, I did think they were VERY good. I purchased this product in order to support the creativity of the author. I could have taken them directly from the boards (case in point, I do have a copy of the Ultimate Knight already) but I feel these classes are good enough to buy. <br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The modularuty of the classes, so that no 2 characters of the same class have to be nearly identical. It allows for the party to have 2 of the same class & neither will likely step on eachother's perceived roles.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Not enough options. No, there really are alot of options, so I guess there isnt anything that I can complain about too much.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Classes - Heroes of Code
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Elements of Magic (Revised)
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Dale N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2005 00:00:00

A very good product with a good alternate magic system. <br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Other than little annoying things that I'll get to below, the product is very useful on many levels. It can be used as a way to create balanced spells for standard spellcasters. IO pesonally like the feel & balnce of the spellcasting system as presented.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The only complaint I have is the tendency in many EN Publishing products not to be completely clear in discription. There seems to be times when the author knows exactly what he is trying to say, and seems to think that they have been completely clear in the discription, but fail to get the point across directly. An example in this product would be signature spells. The text states the number of signature spells a mage may have. The implication seems to mean the number that he may EVER have. The next article then goeson to descripe how to change signature spells. The process sounds like spell preperation from the core rules. It seems that a the real statement should be the number of siganture spells the mage can have prepared per day.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Elements of Magic (Revised)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates